Jan 2009 pg1

Archive – January 20090 commentsPlease stand by
Posted Jan-30-09 20:54:57 PST Updated Jan-31-09 16:17:33 PSTTechnical difficulties

We are currently consulting on a storyline. Please enjoy this lovely Elevator Music video while you are waiting. No we don’t know how long it will be. No we don’t know if we’ll even be back shortly. We might not be back at all tonight and won’t be back untill tomorrow. Yes we think that Harry Conick Jr. is hot. Yes we think that Rene Zellweger is a great American. The quality of a person’s acting, much like the opinion a person would have about the quality of the performance of an actor, like Mr. Harry Connick Jr.or an award winning actress like Ms. Renee Zellweger is a matter of personal opinion. Well yes, we do hope folks will read what we write. Honestly though, we’re surprised that anyone actually even reads our blog little alone actually takes our advice on wheither the sky is blue much less give a rats petudy what we think about any movie little lone movies by great American thespians like Harry Connick Jr. and Renee Zellweger. Yes, we do love movies and do hope to write more movie reviews about movies acted in by great Americans like Harry Connick Jr. and Renee Zellweger.

Now here’s that Elevator Music that we promised you. We will be back when we can. Until then please enjoy the fine, fine movies that many great Americans like Harry Connick Jr. and Renee Zellweger have made in this great country.

God bless America.

Thank you.

Auntie Slacker’s fictional nephew Lawyer Bruce.

Now Elevator Music.

Please stand by.

Or enjoy more of 12 dogs with the lovely AuthorAnn @ Happy weekend, Gentle Reader.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHappy weekend, Gentle Reader.
Posted Jan-30-09 14:49:26 PST Updated Jan-30-09 21:40:29 PSTHappy weekend Gentle Reader. How about you and me go get a soda and then go see a movie this weekend. Last weekend I saw Last Chance Harvey on a whim. Turned out to be a good thing as Dustin Hoffman, Emma Thompson, Kathy Baker, Richard Schiff, Liane Balaban and James Brolin really did the words of writer/director Joel Hopkins good. Actually it’s the acting that makes this movie.

So this weekend?

Who knows? The Oscars are up soon so we should we seeing more of Oscar hopefuls both in the theater and in DVD form.

The last ten days have been about politics here at 12 dogs and I expect that won’t change next week. But we do other stuff as well.

This weekend it’s The Truth About Cats and Dogs and a movie about the artist Cezanne at home and then maybe Bride Wars in the movie theater. I try to save the movie theater experience for “big screen pop corn movies” or for when the idea of dressing up and going out in the world keeps my life sane. This is one of those weekends. So I’m gonna take a long bath, eat green salads, break out the perfume, the pink sweater, and then go see my true guilty pleasure. I’m going to see a chic flick comedy with no pretense of being “art”. It’s just funny. A physical comedy that’s like The Three Stooges– for women. Gonna laugh.

So how about a movie?

Happy weekend. and happy reading,

AuthorAnn

Next?

That somewhere in an alternate universe…

Free speech and politics

Yeah I know but well I hope …

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI hope
Posted Jan-30-09 06:03:36 PST Updated Feb-03-09 06:25:44 PSTI hope that what you read here today at 12 dogs makes you think.

I really do.

Oh and if I could? I’d love to sit down and drink a beer (or in my case lemonaid) with Obama. I really would. He seems like a nice guy. I’m not out to trash anyone about their support of Obama or his policies or promote my own. This isn’t that kind of blog.

I hope that this post gets you involved and to think about your own views on politics and the solutions to the world’s problems.

Also there’s a vote for another stimulas package. I’m hoping you’ll wonder why?

If you are from New Hampshire?

I hope that you call your Senator Judd Gregg and ask him why he thinks that you voted for him in the first place. Especially if you are a Republican in that state. If he were to take the Comerce job that would mean that his seat would be given to a Democrat. From his party’s perspective does that make sense?

I hope that you make that call.

And while you are at it?

I hope

.

You are asking your self why the US Senate will be trying to pass yet another stimulas package that not one of the Republicans in the US House voted for.

I hope

You are asking yourself why folks are voting for another stimulas package when the ink’s barely dry on the one voted for last Fall?

