Feb 2009 pg4

Archive – February 20090 commentsModern Romance
Posted Feb-14-09 22:54:30 PST Updated Feb-15-09 17:38:29 PSTI read this on the internet.

Let’s face it. Valentine’s Day is the holiday of unreasonable and more than likely unmet expectations. The next day should be a day of laughing.

In that spirit?

From a long time married couple.

A romantic saying to tell your honey in case you forgot yesterday.

” Honey,

you are 90 % of the reason why I

get out of bed each morning.

The other 10% is I need to pee.”

Then smile.

They’ll either laugh so hard that they’ll forgive you

or they might get even more pissed.

Like I said, I read this on the internet so consider the source.

Happy day after Valentine’s Day.

AuthorAnn

Howdy (Story… Monkey see if you can find your way back

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHowdy
Posted Feb-14-09 18:21:24 PST Updated Feb-14-09 20:34:21 PSTFor my writing buddy. Every journey begins with Step one.

Lately I’ve been writing about politics. I’ll continue to do so. I’m seeing that some folks aren’t going to be happy with what I say. The current trend of “sugar coating” the world as if to say that the world’s troubles will go away if we just think happy thoughts is about as smart as saying if I just ignore being pregnant as it will go away in 8 months. While factually the situation will change? The problem? Will not. They tell writers to write what they know or what they see. That’s the advice I’ve been given and have taken to heart. Agree with me or not, if you react passionately to what I write. If it makes you think or laugh? Then I’m doing my job. I’m learning to write. And right now? That’s been to write about politics.

Welcome to 12 dogs.

It’s my writer’s journal.

I write about a variety of subjects and use this blog to practice, yes practice the art of writing. If you were reading last year’s posts I was trying my hand at romance writing. A lucrative market to be sure but well I wasn’t thrilled about it. Now because of the election and the political environment? I write about politics. Makes sense. Writers are told to write what they know or what they are seeing in the world. They are told to write about subjects that are important to them. Right now that would be politics and how my our dollars are spent. In my work, I’ve seen how difficult it is to take good hearted intentions and turn them into actual behavioral changes. Part of my “schooling” was in learning to write behavioral objectives for training other health care professionals. Turning those broad and “happy” ideas of change into steps that were doable out here in the real world. Now I see good hearted folks talking about “hope” and “change” and that’s nice. Forgive me if I don’t think that a steady diet of generalize “positivity” is going to cure the worlds ills. There are practical considerations as well. What I don’t see in this current “hopeful” political environment are the answers to the questions “How is it actually going to be done? and “Where is the money to pay for it going to come from?” It’s important to me as a person and it happens to be political. So? I’m writing about it.

How I write about politics or any other subject varies. That’s the learning to be a writer part of my blog. As the world of the written word is evolving so to is the vehicle by which is is presented. The internet is an important way of presenting idea to the reader. Expression of ideas and debate of the issues is certainly different on the internet. Right now it’s learned by “hands on ” experiences. Sometimes expressing ideas on the internet seems more like a clique of preschoolers vying for control of the playground equipment than it resembles adult discourse. If I had the luxury of being in school, I’d be doing the same thing. Structured writing and trying new genres is part of the study of writing. I certainly would be learning how to write for the internet world. For instance, in political writing, some of the commentary is brief and heavy on its editorial content. Even the “impartial analysis” seems to have partisian overtones. Timeliness is of importance. There is the air of the pep rally about it. With easy to digest slogans. RaRaRa hurray! Just the gliches in the tools used to convey a writer’s words, can have a crucial impact on your writing and who reads it.

Then there is the editorial joke in the cultural arena…

Writing in this world takes practice and experience.

But as I’ve said many times, 12 dogs is first and foremost my writing journal.

In between the politics, I also practice voice, dialog, and character development when writing here. This is important because my first love is writing short stories. Wheither the story is fact or fiction, in the short story form you have to write in such a way as to present your characters quickly. You chose the words and mannerism to let the reader know pretty durn quick just who this character is. This is something that you work on. One of the things I work on here in this blog. The next post, Date night movie review Two Lovers, isn’t so much a movie review (it is in a way), it’s a quick character sketch complete with mispellings and a colloquial form of expression. In short stories you don’t have time to sit down and say, “Okay now Gentle Reader this character is _______________.” Like an actor might, I create a whole world for the character that you, the reader, don’t see. I imagine who they are and what they might do under a variety of situations. How would they react? What would they say? Then I hope that I write the words in such a way that will show you who that character is. I guess it’s kind of method acting for writers. I love to do this. I really do. I may be writing about in the factual world of politics but my heart belongs to the short story form as a whole.

Journalism or novella, fact or fiction, in the short story form, the whole idea is to tell the heart of the story. The primary reason for this blog is to use the written word to explore the written thought and to eventually have mastery of written expression. To do this? I practice and I learn. Which means writing about both fact and fiction. It also means writing about people and what they do. It also means creating characters. It also means that it’s the words that are important. After all, my intention is for folks to read what I write.

It also mean that, as I learned from my writing buddy, that sometimes I will piss folks off.

