Feb 2009 pg3

Archive – February 20090 commentsThrow me sumthin’ Mister
Posted Feb-21-09 09:45:02 PST Updated Feb-21-09 13:17:36 PST”Mardi Gras?

The last time I walked Rue Bourbon was the December before Katrina hit. It’s along story that walk down Bourbon Street. From Canal to Esplanade, that was one very long walk. Each step was like going to and walking away from home. I was quiet fierce. Someone tried to take me for a penny when I’d have given them the whole dollar if they’d asked. That was the day someone told me that Angels and Devils walk those streets. At the end of that walk, I met a Voodoo King. He told me he liked my hat but he was more interested in my very long walk.

That’s litterally where this next poem came from.

This weekend, if NewOrleans is lucky, lots of folks will flood the streets and spend their money. If the city is very lucky those folks will keep spending all the way through the new year.

NewOrleans is so old.

Even the ghosts are old and one way of the other mostly “female”.

“She’s” a good friend. You like “her” and should cause “she’s” worth liking but “her” beginnings are a mystery. The whole time you know “her” you’re wondering at the people who come and go in “her” life. Angels and Devils call “her” friend. Both come asking “her” for favors. “She” can make you see the wisdom in gumbo, strong drink, sex on Saturday, and church on Sunday. Somehow when “she” explains it?

It all it makes perfect sense.

Angels and devils as BBF?

In New Orleans? Yep.

—–I remember singing as a kid…

“Light a candle in morning mass.

Pray for rain on Sunday.

Go get lunch in the Vieux Carre

Get yer voodoo spell on Monday…”

—–

Like I said. A strange and good friend who knows all kinds. They can make the world go around.

Now the poem I wrote for the Voodoo King in a thanks for his “good wishes” and for my son to explain his momma’s very long walk home.

Rue Bourbon

Hannah Murphy August 23, 2008

Met a voodoo king

Said he liked my hat

Down on Rue Orleans

Said “take it easy chicky

Life ain’t too bad

Here ‘mongst the voodoo queens

Was there on Rue Bourbon

I found my wife

A human bird, she sings

Bout the Angels and the Devils

Walkin’ Rue Bourbon at night

With the ghosts of old, New Orleans.”

Excerpt from “Conversations With Hannah”
Author Ann 2/21/09
all rights owned by Ann and original material

Hey Gentle Reader !

The idea of Angels and Devils walking down the same street and tipping their hats hello?

Quite an image.

I actually did meet a Voodoo King but I met him on Rue Bourbon not Rue Orleans. It was at the end of a very long and interesting walk. He gave each of us, (WB, Pup, and me) a good luck talisman. Said that it would keep us safe from our troubles. Met him in December before Katrina.

I wonder if that Voodoo King had his own talisman.

I hope so.

Oh and we met cause he said he liked my hat.

Funny.

Welcome to 12 dogs. Fact and fiction live here.

If you don’t know?

Don’t ASSume. Ask.

Playlist?

Never Going Back to Memphis * Shemekia Copeland

Next.

Alittle music and more story.

Stuck in the middle of nowhere

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsOn Dynasties, Democracies, And Royal Lines of Succession.
Posted Feb-19-09 20:42:52 PST Updated Feb-21-09 13:10:42 PST

We were walking in the woods when suddenly-

“Ah oaks,” he said to me,
“Look up so that you don’t miss them.”
“Like the great kings of the Earth they stand their ground.”
“Like giants of old they tower over all.”
But I was small.
And the oaks so tall.
The ground closer to me than the tops of those trees.
Besides looking up so high made me dizzy.
I looked down instead of up.
“What’s this. ” I asked and handed him the small thing in my hand.
“It’s an acorn. Stronger than any oak.” he said
His voice quiet now but no less grand.
“It’s small but no less mighty.”
“Yes, it’s true that in kingdoms the mighty oak may rule the land.”
“But without acorns? Mighty oaks?
“Fall.”

AuthorAnn 2/19/09

In kingdoms, the mighty oak may tower over all. In democracies, we all are acorns filled with promise and possibility. Hopefully those promises will grow as we do.

In democracies?