I hope

That when folks say hey let’s give the new guy a chance to figure things out when he said in the primaries and the general election that he knew the answers to life’s questions then. These problems where well known during the primaries. When Democrats questioned his change in say his policy in Iraq from his views in the primaries to a wait and see in the general election. Senator Clinton’s view had not. Folks in the Democratic party then asked if it was a lack of understanding of world politics on Senator Obama’s part. That perhaps he wasn’t ready. That’s why Senator Biden was supposedly brought in as vice president. Senator Biden was supposed to have brought in political experience on international policy.

I don’t mind giving the new guy a chance. Thing is that “Give the new guy a chance! after hearing all the promised experience in the primaries and general election sounds more like an excuse.

I hope it makes you agrivated enough to call or email your US Representative or Senator.

I hope that it makes you want to tell them how things are with you and your economic situation.

I hope that it makes you ask for — no — demand an explaination of what is in the stimulas package and to tell you why they are voting the way they are voting.

That’s their job.

They aren’t our mommies or daddies.

They are grown men and women who speak our choices so that we can stay at home and live our lives. I don’t want them to think for me. I do want them to give us and our country the best representation they can.

I hope that it makes you ask the question,

“Where in the heck is the last stimulas package being spent?

Seriously.

I’ll bet you can account for where 100 dollars goes in your life.

For sure you could spend wisely a 1000 dollars, a 100 thousand dollars, even one million…

Where did the millions go from the last stimulas package that we now need a new one?

Accounting for where the money goes is part of the Federal goverment’s job.

Congress? Where’s it going?

If you are going to sit up at night? I hope that you spend it wondering where your taxes are going. Not how you can help that guy on TV get rich.

I hope I make you angry enough to do something.

Like call you Congressman or Congresswoman and ask the question,

“What in the heck are you doing anyway?”

Now listen.

I don’t hate Obama and I don’t want to overthrow the government.

I like free speech.

Also politicians in the US Legislature have a responsibility to spend our tax dollars wisely.

That’s their job.

Pork barrell spending in this day and age? Gosh you’d think the “newly minted citizen” Mr. Ferguson would be doing some “heart felt monologues about government spending and folks who watch his show losing their jobs.

I would.

Naw. He’s too busy playing with his puppets to give much attention to the economy.

Kind of reminds me of a preschooler. Or a grown man with PeterPan Syndrome..

The economy. Yeah. Wondering about it?

Let’s start with the past 10 days.

How about we talk about Free speech and politicians

Oh hey before ya’ go. About that 16 month time line to exit from Iraq…

If you are a supporter of Senator Clinton, heck if you are Senator Clinton, I hope that you ask yourself, “Wha’ the heck?” when you find out that Samantha Power’s new job title might be Senior director of Mulilateral Affairs in the National Security Council. I’m all for being grownups but do you suppose when Ms. Power says she wants to bury the hatchet, it will be in Secretary of State Clinton’s rear end.

I hope that you think about how you’d feel if someone who called you monster was going to be named to a high level job in your side of the government. Not to mention that while Secretary of State Condi Rice was pretty much running her own show? Sen. Clinton’s department has been spayed and neutered. Remember that the Middle East is now over seen by George Mitchell.

Now it might scream figure head where Senator Clinton is concerned. I’m just hoping for her sake that the figure head isn’t on a metaphorical “pike”. The economy is in enough trouble without paying an employee who’s only there symbolically. Like to serve tea to the wives of foreign heads of state and throw dinner parties.

And if you thought that a 16month time line to pull out of Iraq was writ in stone?

I’m not stupid nor are you. But the folks that are being appointed to oversee and advise the new president on foreign policy seem to me to have “silver tongues” and “lead shoes”.

The last administration claimed to have the inside track on responsible leadership in Iraq and Afghanistan too. If these are the new advisors to the President I don’t think that we’ll be going anywhere in the next 16 months. No offense to George Mitchell but he didn’t talk President Bush out of Iraq nor did he unify Ireland. I don’t see much promise for his leadership in the Middle East.

By the way, the peace in Ireland was brought about by two Irish housewives. One was a Protestant and the other was a Catholic. Both said that their families had enough of the “troubles”. It was their “mother’s march” that brought change not the work of a diplomat. Well that and the economic prosperty that the “Celtic Tiger” brought to the Republic in the late 90’s.

Ah diplomacy.

I’m afraid it’s time to bring out those copies of The Prince.

If you don’t have a copy already, I’m sure someone on eBay will have one you can buy

I’d also like to remind the folks reading that I’m not using foul language, speaking what I know to be false, I’m not advocating the over throw of the government, nor am I speaking mean about the president. I am asking though what in the heck folks are using for logic.