Doorway to 12 dogs

Lately I’ve been writing about politics.

These posts that begin with ” For the folks in the US House and Senate who don’t know where most folks money is spent.” are designed to be humourous and definately political commentary. They aren’t just about the stimulas package either but about the current trend that says being critical of the new president is some how fundamentally wrong and unAmerican. They are also a response to the idea that a positive attitude means absence of content. I wonder sometimes if that “positive attitude” is treated like the administering Soma in Huxley’s book A Brave New World. Then there is the message “Just do something.” That might might seem like a good idea in theory but as any doctor who’s taken the oath knows. The first priority is first do no harm. Or as President Clinton put it. “If you find out you’re digging yourself in a hole? The first thing you do is stop digging.”. Then there is a rumor that this whole experience of debate on the stimulas package and the economy wasn’t a dialog about the economy but in reality political high theater.

Sad.

To cheer us up?

Date night movie review Two Lovers (Yes the typos are intentional.)

Happy Valentine’s Day (This is about as close to the sentiment of the day as you’re going to get.)

What I did? I do. LOL Someone asked me here on the blogs when I was going to make a “real contribution to society”. Normally I just let it go. It’s the internet. Folks have all kinds of opinions on each other. You listen or let it go. But I wondered what I was doing with my time. So I went back over the last year and looked at just the original poetry that I’d written. And then I listed them. A appx. count would be almost 100 original poems. 12 dogs is for me to learn different forms of written expression and that includes poetry. I think I did okay for someone with no formal training in the area of poetry. A self learner. This isn’t the first time I was asked if I was a writer. The last time I was asked the question, “Am I a writer.” I proceeded to present 50 writing examples for the month during which they asked the question. . I’ve been quietly working here. Writing. This portfolio includes short stories and the first chapter, an almost completed second chapter, and the outline for a book of interelated short stories. I grew up in an environment where “wasting the air you breathe” is not encouraged. The only difference is we’re so busy doing we don’t engage in tooting our own horn. Self promotion is important but some folks spend more time promoting than doing. That’s frowned upon where I come from. Here they’re busy living and breathing life. Here artistic expression is taken for granted. We’re busy. And we don’t have such low self esteem that we have to be “stroked” all the time for what we do or don’t do. Got it? *~*.)

Finally

Welcome to 12 dogs. I should be coming up with another interactive story soon. It starts with the video below. I should do two waves one political and one fiction. I’m just not sure I have the time. Which reminds me. Do not try to read 12 dogs sequentially. Those blue links are there for a very good reason. That’s the another reason why I write here. I’m not sure I could write this off of the internet. 12 dogs is a “living”, “breathing”, “interactive” electronic organism. It morphs and changes with a kind of life of it’s own. I write it sure but it changes. It speaks to social and political ideas of the day. It reacts to outside stimuli. Be careful. You can get lost in the maze of it. I have and I write it.

Take care. AuthorAnn.

Oh and I like to have a playlist too.

I’m thinking this one.

Being an LADreamr has nothing to do with it.

This is the internet.

Here?

Life is as real and as sureal as you can get.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGet your
Posted Feb-14-09 15:50:48 PST Updated Feb-14-09 23:23:48 PSTThe short story form is told in a variety of different ways.

Take this video for Coldplay’s Lost competition.

Every every picture tells a story.

Reminds me of the very famous fight scene in the movie Raging Bull for the paring of the soundtract with the slomotion photography.

Being an LADreamr has nothing to do with it.

This is the internet.

Here?

Life is as real and as sureal as you can get…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsDate night movie review here …
Posted Feb-13-09 20:35:00 PST Updated Feb-14-09 23:27:05 PST

So the movie is Two Lovers. It’s the movie that Joanquin Pheonix was SUPPOSED to be promoting on Letterman.

Here’s the trailer.

Well first off I have to tell you that there is no way I’m going to be going to this movie. I mean sheesh. I saved myself 24 bucks plus snacks, fired up Joanquin Pheonix on Youtube and then read the internet spoilers and comments over on the movie sights.

I’m telling you this up front so that you won’t go around saying that I saw the movie and thought it was great. I haven’t seen it. I’m just saving you the time of looking up the spoilers (you know you do) over on IMdB or Rotten Tomatoes.

This movie is getting the artsy fartsy buzz which means that somebody’s going to be up early when the Oscar noms are announced. And there’s lots of comments and reviews from folks that say it’s not a romantic comedy but in fact a study of tragic realtionships which are DOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMEEEEDDDD. Screwed. Matter of fact the ending sounds like the main character gets dumped and then gets the rebound girl. A good looking rebound girl to be sure but –alas– he did not get the girl of his fantasy island.

This movie is pretty well documented over on those movie boards and well I can see why the main character Leonard is depressed. Heck just reading it made me depressed

Spoiler alert This movie had great potential. It stars Gwen Paltrow and that other girl Vanisa Shaw. Hard to believe that it could be so flat chested in the car crashes and shootem up gun scenes. And who wants to spend 24 bucks to see a movie about a 30 year old who moves back home with his mother. I was about to put the big “L” up on the forhead and move on.