We are mighty oaks all.

I wrote this for WB while sitting on the side of the bed trying to get him to wake up enough to talk to me before he fell asleep. I knew that when he woke up the next day he would take off at a gallop. I’d already written most of it while doing other things today. Just sitting there talking to him it finally came together.

It’s a gift of sorts. It’s his poem in dedication and mine to print. I asked if he’d rather have a shirt but he said no, he’d take the poem but maybe I should frame it so that it looked presentable.

Happy Day Off WB.

I hope you like your poem.

AuthorAnn

Next Well you’re at a kind of crossroads.

If your sitting in my virtual hammock and reading over my shoulder as I write?

Here, read this while I go get you a glass of lemonaid.

I’m writing about Hannah and her adventures for a book called “Conversations With Hannah”. This first bit is called:

Throw me sumthin’ Mister

I’ll be right back.

Or if you want to see the rest of 12 dogs?

Dear reporter who interviewed Ted Nugent

Good night Blogland…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsDear reporter who interviewed Ted Nugent
Posted Feb-19-09 15:07:30 PST Updated Feb-19-09 15:33:09 PSTWas over reading Muffbro’s post about a reporter who asked Ted Nugent what he thought was the last thought of the deer right before Mr. Nugent shot with his bow and arrow.

This got us at 12 dogs to thinking.

What would be the last thoughts of a deer right before they got by Mr. Nugent’s arrow?

Oh mercy.

After an exhaustive research which consisted of remembering why hunters hunt deer in in one of the crappiest times of year?

Well I’m just guessing of course but I’m thinking —

That the buck was probably wondering, “Where’s the doe?

Now I’m listening to this song and I’m imagining some 12 point buck lipsynching to Barry White with deer hunters in camo singing back up.

In some forrest glade. (It’s always a “forrest glade”).

With Ted Nugent dressed as cupid flying through the air with nothing much on but his hunting boots and his bow and arrow.

“Ooooh Can’t get enough of your love baaybee… Ouch hey this ain’t Cupids arrow.

What the heck…”

Next ? For those folks in the know?

It’s a sunny day not a cloud in the sky…

Comment|Report this post
1 commentFor those folks in the know
Posted Feb-19-09 11:52:39 PST Updated Feb-19-09 14:52:24 PSTAnd interesting question to ask someone who makes their living investing on Wall Street.

If you had to pick the major reason why the stock market is falling?

What would it be?

Here @ 12 dogs? It’s a sunny day not a cloud in the sky…

Comment|Report this post
1 commentSunny day not a cloud in the sky…
Posted Feb-19-09 11:11:19 PST Updated Feb-19-09 14:45:45 PSTThis blog was inspired by the next quote.

Which was inspired by something read on the internet.

“LOL But this very proud member of the RedNeckNation is here to write. Your cupcakes up there has got me to thinking about artificial sweetners, empty calories, and the River Denile…

Thing is even Blogland can become a “beer buzz” after a while if you aren’t careful. 😀

And well Blogland, with it’s ego stroking can turn into an “opiate” for the emotions if you need it to get through the day.

Me? I just write and observe. Others sell stuff. No worries.”

Now that got me thinking.

It’s good to have a “healthy” way to cope with the unpleasantness of the world and I love how music can uplift and positive affirmations can inspire. Not all conversations are make up of sentences. Some just consist of “What’s up.”

But a steady diet of “sugar” especially the “artificial sweetner kind” can rot your brain.

Not everything here in my real world or that you read here at 12 dogs is of the beautiful book variety.

Next? This song. Funny. Especially the ending.

Sunny day and not a cloud in the sky.

At least here at 12 dogs. LOL No, not in my beautiful imaginary blog. Outside where I’m heading. Today I’m gonna kick back and enjoy a beautiful day.

Quote of the day.

“Some folks want to live in a beautiful book all day. I can’t say I blame them.

There’d be sharks in the waters they swim in.

Hungry, hungry sharks.” Hannah Murphy

12-19-09

Yep.

If I’m gonna swim with the sharks?