Especially since these folks seem to be pretty good in the arts of passive aggressive speech.

Except for Samantha Power. My understanding was that she quit because she called then presidential candidate Clinton a “monster” while being interviewed in London during the presidential campaign. Nothing passive aggressive about that comment from what I remember.

Still how many employees of the Secretary of State does it take to screw in a light bulb anyhow?

I hope that you’d wonder that yourself.

The economy. Yeah. Wondering about it?

Let’s start with the past 10 days.

How about we talk about Free speech and politicians

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGood morning and serious business
Posted Jan-30-09 05:36:59 PST Updated Jan-30-09 05:50:17 PSTSorry but the economic news for folks being layed off isn’t good.

There is no way I’m going to give one nanosecond of voice to a late night talkshow host.

Especially one who says he’s above board, honest, and cares for his viewers and then compares people who are over weight to hippos who would eat people and kept his 26 year old girl friend hidden away. Now his best shot isn’t writing it’s a halfbaked puppet show. If I’m going to spend time watching puppets Jim Henson reruns from 1975 Saturday Night Live reruns are better. And at least topical. Speaking of topical my hemorrhoid blog was more to the point.

So the interactive story is no longer here.

I will be writing though. A few ground rules.

I don’t hate Obama and I don’t want to overthrow the government.

I like free speech.

Also politicians in the US Legislature have a responsibility to spend our tax dollars wisely.

That’s their job.

Pork barrell spending in this day and age? Gosh you’d think the “newly minted citizen” Mr. Ferguson would be doing some “heart felt monologues about government spending and folks who watch his show losing their jobs.

I would.

Let’s start with the past 10 days.

For day nine: Free speech and politicians

Comment|Report this post
1 commentHiya. I’ve just about got the thing sorted.
Posted Jan-29-09 14:27:36 PST Updated Jan-29-09 17:41:41 PSTBut until I say something different, consider this a beta version of this week’s 12 dogs.

You can try it.

Political week in review (if life were a game show) is here…

And a good ole’ fast read interactive story about my experiences at the I’m Bored and My Boss Is An A$$ Poker games begins here with a note from AuthorAnn…

Just don’t feel bad or get mad at me if you get lost. I still haven’t checked all the links yet.

Sorry.

InternJack

Note:

You know there’s alot to read here. I always try to have something new each day for you to read Gentle Reader. From my own experiences with reading blogs, it’s no fun to read a post without new posts each day.

I’m going to just be straight with you.

I’m not going to post anything here at 12 dogs for the next week.

Literally.

There’s plenty to read and even if I’ve missed a link or two in the interactive story?

Well that might be fun. Right?

Happy reading and I hope that you have a good weekend and happy next week too.

Ann

No more new posts until next Tuesday or maybe Wednesday.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsOh what a sordid web tale we weave…(an interactive blog tale)
Posted Jan-29-09 11:47:54 PST Updated Jan-30-09 21:52:33 PSTWell it started out to be a lovely day. I left 12 dogs in what I thought was the very capable hands of InternJack our “summer intern” who just never left. Auntie Slacker likes him because he’ll put up with her snits. I just needed someone who could work cheap.

So this morning off I go to play hooky.

What happened next is a bit murky.

The official tale from Jack began with a polite Good morning!

But–

The sordid tale that Auntie Slacker told me that Jack told her was slightly more adventurous.

I know that Auntie likes to – oh- “dress up” her stories a bit but well part of it I was an eye witness to. I tend to believe Auntie.

You’ll just have to judge for yourself.

InternJack promises me that he’ll have that “week in review” piece for the new President by tomorrow morning.

When he finishes it I’ll post the link here…

In the mean time?

If you’d just like to skip the whole sordid mess about InternJack and read something lovely?

I’d read this

For day nine: Free speech and politicians

From this post you can get to the rest of this week’s 12 dog posts. This week’s theme is Gameshows that should of been –but wait– they are!! (Sort of…)

Hope you have a great day.

Thanks and hugs.

Author Ann

Does anyone know what I can do with 4 Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia, three lip-synching alien puppets, a lip-synching cat complete with engineer, a mechanical singing goat, one intern in black leather, one floor manager from a late night talk show, and one newly minted American and newly married husband originally from Scotland? I’m pretty sure I’ve got a place lined up for the “alien puppets” and the floor manager. The intern’s got a job/

But what in heck do I do with the newly minted American and newly married husband originally from Scotland?