But then news that Gwen Paltrow may or may not be nude in this mother does give hope. Nekkid Gwenneth Paltrow would certainly make up for an hour and 1/2 of Juaquin Phoenis whining, “what can I do: Do I pick Gweneth Paltrow or do I pick Vanisa Shaw. This choice is just too hard. And I live with my parents. Did I tell you that I’m 30, live with my mother, and yet still get to go out with Gwenth Paltrow and Vanisa Shaw. My life scuks” I was depressed just reading it. So I’m sticking my 20 in the offering plate in the church of Bud.

Sigh. They just don’t make good movies like American Pie any more.

Oh and incase you live under a rock when this turkey buzzard of a PR move was made?

Here’s the clip

Juaquin Pheonix on David Letterman

So unless I hear that Paltrow or that Vanisa Hicks woman is naked and having sex?

I’m staying home.

12 dogs movie review. If those guys over at the movie sites start talking about character studies and interior monologues?

We’ll let you know.

Next?

Happy Valentine’s Day
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHappy Valentine’s Day
Posted Feb-13-09 17:41:53 PST Updated Feb-13-09 18:07:34 PST

“You know. Reasonable people will differ, but pizzing in my cornflakes will just make me mad. Feel the love . ”

Next post is NOT my writer friend’s post … But this one is –>Step one.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsBest regards, AuthorAnn
Posted Feb-13-09 17:37:06 PST Updated Feb-14-09 23:28:56 PSTWhat happens, if after years and years or Valentine’s Days and Friday the 13ths you find out both happen in the same week.

Well if you are me?

You grap up a bottle of good Tequilla and spend this time of year in a Valentine’s Day hurricane hole.

Listening to the Elvis 8 tracks you bought off eBay.

I’d go stay in my anxiety closet, but my hurricane hole,

It has a night light.

Good night

Well the next blog post is political. It is NOT Step One post

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsDefinately not for my writing buddy.
Posted Feb-13-09 11:33:23 PST Updated Feb-14-09 20:42:41 PST…calling Americans wasteful and not good stewards of their money.

I thought this video was a cute way to explain just were the money goes for most Americans because obviously you don’t know….

And I’m being positive too! πŸ˜€

Now for the grownups. LOL I swear. This just gets funnier and funnier.

Yup. If I were a Senator or Representative, I’d blame the evil “lobbyist” too. I really would. All those evil lobbyist fault. Those evil men and women of Kstreet fame went in there and forced those poor innocent Senators and Representatives to vote for or against that stimulus bill (house or senate bill depending)…

Nope.

See that would be like blaming your “dealer” for selling/giving you a “fix”.

Once your state gets “hooked” on federal funding to pay for social programs?

Your state is “hooked”. Which means when the fed money dries up the state budget takes over. More taxes one way or the other. Once your state has committed to taking funding or accepting a particular program? Your state is “hooked”.

I’m being positive about that too.

Like robbing Peter to pay Paul.

And I can see Aesop too.

Frogs and the Cranes come to mind.

Actually the old story of how you boil a frog comes to mind too.

Sigh.

I heard a rumor.

A rumor that said that the governors are screaming for this federal money like a “junkie” screaming for a “quick fix”. If this is true? What do you do if you are a Senator or a Representative who’s getting lots of emails telling them to vote no but back home they’re screaming for that “quick fix”.

Interesting.

I guess you make speeches about the evil stimulas package and how you’re against it but wait there’s a majority and what can you do? You did fight the good fight. Now stop yer winning and bend over and get used to it. The evil opposition is in charge. Hate the insert the otherside’s name here depending on who you like but who you… So ya’ll hate each other while we just take a few thou in taxes to pay the “dealer”…

You get the idea.

I’m just brainstorming here.

Then you find three Senators. Show them the federal dollars and bingo

You got ” Lemmings.”

Next?

LOL. Too funny School House Rock

******

Lots of talk about learning a new language to keep busy.

πŸ˜€

So I learned a new phrase.

Because it’s Friday the 13th the day before the most dread of holidays

Valentine’s Day

cue mysterious music

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsBecause it’s Friday the 13th
Posted Feb-13-09 08:34:22 PST Updated Feb-14-09 23:18:45 PSTand the day before Valentine’s Day

Kind words for kind hearts to hear.

Not to worry friends of mine.

The Constant Heart

Weathers all storms.

If hearts be kind?

Then hear me now

Your love I honor.

But if hearts be foul?

On love’s rocky road?

Your love may sour.

Think well this path.

Think well his hour.

Both hearts of gold

An hearts that are foul.

Have tried this road.

Heard Jaguar’s howl.

Many have tried

And many have failed.

A heart of gold will serve you well.

So what’s this path

That you seek here?

The path that true love holds so dear?

Tis’ path of love you wish to take?

Your path be clear

And love you’ll make.

But once again

I do plead now.

That this fair journey

Can sometimes be foul.

So bring a love, a watch and a compass.

