April pg2

Archive – April 20090 commentsHappy 100,000 th view.
Posted Apr-13-09 09:03:34 PDT

Sing hey ya

Hey ya ya yo

You should see me race

You should see me go

I got the fastest boat

On the water, you know

Sing hey ya, hey ya, oh

On the river

Or over the sea

Where I race

Don’t matter to me

I’ll be the fastest boat

That you’ll ever see

Sing hey ya, hey ya , yo

Sing hey ya

Hey ya ya yo

I got the fastest boat

On this water you know

You should see me race

I go, go, go

Sing hey ya, hey ya, yo

I was swimmin before I was born ya see

When the doctor first he looked at me

He said this one was born to sail the seas

Singing hey ya, hey ya, yo

Sing hey ya

Hey ya, ya, yo

You should see me race

You should see me go

Got angel’s wings

For sails. I goooooo

Singin’ hey ya, hey ya, yo!

Singing hey ya, hey ya, go!

song lyrics written 4-11-09

by Author Ann

mom, life partner, writer of shortstories and poetry, sculptor, singer/songwriter, sailor,

politico,

animal lover,

and generally a nice person

(LOL, Sorry but it really is good to know who you are in life and this sounds good.)

This is a song for sailboat racing.

(It has a regae beat.)

Sailing is?

Something I intend to do with the happiness of a child flying

Home (maybe) is on the Gulf of Mexico.

Or maybe it’s where ever you heart and your feet are?

We’ll see.

Happy Day.

“Sing hey ya !”

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHappy weekend, Cya’
Posted Apr-13-09 08:21:20 PDT Updated Apr-18-09 10:36:53 PDTThis is going to be one busy weekend. More here soon.

Back to 12 dogs.

Just so you’ll know this weekend is all about the history, art, artists, and writers of Alabama. When some folks think of the state of Alabama there thoughts might go to racism and Governor George Wallace. While that is part of Alabama it’s only a part of the history of the state. All over there are tallented writers, singers, artists, actors, and craftsmen who bring to life tales of joy and sorrow that is life. I thought that it would be fitting that the song on this post would be from an Alabamian whose name you might know as Dinah Washington. She was born in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

What a Difference the Day Makes* Dinah Washington and the Louis Jordan Orchestra

You’ll never guess who does the intro for this show.

Next?

When it come to the arts in Alabama? There’s just no telling…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHey ya !
Posted Apr-13-09 08:20:29 PDT Updated Apr-13-09 08:53:53 PDT

ironchassis ( 108)
Member since: Nov-11-04 12:07:45 PST
Location: United States
100,004 views

I wanted this to be the post that sees the 100,000th view here @ 12 dogs.

When that happens, I will begin to write a story. A kind of fairytale or sorts. Part reality. Part fiction. In a way it is about the entire blog. A fairy tale within a reality tale. Read carefully and have great fun.

It’s for my son, my family, my animal, and one particular writing buddy…

The story begins

” Once upon a time… ”

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsCya Monday
Posted Apr-13-09 08:19:21 PDT Updated Apr-17-09 12:38:23 PDTHey, Not Monday, 20th April, 2009 yet. Hope you’re having a great weekend. I’ll post here Monday. I’m thinking that this will be one of the doorways to the rest of the blog. Until then?

Happy weekend.

Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHey ya yah
Posted Apr-13-09 08:18:47 PDT Updated Apr-18-09 09:43:43 PDT

Hey Ya Yah

(The racing song)

Hey ya.

Hey yah, yah, yo

You should see me race

You should watch me go

I got the fastest boat that you’ll ever know

Singing hey yah, hey yah, yo

When I was born

The Doc looked at me

He said this one was born to sail the seas

She’s got a mind that strong

And a heart that’s free

Sing hey yah, hey yah, yo.

Sing hey ya

Hey yah, yah, yo

You should see me race

You should watch me go

I got the fastest boat and crew you know

We sing hey yah, hey yah, yo.