Maybe David Letterman will take him back…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI’m growing an avocado tree in my waste basket
Posted Jan-29-09 11:47:18 PST Updated Jan-29-09 12:56:37 PSTThis isn’t code for anything. I really am growing an avocado tree in my waste basket. Actually all I have at this moment is an avocado pit and a waste basket. But as soon as I get some potting soil, I am going to grow an avocado tree in my waste basket.

And now for a look at those Four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia

Maybe you should go back to 12 dogs
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsDay one. Gameshows that should be but–wait–they are. Sort
Posted Jan-29-09 11:44:19 PST Updated Jan-30-09 06:26:14 PSTAre we out of Iraq yet?

Each morning President ‘s clock wakes him with the sound of Bart Simpson’s voice yelling, “Are we out of Iraq yet?” And then the sound of Homer’s voice saying, “He does know that there’s no money tree out in the Rose Garden doesn’t he?”

I’m not sure still how exactly this is a gameshow but I do think it’s a good idea that any president wakes up to the words,”Are we out of Iraq yet?”

And I like this song.

Mr. Music, please

Altogether now

Hey Mr. President ?

“Are we out of Iraq yet?”

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGovernor of Illinois
Posted Jan-29-09 11:43:51 PST Updated Jan-30-09 06:59:35 PSTLOL. Boy those folks in Illinois. Wow.

I mean if they’d just stuck to Mayor Daily’s political words of wisdom, “Vote early and vote often.” there would have never been this mess in the first place.

From here I’m sending you back to the most current 12 dogs post.

Later.

Ann

Next?

I hope

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsLast Chance Harvey
Posted Jan-29-09 11:41:52 PST Updated Jan-30-09 21:35:15 PSTThis movie is a really fine short story. A life time told within 24 hours.

An example of beautifully nuanced acting, Dustin Hoffman plays Harvey Shine, a composer and father who’s come to London to see his daughter marry. As the movie begins, Harvey is a man “at the end of his rope”. In the 24 hours surrounding his daughter’s marriage we see Harvey’s past as he interacts with the members of the wedding party and how his past interactions with them has led him to be marginalized from the people that he loves. It would seem that life had moved on and left him.

When he misses his flight and then loses his job it’s as if his life?

It is over.

Then he meets Kate played by Emma Thompson.

Last Chance Harvey is a beautifully told and acted short story of a movie that takes place during 24 hours of Harvey and Kate’s life.

But I as I watched and cried and then laughed through this movie, there was this very somber thought that kept nagging, “In an age when the “24 hours” in a character’s life means wondering week after week if Kieffer Sutherland’s Jack Bauer is going to get blown up? Is there a place for a gently acted but no less dramatic story?

Last Chance Harvey stars

Dustin Hoffman

Emma Thompson

Liane Balaban

James Brolin

Kathy Baker

Richard Schift

directed and written by Joel Hopkins

Limited release December 25, 2008

Wide release January 16, 2009

Bottom line?

There are alot of things this movie is not.

Except for a life altering traffic jam on the way to Heathrow, you’ll not see the “24 style Jack Bauer” car crashes or explosions in this 24 hours of Harvey and Kate’s life. But what happens in their life will change them much more than anything that happens in Jack’s. Nor is Last Chance Harvey some celebrity driven, “flavor of the month” PR movie for the current “heart throb” or a “chic flick” that only women will enjoy. True it’s a romance and the actor and actresses are well known. The thing is that Harvey and Kate’s life could happen to anyone of us. And to me, that’s what makes the movie interesting. The actors and actresses have taken what could have been the story of failures or jerks and “whispered” life into them. You care what happens to Harvey and Kate. At the end of this movie you give a damm and you’re better for having paid attention. Like an exceptional artist, these actors and actresses have indeed “drawn the perfect circle”.

Hannah Montana it is not.

Last Chance Harvey is a really good story about a man and woman who think that life is over but find out that they are really lives in transition.

And that, Gentle Reader, is a 24 hours that we can all appreciate.

I’d take your sweety to see it on Valentine’s Day.

12 dogs gives it 12 Woofs and a shake of the tail.

XXX and OOO,

Auntie Slacker.

Now back to Happy weekend, Gentle Reader.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI’m Bored and My Boss is an A$$ Poker Game. Interns and Writer’s welcome.
Posted Jan-29-09 11:25:37 PST Updated Jan-29-09 12:17:54 PST

“I’ll see your yodeling, lipsyncing, “alien monkey puppet” and raise you

a whole group of Tuvan Throat Singing Mongolians.