And bring truth and reason

Be ready for love’s rumpus

But first no question guards this path.

Just love’s heart.

BUT

Is it “I love you friend” or “I love you love” ?

A question once asked in light hearted mirth?

Now seems asked anew.

With more serious intent.

;D

Tis’ love’s season.

Ask for a guide

What the Dodo said, “Inquire within…”

or how about a story? This will take you out into the midde of 12 dogs nowhere. >Story… Monkey see if you can find your way back
Comment|Report this post
118 commentsWhat I did? I do.
Posted Feb-13-09 03:03:43 PST Updated Feb-28-09 20:11:09 PSTFor my friend

This post isn’t for you

This is your post >Step one.

For the rest of the Blogreaders? Keep reading

Someone on the blogs asked me when I was going to do something positive for society.

She may not think what I’m about say is of importance to society. I don’t write for that reason. I write for the sheer enjoyment of it. I’d like to do it for a living and like any goal, as a writer you spend alot of time in front of a key board practicing. You honestly do. Everyday. That’s one of the things that is different about being a writer from say being a psychiatric nurse or being a grad student in education or working for a possibly non profit program for abused kids. Writing is done all the time. For instance, when I go out into the internet world, Blogland or just living, I am listening to the sounds and words of the world. Like a musician practicing, I “run scales” by listening to others speak. I listen how they interact with each other. I read what other authors write and then try to figure out why I like it or why I do not. Then I go home and sit here at the key board and I write characters. For work. A year ago January I took a chance and made a little challenge with myself. Write everyday in a journal. That’s what the books tell you to do. Write everyday. It’s that simple.

So last January I set out to become a working writer. I couldn’t afford nor did I have access to college classes in this area. I’m self taught. But I do have knowledge about the education process. I read and I used my common sense to device a plan.. I would explore different kinds of writing just for fun. I tried short stories. I’m writing about the political now. This wasn’t really an unexpected excercise.

But there was something that happened that was unexpecteded. Poetry. The more I wrote prose the more I began to love the sound of poetry. I loved the music of the words. Along time ago I wrote to another writer here that the delcious thing about words wasnt’ just their nuanced meanings. It was also their sound. The musicality of the words.

So for the lady who wondered if I was ever going to really do anything for society I’m going to do the same thing that I did for the fellow writer and now friend who asked me to prove in a matter of an hour that I was a writer. I did prove it to her because her respect was important to me. But how? I just simply started printing in comments samples of my writing from stuff I’d written here in eBay blogs. It was easy. I started with this week and just kept looking.

I’m going to see what I’ve been doing lately. Just poetry not anything else.. It will take awhile as there’s alot here. You’ll know when I’ve finished. because I’ll tell you.

I call it

What I Did in My Summer Vacation.

Poetry edition.

They’re in the comment section. I’m not saying that I’m another Whitman or ee cummings. But someday I hope to be pretty good. I enjoy it.

Oh and if that’s not enough for you I have three charities that I’m partial to. Charities that don’t put their noses up in the air when they help people. Nor do they belitltle people or just help their buddies. And help people they do. I checked it before I gave.

Takes all kinds of people.

Note all poems on this post belong to the blog author. All rights reserved 2008- 2009

When you get to the post that ends

“…The story teller looked into the fire again.

Then shuttered.

There was no entertaining way to say this.

Only plain words for a simple story.

“I love you.”…”

Type in any word. you’ll see the second page I don’t have any other way to go from page on to page two. Trust me just type in any word and it will got to the next page.

Hey Gentle Reader?. If this is March 2009?

You can go back to the future here.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsStep one.
Posted Feb-12-09 22:33:47 PST Updated Mar-03-09 14:54:44 PSTA story for my writing buddy friend. It’s an attempt at an answer to their question. Still in rough draft though. Sorry for misspelled words and typos. Like life, my writing is sometimes messy. Wanted to post it so that if they came by they’d know I’m working on it. hugs by the way

Read this story all the way to the end. Watch the video. Then read the rest.

For the rest of you? Click here. .For the folks in the House and Senate … And yes, I’m still talking politics.

Now the story.

Once there was a woman who very much wanted to know the meaning of life.

So she went to Buddha and asked.

“What is the meaning of this life Buddha? I have been high and low searching for this thing and I can’t seem to find it. I grasp the the tails of smoke dragons but they vanish before my eyes. I run to the ends of rainbows but they vanish in the mist. I’ve read everybook and talked to every priest but my heart? It is still asking me, “What is the meaning of life?”

Buddha was quiet for a minute then he looked in the woman’s eyes and said the strangest words.

He said, ” Wear comfortable shoes.”

This made the woman angry. She’d waited a very long time to see Buddha. With each person there was a long conversation about the fine points of logic and the meanings of the stars. After waiting all that time she had expected something more.

Not a shy woman she asked, no demanded, again, “Buddha! What is the meaning of life! What kind of answer is, “Wear comfortable shoes!” There should be more to this answer than just “Wear comfortable shoes!” She sat down next to Buddha on the ground underneath the tree of enlightened thought and said, “Out with it!”