Sing hey yah

On the river

Or over the sea

Any kind of water don’t matter to me

I got angel wings. I’m sailing free.

Sing hey yah, hey yah, yo

Sing hey yah

Hey yah, yah, yo

You should see us race

You should watch us go

We got the fastest boats.

That you’ll every know

Sing hey yah, hey yah yo

Sing hey yah, go, go, go…

Note for those who were wondering.

Last I heard the waters are free.

And this is NOT a pirate song.

It is a racing song though…

Lyrics and melody by AuthorAnn c 2009 all rights reserved.

That’s the new lyrics and I’ve got to say that they sing sweet. I’ve been dancing all day long to them and they just don’t get tiresome.

“Sing hey yah, hey yah, go….”

Next ?

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsAnd in the morning when I wake up… Friday politics
Posted Apr-13-09 08:17:38 PDT Updated Apr-17-09 14:57:43 PDTSo I woke up to the sobering news…

This morning I woke up to some sobering news. It would seem that the President has no interest in prosecuting the folks who engaged in such torture as “waterboarding” with the rational of “s#it happens”. This gave me a bit of a pause. No matter how much you might like to hang someone from their toes or goose them with a cattleprod you should never think that it is in your ability to do so. If you are told by the White House that there will be no procution if you slip up and do this? If the only consequence you’ll get is the equivalent of a verbal “wrist slap”? Well I have a feeling that there’s alot more of this type of activity in the CIA’s future. Worse now because we’ve sent all the “problems” to other countries where equal protection under the law and civil rights are important. I’m wondering how the progressive liberals and Amnesty International are going to spin this? For that matter, I’m wondering how the Democrats are going to spin this. Especially those folks who have been against the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. The ones who said that President Bush was a horrible president when it came to human rights and said that Guantanomo (sp?) should be shut down because it is a violation of the prisoner’s civil rights.

I’m making pop corn and settling into my comfey chair to watch and read the political blogs as they talk about the President’s decision. But I’m bringing a book to read as well. Something tells me that all the folks who were screaming “civil rights violations” and “evil President Bush” are going to be AWOL on this one.

The next thing I awoke to was the fact that not only are the folks from Afghanistan a large grower of opium (think illegal heroin)? They are also its consumer. If I were feeling particularly funny this AM I’d do a parody of the Hair Club for Men. You know the commercial where the guy says, “I don’t just use the product. I own the company!” But to do this I’d have to show 7 year old opium addicts. I’m sorry but to make fun of it seems wrong. According to this helpful bit of news, opium is supposed to be readily available to all. Great cure for your little kid’s head ache. Do you think that maybe they could use some Tylenol for kids? Anyway that would sure mean an interesting couple of years for us too. Apparently, while he is planning to pull troups out of Iraq, the President is sending them to Afghanistan. That means that now our troups will not just be fighting insurgents but they will also be fighting Afghan drug lords and the Russian mafia. And from what I read once in the National Geographic many years ago? The automatic weapons that we worry about the Central American drug lords having here in the US is nothing compared to the arsonal of an Afghan drug lord. One photo in the National Geographic showed missle launchers.

Can you just imagine Cops Afghanistan?

Now I don’t want 12 dogs to turn political. I really don’t. My first love as a writer is poetry and short stories. But I am an American so this is important to me. If we are going to put our men and women of the military in this theater? They’re going to be fighting a war that looks more like a DEA/CIA joint venture in the jungles of Central or South America than a war in Iraq. It will take highly trained individuals who aren’t just good with urban warfare but who are used to dealing with the drug trade. The “black gold” here isn’t crude oil. The level of mental and emotional discipline is going to be even more important than it was in past wars. If we learned anything from Vietnam or military activities in Asia, we know that the stressor that our soldiers are placed under are tremendous. If drugs like opium are readily available, the potential for folks to become addicts themselves can be high. Fighting is a stressor that a civilian can only imagine. Drugs have been used to aleviate that stress. For instance, pot use in Vietnam.