It would not be the kind with two legs…

Nope.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsYup
Posted Feb-19-09 10:47:32 PST Updated Feb-19-09 14:19:43 PSTAnd double yep…

And some egos are so fragile that they need the “buzz” of ego stroking to get them through their day.

The internet is the perfect place to find it.

Just create a world and bingo.

Instant praise.

Instant friends.

Instant Karma.

Next thing you know the internet becomes like a “beer buzz” to get you through church.

Because your life is too hard and you need the “buzz” to get through the sermon.

The conversation resembles something that might be heard in a 1920’s opium den.

And you begin to look and sound alot like the cat in this video

Kind of ironic.

First post of the day?

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsFirst post of the day?
Posted Feb-19-09 10:45:36 PST Updated Feb-19-09 11:08:13 PSTFirst post of the day?

LOL From the same folks that brought you Mozart? Brings you this… video.

Reminds me of the movie “EdTv”.

(there’s a theme here folks)

Well this very proud adopted member of the RedNeckNation is supposed to be here to write. While part of the process is trying to read the lint in my own belly button, I’m also supposed to be observing the internet world and actually writing for it.

Some folks were wondering…

Better go put in another load of clothes and remember never believe your own PR

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsLOL From the same folks that brought you Mozart?…
Posted Feb-19-09 07:08:34 PST Updated Feb-19-09 07:26:08 PSTDarkling1234… Sigh…

Just a note the video contains swearing

Oopss. And it’s on eBay.

Playlist

Headlines by “Weird Al” Yankovic

Seeing how this is all about the music and the satire? The embeding feature has been disabled. But well, we thought it was worth venturing over to YouTube to see the hand farts. And for those who are “babies” this stuff really did happen. Tonya Harding, Ms Bobbit (unfortunate name for the situation), and that guy did get caned over in Asia…

Yep all brought to you by the same folks who produced Mozart, Einstein, and the 3 Stooges…

Hope you all have a “Shiney Happy People” kind of day!!

AuthorAnn

Next? Well some folks were wondering…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsWell some folks were wondering…
Posted Feb-18-09 14:50:09 PST,,,and it is abit of popular culture…

Please note that this isn’t PG or suitable for kids…

It would seem that at the very last minute the character Masturbating Bear got a reprieve and is now somewhere on a yacht in the middle of what looks to be the Hudson River with Carrie Fischer.

Ah the end of an era…

And while we’re talking about free speech..

Note: For the folks that might think there’s been too much (partisian) politics on 12 dogs. Something that I posted in the comments of another Bloglander’s blog. The discussion was about a bill that may come before the US House. Coming from an area and having family members who are hunters, I always listen when the conversations about gun control come up. I know from past experience that folks feel very deeply about the issue on both sides. It’s one of those issues where I really do believe that reasonable men and women differ. They aren’t playing politics and there are good hearts on both sides of the debate.

What I said wasn’t to take sides on the issue. It was about the larger issue of political debate. For the record, I don’t hate folks because of their politics. I really don’t. And I’m not shy when it comes to a heated political debate.

I wrote–

“It’s been my experience that to talk out loud about what can be viewed as a controversial subject doesn’t breed near the anger as it does telling folks to keep silent. Matter of fact, I’d go so far as to say that a heated political debate actually breeds peace. I know that there is an attempt to ask folks not to be critical of the administration or the current social and economic environment. This can have the unintended consequence of dividing the country further not uniting it. Bringing the debate into the sunshine. Making it a matter of political debate and not an issue of personal attack is a good thing to do.

The unintended consequence is that both sides can become even more deeply entrenched in their view point. They dig in wheither they talk out loud about it or not.”

That’s why I’m writing the political on 12 dogs. I honestly believe that the current administration would agree that to speak out on the issues of the day, regardless of which side of the political argument you are on, not only breeds peace but it is also one of our basic rights as citizens of the United States.

From the Bill of Rights: The First Amendment US Constitution

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

The Consitution is a beautiful thing.