Buddha thought for a moment then smiled.

“Go sit by the road and wait. The wise man with the answer to your question will come to you there. Now go before you miss him.”

She did.

She went to the side of the very busy road, sat down on the grass, and she waited for what she was sure would be an enlightenment. The answer to all life’s questions.

It was a while later when she grew thirsty and she was uncomfortable sitting for such a long time in one place. She didn’t leave because she didn’t want to miss enlightenment. A friend passed by and saw her wiggling in the grass. The friend looked at the woman and said, “Friend why are you sitting in the grass wiggling?” “Shssh,” the woman told her friend, “I’m looking for my teacher. I’m thirsty and uncomfortable but I don’t dare leave. I don’t want to miss him. So I’m going to wait here. But the thing is now my legs have gone to sleep and are tingling in the most uncomfortable way.” Her friend upon hearing this laughed and gave the woman some of the water she was carrying home, “Are you sure you don’t want to come with me and see my new kitten?: “No” said the woman, “I’ll miss my enlightenment. I’ll wait.” Her friend left but as she said good bye she promised to come back later with rice for the woman to eat. Off she went leaving the woman to once again wiggle in the grass and try to forget her discomfort.

She looked over at the Buddha and he waved a cheery hello. She waved a not so cheery hello in reply. Time passed. At first she was bored but then she began to hum a tune. In a minute another friend came by and said hello. He commented on the melody she was singing, “That’s nice. A beautiful song. Like a Nightingale.” “Thank you so much,” said the woman. For a while they sat in the Sun and sang. It was a pleasant enough way to spend the morning. Then the Sun climbed into the sky so high. It got hot. The friend suggested they move slightly so that they could sit under neath a tree. So they did.

The afternoon passed and her friend left, leaving her with an empty and very loud stomach.

Just as it growled her friend appeared with the rice. This was good because her stomach was very hungry. They were sitting on the ground chatting and eatting their rice when Buddha came to sit with them. “Hello friend Buddha. Join us.” Buddha looked at the woman, thanked her and then said another strange thing. “I see your teacher came and gave you the meaning to life.” Not wanting to lie she told the Buddha that no wise teacher had come to teach her the meaning of life. Buddha laughed and then asked her what did happen to her that day.

“Well…” she said then told him.

“Ah– so your teacher did come to see you.” said Buddha. To which she again answered a somber, “No.” This time the Buddha looked puzzled and asked, “But didn’t you sing a song?” “Yes, Buddha. I did.”she replied. “And, ” asked Buddha, “didn’t you share stories with a friend?” Once again the woman’s reply was, “Yes, Buddha.” “And isn’t your stomach full? And tonight when you walk home will it will be arm and arm with a friend?” Buddha asked the woman to which she replied “Yes, Buddha. That’s true.”

“Then your teacher did come to see you.” said Buddha.

“You have a good friend , a full stomach, a roof over your head, someone to walk home with you, and a song in your heart.

That, ” said Buddha, “is the secret of life.”

Good slumbers and happy dreams
With faery kisses bring soft breezes
May your worries be less than they seem
And may tomorrow bring a day that pleases

—Hugs—

Some folks live their whole lives “dancing” in other folks “shoes”

It’s the lucky ones who “dance” in their own.

Good night or good morning to you Gentle Reader

Where ever you go?

May you have someone to fly with

AuthorAnn

2/11/09

———————-

I could give you a photo of what I look like true. But a photo can only tell so much and will only tell that moment in time. By the time you see it? Even in this time measured in nanoseconds that moment would be long gone before the image reached your eyes. You would need another and then another and then another in fast succession til you had a steady stream of “photograph” moments… That would be sharing a life not a photograph.

The answer of a photograph is inadequate to your request.

This is a question of “trust”.

You’re not asking what I look like but in fact asking the question “Who am I? in my heart.”

How do you begin to answer that question with just a photograph?

Hugs.

You’re my friend and I like what I know of you.

Maybe it’s our own insecurities not Fate’s actions that separate us.

I don’t know.

I only know that when you are gone?

I miss you.

Step one.

Everyday is a winding road.

The destination is important but then so’s the journey.

Choose your traveling companions wisely.

Be kind

(and wear comfortable shoes.)

Happy Valentine’s Day

Note This way to Tuesday, March 3rd, 2009’s index of stories.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsFor the folks in the House and Senate and in other parts of the world..
Posted Feb-12-09 11:53:14 PST Updated Feb-13-09 14:45:19 PST…calling Americans wasteful and not good stewards of their money.

I thought this video was a cute way to explain just were the money goes for most Americans because obviously you don’t know….

And I’m being positive too! πŸ˜€

Now for the grownups. LOL I swear. This just gets funnier and funnier.

Yup. If I were a Senator or Representative, I’d blame the evil “lobbyist” too. I really would. All those evil lobbyist fault. Those evil men and women of Kstreet fame went in there and forced those poor innocent Senators and Representatives to vote for or against that stimulus bill (house or senate bill depending)…

Nope.

See that would be like blaming your “dealer” for selling/giving you a “fix”.