LOL Admit it…

Four of a kind Tuvan Throat singers beats a lipsynching “alien monkey puppet” anyday. (Even if it was yodeling.)

Good morning!!

And so our tale begins.

The sorry tale of Intern Jack…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGood morning!
Posted Jan-29-09 11:21:10 PSTToday’s blogposts

(Read this entire post before you go clicking anything, InternJack)

For day nine: Free speech and politicians

Help wanted. Inquire inside.

The art of the deal.

And one that you might have missed yesterday

Day eight: Gameshows that should be but-wait- the are. Kind of…

Tomorrow will be a review of the new President’s first nine days in office.

I would have done the first seven days but the stupid Fed held their meeting on day seven and well considering how the economy was going…

Kind of stole the new Presidents traditional first seven days review.

Sorry

We’ll do it tomorrow okay.

Take care.

Auntie Slacker

(Actually it’s InternJack. Auntie is off at some breakfast thing with the Red Hats…)

Oh yeah, There’s some really good dance music on this post.

All the songs are by Lou Bega. If you don’t know him there are enough videos so that you will.

Advice if you’re new to 12 dogs. Just start with the very first post and keep clicking the blue posts til you get to the words, ” Okay this is the last post for today the rest of the blog is really under construction. Intern Jack.” That way you don’t have to click back and forth so much and the blog entries will make sense. At 12 dogs it’s all about “flow” and ” context”. DO NOT just read it chronologicallly or you’ll miss the point.

This blog has a tendency to morph.

You can miss stuff.

If you get sent off the blog to other places here at eBay or the internet? Don’t panic. You just back track to the last blog post you were on @ 12 dogs. There are only a couple of place that will happen.

Two links send you to CVR and Blue Water’s blog here on eBay. One link sends you to Wikipedia (yeah even we use Wikipedia if it’s expedient.) for a short bio of Molly Ivins. I wasn’t sure if you knew who she was. I figured you’d know who Rush and John Stewart were so there was no need for further comment.

You’re smart. You’ll figure it out. If not? You really shouldn’t be reading this.

Okay that’s about it.

I’ve got stuff to do today.

If anyone sees Tryork could you please ask him, “Where the heck have you been?”

Otherwise?

We’re gone for today.

Intern Jack

Next click here…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGreetings from the My Boss is an A$$ Poker Game
Posted Jan-29-09 11:07:56 PST Updated Jan-29-09 12:24:20 PSTSo here I sit.

AuthorAnn glarin’ daggers in my direction and me checking to see if I still had money to pay the rent.

The decision of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker… is expected shortly.
I’m pretty sure that it’ll be long and windy.

I’d eat lunch and take a leak before you sit down to listen to it.

We’ll see.

InternJack

Who is at the moment:

Intern @12 dogs and blog,

correspondent for the I’m Bored and My Boss is an A$$ Poker Game–Interns versus Writers,

and one of the folks in the middle of all this…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsthe decision of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker…
Posted Jan-29-09 11:03:38 PST Updated Jan-29-09 12:28:17 PSTAs you know, in a CONTROVERSIAL move, the last hand of the I”m Bored and my Boss is an A$$ Poker Game–Intern versus Writers was contested.

It was alleged that it was not one lip-synching “alien puppet monkey” who was yodeling but in fact three lip-synching “alien puppets” yodeling and that did indeed trump 4 Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia.

The judges have now made their decision and are about to make a statement.

Let’s join them at the Supreme Court of All things Poker.

“Hello. and Welcome.

We the judges of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker have reviewed both the video tapes in question. After careful thought and serious debate we have come to the following decision.

It is the decision of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker that the rules on this matter are clear. While we find three lip synching “alien puppets” highly entertaining, anyone with half a brain knows that four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia will always beat three lip-synching “alien puppets”. This is true even if the three lip-synching, “alien puppets” are a lip-synching “alien monkey puppet”, a lip-synching “alien shark puppet”, and a lip-synching “alien dinosaur puppet”.

We want to be clear on this.

However, we have determined that neither the four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia nor the three lip-synching “alien puppets” are the winners of this hand. You see neither is more entertaining than a lip-synching boss, what looks to be the stage manager, and a fellow intern dressed in black leather to yodel on national television.