Back to laundry and remember Never believe your own PR
Comment|Report this post
1 commentWhy politics at 12 dogs.
Posted Feb-18-09 08:33:05 PST Updated Feb-18-09 14:38:49 PSTNote: For the folks that might think there’s been too much (partisian) politics on 12 dogs. Something that I posted in the comments of another Bloglander’s blog. The discussion was about a bill that may come before the US House. Coming from an area and having family members who are hunters, I always listen when the conversations about gun control come up. I know from past experience that folks feel very deeply about the issue on both sides. It’s one of those issues where I really do believe that reasonable men and women differ. They aren’t playing politics and there are good hearts on both sides of the debate.

What I said wasn’t to take sides on the issue. It was about the larger issue of political debate. For the record, I don’t hate folks because of their politics. I really don’t. And I’m not shy when it comes to a heated political debate.

I wrote–

“It’s been my experience that to talk out loud about what can be viewed as a controversial subject doesn’t breed near the anger as it does telling folks to keep silent. Matter of fact, I’d go so far as to say that a heated political debate actually breeds peace. I know that there is an attempt to ask folks not to be critical of the administration or the current social and economic environment. This can have the unintended consequence of dividing the country further not uniting it. Bringing the debate into the sunshine. Making it a matter of political debate and not an issue of personal attack is a good thing to do.

The unintended consequence is that both sides can become even more deeply entrenched in their view point. They dig in wheither they talk out loud about it or not.”

That’s why I’m writing the political on 12 dogs. I honestly believe that the current administration would agree that to speak out on the issues of the day, regardless of which side of the political argument you are on, not only breeds peace but it is also one of our basic rights as citizens of the United States.

From the Bill of Rights: The First Amendment US Constitution

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

The Consitution is a beautiful thing.

Back to laundry and remember Never believe your own PR

Comment|Report this post
1 commentA cover of Angel’s
Posted Feb-17-09 17:15:37 PST Updated Feb-17-09 18:31:38 PSTOff the clock. For today and tonight’s post? Click the blue link……

From Zooeyfranny’s YouTube notes. “The futureheads for the festival les inrocks with tahiti boy and the palmtree family and the lemonheads. La maroquinerie, Paris.”

I like the song. It’s kind a happy. The Futureheads sing Skip to the End

Don’t forget to click the blue links for today and tonight’s posts.

Hugs,

Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGood night Blogland…
Posted Feb-17-09 16:45:01 PST Updated Feb-19-09 14:46:40 PST.Just sittin’ here thinking …

Happy dreams! Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsNever believe your own PR
Posted Feb-17-09 06:18:33 PST Updated Feb-19-09 12:23:53 PSTThis is a short post.

There’ll be longer post about Maine’s health care program in a day or so.

Interesting program in that it’s goal is to provide all the residents of Maine with (state) government provided healthcare. I mentioned it on the next post because I just wondered if any of the stimulus money will pay for it. I don’t know about you but while it’s great that the state of Maine wants to do this (and pay for it too) I don’t.

Now hang on. I have a reason for this. In the past 8 years our teachers and state employees have been threated with lay offs. It would be a whole lot better use of the tax money from this state if it were kept here. We’ve also seen a yearly increase in the cost of Medicaid for state residents. Again it would be better if this money were kept here in our state and not used to pay for Maine’s healthcare.

For a gander at the two Republican Senators from Maine who apparently have not asked the question, “Well yes, it is a “positive idea” but who the heck is going to pay for it?”

I give you this video

While you watch this video remember that the entire state of Maine has a population of about 1,300,000 people.

Then I’m going to replay the video of Minority Leader Boehner saying the words that those two US Senators from Maine should have asked everyone,

“Have you read it before you voted?”

Should be required reading because the small changes are pretty mighty in the land of laws. Plus this is trillions of dollars by now for the bailout. Trillions. I wonder if they’ve bought stuff on eBay? Do you recon they’re the ones who “b#tch” if the durn thing is one day late? I have this gut feeling that they pay more attention to the guarantee on their eBay IPod than they do on a billion dollar stimulus package.

Mid term elections.

For the “high road” to politics? Well howdy.

I’ve got stuff to do today. Won’t bore you with the list. Before I go there is one other video. When you watch it think about packaging and marketing and the words, “I can’t live by your rules, man.” From someone who shaved off his mustasche because the fans didn’t like it. Must be gearing up for the 10:30 slot. (Conan O’Brian’s last show is Friday)

http://www.cnbc.com/id/15840232?video=1032783181

You should never believe your own PR.