Once your state gets “hooked” on federal funding to pay for social programs?

Your state is “hooked”. Which means when the fed money dries up the state budget takes over. More taxes one way or the other. Once your state has committed to taking funding or accepting a particular program? Your state is “hooked” for at least the next 5 years.

I’m being positive about that too.

Like robbing Peter to pay Paul.

And I can see Aesop too.

Frogs and the Cranes come to mind.

Actually the old story of how you boil a frog comes to mind too.

Next?

LOL. Too funny School House Rock

******

Lots of talk about learning a new language to keep busy.

πŸ˜€

So I learned a new phrase.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGood night to some. Good morning to others…
Posted Feb-11-09 22:50:24 PST Updated Feb-12-09 13:14:59 PST

Good slumbers and happy dreams
With faery kisses bring soft breezes
May your worries be less than they seem
And may tomorrow bring a day that pleases

——

Some folks live their whole lives “dancing” in other folks “shoes”

It’s the lucky ones who “dance” in their own.

Good night or good morning to you Gentle Reader

Where ever you go?

May you have someone to fly with

AuthorAnn

2/11/09

Next?Elizabeth Gilbert

Comment|Report this post
4 commentsElizabeth Gilbert
Posted Feb-11-09 21:41:46 PST Updated Feb-12-09 13:08:34 PSTArtistry will always walk hand in hand with mental instability?

Naw… but this is an interesting speech…

Who knew though all these words come from “mooses”.

LOL It’s okay I know it’s “muses”.

but

“…rubbing faery juice on their projects and stuff…”

Oh you got my attention with that statement.

Not going to comment on the content of this video Just thought folks might be interested in taking a listen.

Elizabeth Gilbert author Eat, Pray, Love.

From the YouTube annotation

Eat, Pray, Love” Author Elizabeth Gilbert muses on the impossible things we expect from artists and geniuses — and shares the radical idea that, instead of the rare person “being” a genius, all of us “have” a genius. It’s a funny, personal and surprisingly moving talk.
TEDTalks is a daily video podcast of the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world’s leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes. Featured speakers have included Al Gore on climate change, Philippe Starck on design, Jill Bolte Taylor on observing her own stroke, Nicholas Negroponte on One Laptop per Child, Jane Goodall on chimpanzees, and “Lost” producer JJ Abrams on the allure of mystery. TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, Design, and TEDTalks cover these topics as well as science, business, development and the arts. Watch the Top 10 TEDTalks on TED.com,

Next?

Ah a new avi?

Now I’m gonna go catch a poem by the tail…

Actually that’s kind of my same experience. Things come home fully formed.

For Elizabeth G and her Mooses

The words do come fully formed

Like a lovely yet sometime weedy garden

Only I get to decide what are the weeds

And which are the flowers.

So I caught that poem by it’s tail

I swug it round and round

Threw the words against the wall

Then stomped them on the ground

No pit of dark and deep dispair

Would beat my story down

Gentlly it would rise up

From the mire upon the ground

The words they rose like the butterfly wings

Round and round my head they’d fly

To live in some enchanted land

Then come back. I don’t know why.

Then weave themselves into a cloak

The color of a summer sky

Or deeper blue. A blue berry blue

From the oceans of tears I’d cried

So here — it’s yours to keep you warm

Traveler’s coat with faery wings.

To fly you to ephemeral lands

Where imaginations sing.

2/11/09

AuthorAnn

Then leave I’m not sure why

They’d come back fully formed

After living in the sky

They’d come and bring me home.

Next?Ah a new avi?

\

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsAh a new avi?
Posted Feb-11-09 18:00:40 PST Updated Feb-11-09 18:28:39 PSTIs it true?

Can it be?

Is there hope?

Is he back int the building.

Fan fare ready?

No in very smal voice. But I think that maybe, just maybe Tryork maybe in the building. He changed his avi to guy with bee beard.

Hurray for complete sentences. Hurray for multiple meanings. Hurray!!! Random facts

It’s Valentine’s Day soon.

I’ve been told I need to express my femine sexual side.

Why?

I’m politicing for roses and chocolates because I’m a traditionalist and I’m celibate.

Thought I’d sit here posting on 12 dogs in my tshirt. Period.

WB just told walked by and told me to put my shirt on.

Why?

I dunno’.

So I’m going to watch this video to get all positive about Valentine’s Day.

You know me (well actually you don’t, It’s a phrase).

You don’t know me but I have questions.

Is it wrong what is being done to chocolate in this video?

Recon the guy in this video is celibate too?

Maybe he wants to go out with a writer from the US?

Is it wrong what I’ll be doing later tonight on another blog? 12:30 Eastern 11:30 Central.

Here’s a video You decide.

As for me? Nope. Good clean fun here.

I’m politicing for roses and chocolates because I’m a traditionalist and I’m celibate.

I’ve already got the earrings. I might go for the matching necklace.

Ah the sound of Love and this perfect book…

For actual political stuff?