As evidenced in the following video

And we are unanamous on that point.

But even as entertaining as it was to imagine that someone was clever enough to get their boss, the floor manager, and a fellow intern to lip-synching yodeling on national television, even as entertaining as it was to watch four Tuvan Throat singers from Mongolia on 12 dogs, AND even as entertaining as it was to see a lip synching “alien monkey puppet” yodeling? We, the judges of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker have decided

None of this was powerful enough to beat this

The winner?

This is the unanimous vote of the Judges of the Supreme Court of All Things Poker.

Thank you”

Well that’s it. The judges did indeed render their decision. For those of you who were wondering. AuthorAnn’s winning hand was a YouTube video of the “patron saints of lip synching”, Milli Vanilli in their Carefree Sugarless Gum commercial.

The next hand will begin shortly.

Till then the rest of today at 12 dogs or how today should have gone.

Good morning!

Whatever path you take I suggest that you read

For day nine: Free speech and politicians

Thanks.

Back to Blogland

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsCONTROVERY !!
Posted Jan-29-09 10:26:23 PST Updated Jan-30-09 22:01:24 PSTIt just got worse

After hearing the appeal that four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia DID INDEED beat three lip-synching “alien puppets” on a late night talkshow. One of the other contestants also appealed. Saying that, “…surely getting your boss, the floor manager in a green lame’ jacket, and an intern to lip-synch yodeling on national late night television show beats those lip-synching “alien puppets” and those four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia…I mean after all this is the I’m Bored and My Boss is An A$$ Poker Game… Weellll????”

The following YouTube video was entered as evidence.

Well after that all heck broke loose and the engineer with the yodeling cat and the woman with the “puppet goat” who could yodel the Lonely Goatherder Song from the Sound of Music started b#tching and ….

The entire hand was called into question.

This really kind of pizzed me off. I really wanted those puppets and I’d promised the late night TV talkshow host for Valentine’s Day..

Oh and AuthorAnn was there… . I always thought that AuthorAnn was such a nice woman.

Who knew she could swear like that?

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsCONTROVERSY @ The I’m Bored and My Boss is an A$$ Poker Game–Intern verses Writers
Posted Jan-29-09 09:25:04 PST Updated Jan-29-09 12:54:20 PSTNext thing I knew there was a camera up my nose and some reporter from ESPN Extreme Games saying–

“In an startling turn of events. The results of the last hand of the I’m Bored and My Boss is an A$$ Poker Game –Interns versus writers has been contested!!!

In the following YouTube video (1:35 minute mark)–

It is obvious that it’s not JUST a lip-synching “alien monkey puppet” yodeling but is in fact a lip-synching “alien monkey puppet”, a lip-synching “alien shark puppet”, AND a lip-synching “alien dinosaur puppet—yodeling. It has been alleged that three lip-synching “alien puppets” yodeling does indeed beat 4 Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia.

The judges will review this new video and the video of Four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia and render their ruling shortly…

In the mean time, cups, caps, and t-shirts for the I’m Bored and My Boss IS an A$$ Poker Game–Interns verses Writers are for sale in the lobby here at eBay.

Thank you.”

So I called my friend Jason to ask him if he’d seen me on ESPN and how did I look. It was Jason who said,

“Uh, Jack. Are you even supposed to be there?

What if AuthorAnn finds out?? !!

Ann’s not Auntie. Jack, if AuthorAnn finds out she’ll fire your’ A$$.”

He had a point…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI’m Bored And My Boss is an A$$ Intern/writer Poker. Random and obscure 12 dogs.
Posted Jan-29-09 06:54:21 PST Updated Jan-29-09 13:03:16 PSTAnd I did indeed bet my Tuvan Throat Singing Mongolians…

What I actually said was:

“I’ll see your yodeling, lipsyncing, “alien monkey puppet” and raise you

a whole group of Tuvan Throat Singing Mongolians.

LOL Admit it…

Four of a kind Tuvan Throat singers beats a lipsynching “alien monkey puppet” anyday. (Even if it was yodeling.)

InternJack”

So sure that I’d won that hand I left a note for you Gentle Reader saying:

“Next?

Today’s blog posts.

Good morning!(good Jack)

Cya”

Intern Jack.

Little did I know that all hell was fixin’ to break loose at The I’m Bored and My Boss an A$$ Pokergame ….