We know folks who are veterans of the Vietnam War. It was difficult. Now the last I heard, there was only 1% direct involvement of our citizens in the military. The concern for many Americans is the health of the economy not the health of a soldier fighting. So it could be easy not to pay attention to their situations as they fight and when they come back as veterans. We need to remember them. And remember their families. With this new theater brings terrible stress. They need our support at home and in the Legislature. The training they’ll require will be imporant for them to survive not just the war but the coming home.

Hugs a vet and their loved ones. Pay attention to the legislation that may or may not be seing the light of day in the US House and Senate. Let the folks know that while it’s only 1% of the country fighting? It’s 100% support of them.

Let’s not forget.

Note for the folks who have family members in active service. This isn’t in any way a slam against the troups. I have always felt that it’s not the “military” on the nightly news but it’s our friends, neighbors, and family who are fighting. They aren’t “soldiers” like in the movies. They are people. They are also folks who’ve taken up as their life’s work to defend our country. At the risk of being accused of “flag waving”, I think that’s an important fact to remember. Because they can’t opt out of a war, it’s important for us all to be aware of how our they are treated when they fight and when they come home. The military depend on the voting public to be aware of how our tax dollars are being spent to train and protect the men and women who fight. Even if our family members don’t fight there are others who do. We shouldn’t forget. Two years ago I met a fella who is still carrying the emotional scars of his treatment upon returning home from Vietnam. In the war, he was one of the men who flew rescue missions into areas in order to bring out the wounded. It was difficult and very dangerous work. In tears, this grown man who’d been so brave in war, told me of how folks spit on him when he returned home. In America they spit on him. It’s not something that you forget. He told me that as a soldier, he went where his country and President sent him. No matter how dangerous. He was glad to do it because he saved lives. When I met him years later, he was with folks who were finally saying thank you to him for saving these lives under conditions that we can’t begin to imagine. He was finally coming home.

Next?

For the political?

Or you could go here for a funnier (hopefully) editorial slant.

Hugs, (<this is another link too. It should eventually end up at the same place. I hope!)

Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentssignificant other
Posted Apr-13-09 08:16:29 PDT Updated Apr-18-09 09:56:57 PDT

Schoolboy Heart

By: Jimmy Buffett & Matt Betton
1996
I got a school boy heart, a novelist eye
Stout sailor's legs and a license to fly
I came with nomad feet and some wandering toes
That walk up my longboard and hang off the nose

I suppose
The need to focus never arose
So something like a swiss army knife
That's my life
Frankenstein had nothing on this body of mine
The villagers still flockin' to see, to see me
Breaking free, breaking free

Cause I got a school boy heart, a novelist eye
Stout sailor's legs and a license to fly
I got a bartender's ear and beachcomber's style
Piratical nerve and a Vaudevillian style

I suspect I died in some cosmic shipwreck
With all hands spread all over the deck
What the heck
Then some kind of obscene and unscrupulous mind
Began to pick up what he could find
Added ice, shook me twice, rolled the dice

Now I got a school boy heart, a novelist eye
A sailor's legs and a license to fly
I got a native tongue from way down south
It sits in the cheek of my gulf coastal mouth

I got a school boy heart, a novelist eye
Stout sailor's legs and a license to fly
I came with nomad feet and some wandering toes
That glide up my longboard and hang off the nose

Next?

Hey ya yah

Comment|Report this post
4 commentshey I'm working out an interactive blog story
Posted Apr-13-09 08:15:48 PDTNeeded the space but didn't want to knock anyone off the main page with multiple posts. You'll see some posts appear and then disappear. You aren't seeing things. I just can quickly post and then pull the post into the rough draft section. That way I can work out the links and you folks will still be on the Main page. Not to worry. This next blog story is special one to me because it celebrates 100,000 view and alot of things (good I hope) that have been happening on this side of the computer screen. Well I've got to get back to work here. I just didn't want you to think that there was a ghost in the blogs. Thanks. Ann

Comment|Report this post
1 commentNot Ready to Make Nice.
Posted Apr-13-09 08:11:14 PDT Updated Apr-18-09 11:54:50 PDT

Not Ready to Make Nice

Dixie Chicks

For those who might not be able to play the video?
The lyrics.

Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I’m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I’m still waiting

I’m through with doubt
There’s nothing left for me to figure out
I’ve paid a price
And I’ll keep paying

I’m not ready to make nice
I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I know you said
Can’t you just get over it
It turned my whole world around
And I kind of like it

I made my bed and I sleep like a baby
With no regrets and I don’t mind sayin’
It’s a sad sad story when a mother will teach her
Daughter that she ought to hate a perfect stranger
And how in the world can the words that I said
Send somebody so over the edge
That they’d write me a letter
Sayin’ that I better shut up and sing
Or my life will be over

I’m not ready to make nice
I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I’m not ready to make nice
I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I’m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I’m still waiting

Well personally, I think there's some folks who should take the mote out of their own eye before they start expecting me to be making nice. To anyone other than my son and maybe WB.

When I started this blog, I didn't think I had a friend in the world and I didn't feel like I had a clue who I was or what I would do. Only friend I thought I had was the dear Lord in Heaven, Pup, and WB and a bunch of wiggly pups. I certainly never entertained the thought that I would be a writer.

Now?

Well the good Lord in Heaven is still my friend as are WB and Pup. Now I have a clue what I want to do next. It's legal, moral, and the healthiest thing I've ever done.

But make nice and forgive those who've made my life such a misery?

LOL…

"…Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I’m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I’m still waiting…"

Next?

Well like I said, take the mote out of your own eye first.

Then I'll be happy to consider.

But about the lyrics in the song above?

"…I’ve paid a price
And I’ll keep paying…"

Well now that's the thing.

I don't "owe" anyone anything except for my son, WB and the pups the birds…

Writing Buddy. You're still welcome here.

A friend is someone who likes you.

And you like them back.

It really is that simple.

And family?

Well this song says it better than I can

There's alway room at my table for a friend.
Comment|Report this post
3 commentsHey ya
Posted Apr-12-09 07:11:20 PDT Updated Apr-13-09 08:09:08 PDT

Sing hey ya

Hey ya ya yo

You should see me race

You should see me go

I got the fastest boat

On the water, you know

Sing hey ya, hey ya, oh

On the river

Or over the sea

Where I race

Don't matter to me

I'll be the fastest boat

That you'll ever see

Sing hey ya, hey ya , yo

Sing hey ya

Hey ya ya yo

I got the fastest boat

On this water you know

You should see me race

I go, go, go

Sing hey ya, hey ya, yo

I was swimmin before I was born ya see

When the doctor first he looked at me

He said this one was born to sail the seas

Singing hey ya, hey ya, yo

Sing hey ya

Hey ya, ya, yo

You should see me race

You should see me go

Got angel's wings

For sails. I goooooo

Singin' hey ya, hey ya, yo!

Singing hey ya, hey ya, go!

song lyrics written 4-11-09

by Author Ann

mom, life partner, writer of shortstories and poetry, sculptor, singer/songwriter, sailor,

politico,

animal lover,

and generally a nice person

(LOL, Sorry but it really is good to know who you are in life and this sounds good.)

This is a song for sailboat racing.

(It has a regae beat.)

Sailing is?

Something I intend to do with the happiness of a child flying

Home really is on the Gulf of Mexico.

Or maybe it's where ever you heart and your feet are?

Happy Day.

"Sing hey ya…"

I wanted this to be the post that sees the 100,000th view here @ 12 dogs.

When that happens, I will begin to write a story. A kind of fairytale or sorts. Part reality. Part fiction. In a way it is about the entire blog. A fairy tale within a reality tale. Read carefully and have great fun.