Dear folks who are saying Americans are spin thrifts…

and then tell them to go out and spend…

Comment|Report this post
1 commentDear folks who are…
Posted Feb-11-09 17:16:43 PST Updated Feb-12-09 13:09:50 PST…calling Americans wasteful and not good stewards of their money.

I thought this video was a cute way to explain just were the money goes…

And I’m being positive too! πŸ˜€

Now for the grownups. LOL I swear. This just gets funnier and funnier.

Yup. If I were a Senator or Representative, I’d blame the evil “lobbyist” too. I really would. All those evil lobbyist fault. Those evil men and women of Kstreet fame went in there and forced those poor innocent Senators and Representatives to vote for or against that stimulus bill (house or senate bill depending)…

Nope.

See that would be like blaming your “dealer” for selling/giving you a “fix”.

Once your state gets “hooked” on federal funding to pay for social programs?

Your state is “hooked”. Which means when the fed money dries up the state budget takes over. More taxes one way or the other. Once your state has committed to taking funding or accepting a particular program? Your state is “hooked”.

I’m being positive about that too.

Like robbing Peter to pay Paul.

And I can see Aesop too.

Frogs and the Cranes come to mind.

Actually the old story of how you boil a frog comes to mind too.

Next?

LOL. Too funny School House Rock

******

Lots of talk about learning a new language to keep busy.

πŸ˜€

So I learned a new phrase.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsLOL. Too funny School House Rock
Posted Feb-11-09 11:45:48 PST Updated Feb-11-09 12:06:54 PSTBut don’t read here. It might be political.

For those folks who say 12 dogs is just not positive and uplifting.

How’s this. Alittle ditty to help us all learn.

Now for the grownups.

Lost in conference. Honk if you don’t like the stimulus package.

That bill with the really crappy support? Emails of unhappy still rule the day..

Matter of fact there aren’t as many folks to email and well I heard Sen. Reid say alot of them are new.

So. Email away if you don’t like what you see.

And remember It’ aint a bill until it’s signed into law.

Right?

Sigh.

I heard a rumor.

A rumor that said that the governors are screaming for this federal money like a “junkie” screaming for a “quick fix”. If this is true? What do you do if you are a Senator or a Representative who’s getting lots of emails telling them to vote no but back home they’re screaming for that “quick fix”.

Interesting.

I guess you make speeches about the evil stimulas package and how you’re against it but wait there’s a majority and what can you do? You did fight the good fight. Now stop yer winning and bend over and get used to it. The evil opposition is in charge. Hate the insert the otherside’s name here depending on who you like but who you… So ya’ll hate each other while we just take a few thou in taxes to pay the “dealer”…

You get the idea.

I’m just brainstorming here.

Then you find three Senators. Show them the federal dollars and bingo

You got ” Lemmings.”

Keep emailing Mr. and Mrs. Tax Payer. That’s your tax dollars being spent. To pay for federal funding for social programs that will always need more funding.

Like I said. “…screaming like a “junkie” needing their “fix”…

Ironic that the reason why we had a surplus was President Bill Clinton of all people cutting the welfare rolls.

Ah don’t mind me. Like I said it was a rumor and I’m just sitting here wondering if it’s true or not.

And like the rest of the grownups.

We’re asking , “Dear Mr. Senator and Representative??”

I mean who reads me anyway?

Next up LOST IN COMMITTEEEEEEEEEEEE

Kind of like Lost in Space only only in Washington.

Oh and hey could you just sign my petition to save a ” Lemmings.”?

Thanks

12dogs

We’re cutting through the “red tape” one inch at a time.

Comment|Report this post
9 commentsLemmings
Posted Feb-11-09 08:59:18 PST Updated Feb-11-09 10:52:57 PST”…The sad part is that the lemmings were actually thrown over the cliff by filmmakers more interested in gripping drama and a good story rather than the truth. Disney filmmakers bought the animals from Inuit children, chased them across the tundra filming them, and then ultimately took them hundreds of miles to a scenic cliff and tossed them over. Along the way, they earned an Oscar and appeared in hundreds of schools as an educational film.

You may wish you were only a classic lemming, but being an actual lemming is worse.,,,”

From the web article

Be an IT leader, not a lemming

http://74.125.47.132/search?q=cache:Z1Kw08eMJ0sJ:www.veryht.cn/index.php/article/e-commerce/2009-01-28/1487.html+photo+of+a+real+lemming+jumping+over+a+cliff&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=7&gl=us

I was just thinking about how folks made decisions…

Come on everybody.

After all–

He just got elected…

You know your guy does illogical things that are just plain ignorant.

You know he does but you still forgive him. Right? Even if he’s just —well— stupid.

But come on. Be positive forgive your politcian.

Lets all bury the hatchet, shake hands, and realize that politicians only care about one thing. Getting elected and (mmm that’s two things)

So okay let’s all bury the hatchet, shake hands and realize that politicians only care about two things. Getting elected and money and… (mm that’s three things isn’t it)

So. okay Let’s all just bury the hatchet and remember that most politicians would make Narcissis look selfless.

How’s that.