There may be an advert for opensalon.com too. It’s a blog hosting site.

Have another post written but it’s for later this evening.

Next

I saw this on Molly’s blog. The quote and the poem that she had posted reminded me of the friends in my life. Lot of truth to it. So I wrote that good bye to my friend who died from AIDS that I never got to say before he died. Listen to the song that goes with it. I can tell you for a fact that there’s truth to it. Say What You Need to Say * John Mayer

How about a story? This will take you out into the midde of 12 dogs nowhere. >Story… Monkey see if you can find your way back

For my writing buddy. Every journey begins with Step one.

Now I’m gonna go “pull weeds” (Note to folks here at 12 dogs? “I’m gonna go “pull weeds” means I’m going to go clean something here at 12 dogs. It helps me think. At the end of the day I have something to show for it. Kind of like how you might feel when you finish listing the items for your store or mailed out that last order. Kind of like meditation. I think today is laundry day. This and mucking out the dog pens is why I don’t believe my own PR.

Washing towels here I come… )

Note: I haven’t read yesterday’s emails. I’ll get around to it later this afternoon. Like I said above, there’s stuff to do.

As you know I don’t turn on my comments unless I’m here to chat. I do that because it might seem rude to folks if I miss their comments and don’t reply back. Thing is folks there is email. If you have an ebay account and can reply iu the comments, you can also email using ebay’s email. At least I think so. Not trying to be snooty. It’s just that, when I’m here, I’m also shopping, writing etc. Figure you’d rather have me buy something than chat. 😀 But don’t worry, unlike some of the other blog writters that folks have “run off” or “beaten into submision” so that their blogs are now “content free”. I’m quietly writing here still.

My Gentle Readers might miss me if I didn’t.

Say what you need to say today. You’ll sleep better if you do.

Last night I sure did.

Happy day!

Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsJust sittin’ here thinking that…
Posted Feb-17-09 06:17:33 PST Updated Feb-17-09 16:16:46 PSTThe loudest sound in the whole world is silence.

Well howdy. I’ve been thinking about the past. Counting on my fingers and toes the people who’ve come into and then left my world. Some of the memories are so sad. Others are warm. A single candle in the window. They keep me warm and give hope. It’s funny how I met them. A great Aunt that I’d only seen once in my life became the chatter box on the other end of the phone. “Hi ya’ honey.” I can still here hear her voice. The friend that I met as a pen pal who’d already left but some how I got the old list with his name one it not the new list without. There was the friend who said hello by completing my thoughts. He showed me such a different world at just the right time. Then he left. Woven in between them all there’s WB. When IrishDavid left, WB became the person I’d know the longest in my life.

He was there when Pup was born and he was there when my son died.

One of my favorite photos of both of them is a very tired WB sitting with a very tiny Pup on his lap asleep. A kind of moment. This week end someone wanted me to post a photo of myself on the blog. One of those moments. A temporary image of who I was in one second of a very long life of seconds. They were my friend. They still are as far as I’m concerned. I told them no to the photo. I should have told then to read the blog.

So I’m sitting here thinking. Hoping that there is a heaven. I know that if there is my friends will be there. Heaven will be so much the better for it.

I saw this on Molly’s blog. The quote and the poem that she had posted reminded me of the friends in my life. Lot of truth to it. So I wrote that good bye to my friend who died that I never got to say before they died. Listen to the song that goes with it. I can tell you for a fact that there’s truth to it. Say What You Need to Say * John Mayer

How about a story? This will take you out into the midde of 12 dogs nowhere. >Story… Monkey see if you can find your way back

For my writing buddy. Every journey begins with Step one.

And for the political voice Never believe your own PR

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI saw this on Molly’s blog
Posted Feb-16-09 11:36:53 PST Updated Mar-19-09 11:20:45 PDT“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”
Walter Winchell

A REAL FRIEND

Anyone can stand by you when you are right…
but a real friend stands by you when you’re wrong.