It's for my son, my family, my animal, and one particular writing buddy…

The story begins, "Once upon a time…"

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsWay out on the ocean…
Posted Apr-10-09 08:25:11 PDT

Way out on the ocean

Far beyond the seven seas

There's a tiny little boat

Faith is keeping her afloat

And a tiny little skipper

With his worn and tattered coat

You see the law of the ocean

Says that you will never fail

Use your heart as your rudder

Your faith as your compass

And a blanket for a sail

From Blanket as a Sail

written by Harry Nilsson

Yes, I do have a spell check

(In case you were wondering)

Prayers are with the folks who've had such bad weather. I hope that folks are kind and help.

Comment|Report this post
5 commentsYes, I do have a spell check
Posted Apr-09-09 11:28:48 PDT Updated Apr-09-09 15:41:15 PDT

No, I'm not going to use it.

I'm really busy today.

I have to plant tomatoes and get one of the pups ready to have his "nuts" snipped.

No one is happy and the spell check isn't talking to me.

You know when the word is misspelled and that I'm a lousy typist.

It's part of my charm.

Now on to more important questions.

For today's post?

Read the Helpful health alert

Hope you have a great day

AuthorAnn
Comment|Report this post
3 commentsHelpful health alert
Posted Apr-09-09 02:23:13 PDT Updated Apr-09-09 02:33:07 PDTBaseball season started. 🙂

Thanks to an infomercial that plays in the middle of the night, I now know that the modern human body contains 20 lbs. of gunk, parasites, and impacted old fecal matter. Matter of fact it can result in 20 lbs of your total body weight. Think of it. Just where do all those Twinkies and junk food after you eat them? Why your old cloggd colon pipes could look like the drain pipes of an old derilict house!

How do you know if you have this problem?

Well first? Do you have an old colon? Are you 20 lbs over weight? Is your abdomen bulging out? Do you have thin bowel movement and you aren't pooping twice day?

Are you a cranky jerk?

If you've answered yes to these questions?

Keep your colon clean by taking ******.

Folks who've used this product are no longer gassy, loaded down with poo, unhappy, or fat. Many have lost 20 lbs of unwanted carp.

The perfect gift for Boss's Day.

******Sorry that I can't tell you the name of this product but if the politicians in Washington DC read this they might take it. The last thing we need is a bunch of policians in unison cleansing their colon of 20 pounds of gunk and then feeling 20 years old again.

There already filling the atmosphere with hot air and causing global warming. I don't think the US House and Senate ridding their bodies of 20 lbs of unwanted fecal matter all at the same time would be so good for the environment.

Next up? Well the sun is shining in my little corner of heaven…

Oh and folks. We here at 12 dogs DO NOT ENDORSE this product.

Frankly. If you asked our opinion of where those old DingDongs and Twinkies go?

We'd say down the "crapper" with everything else.

You have to make your own decisions as to what you think.

Alert! Alert! Alert!

There is talk of taking away the state of Alabama's legistatures constitutional right to get drunk and not arrested while the legislature is in session.

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsWell the sun is shining in my little corner of heaven…
Posted Apr-04-09 08:11:43 PDT Updated Apr-08-09 16:18:09 PDTMeanwhile back in the real world?

Israel takes it's first practice shot at Iran.

There is a terrible earthquake in Italy.

Obama is in Iraq telling the troops that they're coming home.

The G20 was hashing out the worlds problems.

And the press is still concerned about the question

"Does that dress make her butt look fat?"

I swear.

Well there was humor even in the middle of The Great Depression….

Smile away, ya'll. Smile away…

As for me?

I'm a stranger in a strange, strange land…

Hang in there.

—————-

For a friend.

Our children keep us young and our memories alive.

Even when we are no longer able to do so ourselves.

Make memories now.

Smile

Comment|Report this post
Page 2 of 2 Previous 1 | 2 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