LOL

Look if you don’t like what I write? Free country. Don’t read. Personally I read all kinds of stuff. Some I like some I don’t but I read because of Free Speech and well you can learn alot from folks wheither you like what they say or not. That’s a realistic positive attitude.

Sorry no blog drama here. You’ll have to find someone else’s back to bury your hatchet in. If you don’t read 12 dogs? I’ll miss you but well this is my writer’s journal not my ego. I’m going to write what I want wheither you read or not.

I’m positive. πŸ˜€

Next up?

Medicaid and the stimulus package… 87 billion dollars to fund Medicaid? How is it going to reduce the cost of running one of the most expensive Fed/State social programs that the states have??

Just throwing money at it hasn’t worked…

(Above video is Erasure doing Stand By Your Man)

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsMedicaid and the stimulus package…
Posted Feb-10-09 13:55:54 PST Updated Feb-10-09 15:40:00 PST87 billion in additional funds for the Medicaid program.

There are 838 billion reasons why you should know about how your tax money is spent in the stimulus package.

Even if your job doesn’t require you to know it.

Your tax dollars pay for it.

.

FYI Medicaid

The following states use Medicaid dollars for in vitro fertilization.

http://www.statehealthfacts.org/comparemaptable.jsp?ind=492&cat=10

This last site has information 2008. It would be of interest since medical coverage is of issue in the current stimulas package AND it is of great interest to the states whose social programs do pay for these treatments.

There is a human face to government …

Note: I asked in NBNB’s post Octuplets, Take 15 if California medicaid paid for in vitro fertilization. The answer is yes it does.

BBL
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThere is a human face to government provided services.
Posted Feb-10-09 07:45:55 PST Updated Feb-11-09 10:11:21 PSTFolks were talking out here in Blogland, on the internet, and out in the world.

Out in the world?

There is a vote on leadership in Israel today. Who leads Israel will be decided.

Here in Blogland?

On Madcat’s blog

See How Your Senator Voted Yesterday…….

Over on NBNB’s blog

Octuplets, Take 15

The following articles are of interest on Octuplets, Take 15

This article is about the doctor who provided the medical services for Ms. Nadya Suleman.

http://www.startribune.com/lifestyle/health/39307472.html?elr=KArksD:aDyaEP:kD:aUnOiP3UiD3aPc:_Yyc:aUU

Ms. Suleman is the mother of the octuplets we’re talking about over on NBNB’s blog. Who her doctor was is talked about in this online article:

As to the question if the states pay?

http://www.statehealthfacts.org/comparemaptable.jsp?ind=492&cat=10

This last site has information 2008? It would be of interest since medical coverage is of issue in the current stimulas package AND it is of great interest to the states whose social programs do pay for these treatments.

Note if you haven’t been watching the speeches before the US Senate and the different commitees for our national legislature you can do so thanks to CSpan.

LOL This isn’t a commercial for CSpan. It’s just that these are the people we elect and hire to speak for us. Good to see what they’re up to.

After all there is a human face attached to this legislation.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsBut
Posted Feb-10-09 05:47:00 PST Updated Feb-10-09 07:48:28 PSTBut.

They now have a beginning.

And I have this morning seen the glimmer of sunshine over the horizon.

————————–

And from people out in the country I heard this song.

Dear Mr. Politician,

Are you kidding.

Are you guys kidding????

There is noway that the Senate is ready …

Thanks,

America

There is a human face to government provided services. It’s paid for by “We the People”

So the US Senate listened I think. And folks do indeed make a difference. Because I heard the news today about the Chinese automarket…

Now take a really deep breath. Have a seat and maybe I could try to explain a few things.

What I hear is people who are just sick of the BS. They want change sure. They’re patient as anyone could be under the circumstances. But the platitudes and the ideological in fighting isn’t going to change much if we don’t listen.

And first understand what we are hearing.

Cross posting today.

Everyday is a gift. And hasty work means extra work later.

In the moment folks. Please.

It’s we the people.

There is a way.

Oh and the words to the song above.

Sunshine
by Jonathan Edwards
Sunshine go away today,
I don’t feel much like dancin’
Some man’s gone, he’s tried to run my life
Don’t know what he’s askin’

He tells me I’d better get in line
Can’t hear what he’s sayin’
When I grow up, I’m gonna make it mine
These ain’t dues I been payin’

How much does it cost? I’ll buy it.
The time is all we’ve lost. I’ll try it.
He can’t even run his own life,
I’ll be damned if he’ll run mine
Sunshine

Sunshine go away today,
I don’t feel much like dancin’
Some man’s gone, he’s tried to run my life
Don’t know what he’s askin’

Working starts to make me wonder where
fruits of what I do are going
He says in love and war all is fair
He’s got cards he ain’t showin’

How much does it cost? I’ll buy it.
The time is all we’ve lost. I’ll try it.
He can’t even run his own life,
I’ll be damned if he’ll run mine
Sunshine

Sunshine come on back another day
I promise you I’ll be singin’
This old world she’s gonna turn around
brand new bells’ll be ringin’
Comment|Report this post
Page 4 of 7 Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