A simple friend identifies himself when he calls…
a real friend doesn’t have to.

A simple friend opens a conversation with a
full news bulletin on his life…
a real friend says “Whats new with you?”

A simple friend thinks the problems you whine about are new…
A real friend says
“You’ve whined about the same thing for years,
get off your duff and do something about it!!

A simple friend had never seen you cry…
a real friend has soggy shoulders from your tears.

A simple friend doesn’t know your parents first names…
a real friend has their number in his address book.

A simple friend brings a bottle of wine to your party…
a real friend comes early to help cook,
and stays late to help clean.

A simple friend hates it when you call after he has gone to bed…
a real friend asks why you took so long to call?

A simple friend seeks to talk with you about your problems…
a real friend seeks to help you with your problems.

A simple friend wonders about your romantic history…
a real friend could black mail you with it,
but of course would not!!

A simple friend acts like a guest when visiting…
a real friend helps himself.

A simple friend thinks the friendship is over after you have an arguement…
a real friend knows it is not a friendship till you had a fight.

A simple friend expects you to be there for them…
a real friend expects to always be there for you!!

Say What You Need to Say * John Mayer

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsWell howdy.
Posted Feb-16-09 10:56:53 PST Updated Feb-17-09 06:05:08 PST

To:

Robert A Gleason, Chairman

Republican Party of Pennsylvania

717 North Second Street

Harrisburg, PA 17102

Mark Ellis, Chairman

Republican Party of Maine

9 Higgins Street

Augusta, ME 04330

From:

Mr. and Mrs J Q Public

123 Main Street

Anytown in Maine or Pennsylvania

Dear Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis,

Like you we are deeply concerned over Senator Spector, Senator Snowe, and Senator Collin’s support and vote for the Stimulus Package 2009. Yes, we are concerned at the reckless disregard for the voter’s viewpoint that this bill wouldn’t work. Yes, we are interested in giving money to the Republican Party.

We just aren’t giving it to the Republican Party of Pennsylvania and Maine.

Why?.

Well, you see Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis, we’ve decide to give to several other funds that we feel are will do much more for us than the Pennsyvania and Maine Republican Party.

Instead?

We’re going to give to

the “Pay Our Rent” fund,

the “Money to Pay Our Heating Bill” fund,

the “Money to Pay Our Retirement Fund” fund,

the ” Money to Pay This Month’s Credit Card Bill” fund,

the “Money to Pay for Our Kids Braces” fund,

the “Pay Our Federal Income Tax” fund

and our particular favorite,

the”Save Our Sanity By Going on Vacation” fund. (This last fund comes with a free t-shirt that says “We voted for you and all we got was this lousy stimulas package” c2009 12 dogs)

Giving to these funds means that we just ran out of money to give to the RNC in Pennsylvania and in Maine.

But don’t you fret Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis, we will be supporting the Republican Party at the state level by having a fund raiser along with our fellow SteelWorkers. Then we’re going to give this money to the US Senators and US Representative who are Republican and voted against the stimulus package. Just not the ones from Maine and Pennsylvania because, well, they voted for it. After the last vote? We think that they’ll do a better job of representing us than either of you, Senator Spector, Senator Collins, or Senator Snowe have.

Thanks but no thanks,

Sincerely,

Mr. and Ms. J Q Public,

Maine and Pennsylvania

And don’t. forget to actually support the Republican Party!

While you watch this video remember that the entire state of Maine has a population of about 1,300,000 people.

The state of Maine had as it’s goal to provide healthcare to all the citizens in Maine. Good for them. If they have the money to do so good. They’d need to have a consistant revenue stream to fund it though. Someone has to pay for it.

Guess who they’re gonna get to do it?

LOL I guess they are for this stimulas package. The state of Maine was footing the bill and so will the rest of the country through their federal taxes. While they’re also trying to pay their own healthcare costs.

Must have been hard for the Senators from Maine ignore not only their party but the 78, ooo or so emails from other parts of the country against it.

Next? John Mayer Covered in Rain

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsJohn Mayer Covered in Rain
Posted Feb-16-09 00:38:28 PST Updated Feb-17-09 06:47:21 PST

Next

Happy (day after) Valentine’s Day

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsSay What You Need to Say * John Mayer
Posted Feb-16-09 00:04:51 PST Updated Mar-19-09 11:34:50 PDT

For my friend who died of AIDS. You gave me the love of dance. You taught me that people could make a living not just as doctors, lawyers, and engineers but also as artists, dancers, and writers. You taught me that people are who they are in their hearts. You taught me to live out loud and that wearing two different colored socks was indeed a fashion statement. Thanks to you I had one of the best New Years Days in my life. I’ve seen New York many times but you were the one who took me dancing. Thanks to you I got to stand on a state of the art stage and look out into the house. You were there the year I gathered up every bit of my courage and left my small town and went to the big city to live. So much music in the world I’d never heard but I heard because of you. You taught me to dance. I owe you alot. It was a weird friendship against alot of odds. But I am grateful for the time you gave me in your very busy life. I’m so sorry that you never got to find your Mr. Right. He would have been so lucky to have found you.

I never had a better roomate or friend.

Thank you.

Love, Ann.

PS I wish you were here now. I could use a walk over to the Five Points. Coffee in Southside. I can still remember your voice and I’m pretty sure what you’d say about my life now.

I found this video. I’m not good at endings and beginnings really. I say I am but I’m not really. I miss you.

John Mayer Covered in Rain

Back to March 19, 2009? Click > Not a blog?

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHappy (day after) Valentine’s Day
Posted Feb-15-09 19:15:59 PST Updated Feb-15-09 19:18:37 PSTPilobolus…

This is a commercial for BIDvest that they were talking about in the video above.

And an ad for Volkswagon

Doorway to 12 dogs > Modern Romance

Comments off Will delete these posts come morning. Just in the mood for exploring while I was working. Thought I’d share. Ann
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsDear RNC Chairman,
Posted Feb-15-09 01:06:59 PST Updated Feb-16-09 10:39:59 PST

To:

Robert A Gleason, Chairman

Republican Party of Pennsylvania

717 North Second Street

Harrisburg, PA 17102

Mark Ellis, Chairman

Republican Party of Maine

9 Higgins Street

Augusta, ME 04330

From:

Mr. and Mrs J Q Public

123 Main Street

Anytown in Maine or Pennsylvania

Dear Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis,

Like you we are deeply concerned over Senator Spector, Senator Snowe, and Senator Collin’s support and vote for the Stimulus Package 2009. Yes, we are concerned at the reckless disregard for the voter’s viewpoint that this bill wouldn’t work. Yes, we are interested in giving money to the Republican Party.

We just aren’t giving it to the Republican Party of Pennsylvania and Maine.

Why?.

Well, you see Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis, we’ve decide to give to several other funds that we feel are will do much more for us than the Pennsyvania and Maine Republican Party.

Instead?

We’re going to give to

the “Pay Our Rent” fund,

the “Money to Pay Our Heating Bill” fund,

the “Money to Pay Our Retirement Fund” fund,

the ” Money to Pay This Month’s Credit Card Bill” fund,

the “Money to Pay for Our Kids Braces” fund,

the “Pay Our Federal Income Tax” fund

and our particular favorite,

the”Save Our Sanity By Going on Vacation” fund. (This last fund comes with a free t-shirt that says “We voted for you and all we got was this lousy stimulas package” c2009 12 dogs)

Giving to these funds means that we just ran out of money to give to the RNC in Pennsylvania and in Maine.

But don’t you fret Mr. Gleason and Mr. Ellis, we will be supporting the Republican Party at the state level by having a fund raiser along with our fellow SteelWorkers. Then we’re going to give this money to the US Senators and US Representative who are Republican and voted against the stimulus package. Just not the ones from Maine and Pennsylvania because, well, they voted for it. After the last vote? We think that they’ll do a better job of representing us than either of you, Senator Spector, Senator Collins, or Senator Snowe have.

Thanks but no thanks,

Sincerely,

Mr. and Ms. J Q Public,

Maine and Pennsylvania

And don’t. forget to actually support the Republican Party!

Next?

Modern Romance

Comment|Report this post
Page 3 of 7 Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