Which I was only suppose to report on for 12 dogs not actually play in…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsGood morning.
Posted Jan-29-09 05:59:53 PST Updated Jan-29-09 13:10:05 PSTSee!!

I calmly wrote the following blog…

Today’s blogposts

(Read this entire post before you go clicking anything, InternJack)

For day nine: Free speech and politicians

Help wanted. Inquire inside.

The art of the deal.

And one that you might have missed yesterday

Day eight: Gameshows that should be but-wait- the are. Kind of…(Uh like I said don’t until you’ve read the entire post okay)

Tomorrow will be a review of the new President’s first nine days in office.

I would have done the first seven days but the stupid Fed held their meeting on day seven and well considering how the economy was going…

Kind of stole the new Presidents traditional first seven days review.

Sorry

We’ll do it tomorrow okay.

Take care.

Auntie Slacker

(Actually it’s InternJack. Auntie is off at some breakfast thing with the Red Hats…)

Oh yeah, There’s some really good dance music on this post. (no, no, no. you’ll get lost from here and I won’t be able to find you. Jack)

All the songs are by Lou Bega. If you don’t know him there are enough videos so that you will.

Advice if you’re new to 12 dogs. Just start with the very first post and keep clicking the blue posts til you get to the words, ” Okay this is the last post for today the rest of the blog is really under construction. Intern Jack.” That way you don’t have to click back and forth so much and the blog entries will make sense. At 12 dogs it’s all about “flow” and ” context”. DO NOT just read it chronologicallly or you’ll miss the point.

This blog has a tendency to morph.

You can miss stuff.

If you get sent off the blog to other places here at eBay or the internet? Don’t panic. You just back track to the last blog post you were on @ 12 dogs. There are only a couple of place that will happen.

Two links send you to CVR and Blue Water’s blog here on eBay. One link sends you to Wikipedia (yeah even we use Wikipedia if it’s expedient.) for a short bio of Molly Ivins. I wasn’t sure if you knew who she was. I figured you’d know who Rush and John Stewart were so there was no need for further comment.

You’re smart. You’ll figure it out. If not? You really shouldn’t be reading this.

Okay that’s about it.

I’ve got stuff to do today.

If anyone sees Tryork could you please ask him, “Where the heck have you been?”

Otherwise?

We’re gone for today.

Intern Jack

Next I advised, you, Gentle reader to click here… (don’t do it though cause you might get lost)

But well then alittle voice called me…

It was saying,” Come, InternJack. Come play I’m Bored and My Boss is an Ass Poker. You know that your boss IS an A$$. You know you that your video of four Tuvan Throat Singers from Mongolia (the one with the guy who looks like Jack Black) will beat that puny video of the lip-synching “alien puppet monkey” yodeling from the Late Late Show. You’ve written all today’s blogs, InternJack. You have PLENTY of time to do finish that review of the President’s first nine days in office and the Fed’s stupid. No one wants to see Fed Chairman Bernanke play US Federal Reserve Strip Polker. He might lose and we’d have to see him naked. NOOOOOOOO.!!!

Come on InternJack. You can do it. It’s just for this morning….”

So…I went to play alittle I’m Bored And My Boss is an A$$ poker…(<OKay you can click this post but only once. I'm in enough trouble already.)

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsFor day nine: Free speech and politicians
Posted Jan-28-09 18:27:10 PST Updated Feb-06-09 07:35:25 PST

"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances."

The First Amendment to the US Constitution.

(And printed on the Editorial page of newspapers across the country…)

And now the 12 dogs post for Day Nine:

Free Speech and Politicians

by Auntie Slacker

I remember hearing the story about a man who swatted his newly planted trees with a newspaper. Every morning this man would take his rolled up newspaper and would swat his newly planted trees. His neighbor saw him do this one Saturday morning. "Mr. Eugene." the neighbor asked, "Why in heaven's name do you swat your sapplings with a newspaper? Won't that hurt them?"

Mr. Eugene didn't look up from his morning swatting of the trees and replied, "Mr. Jones. I do this to make my trees stronger." Mr. Jones, in disbelief only uttered the one word, "What?"and then was silent. Mr. Eugene repeated what he'd just said "Mr. Jones." said a still swatting Mr. Eugene, " I do this to make my trees stronger." Only this time he added the words, " And I use the editorial pages emphasis the point."

Mr. Jones heard him that time but still only managed only the single word, "Why?"

Mr. Eugene stopped his swatting, walked over to the fence where Mr. Jones was standing, looked him right in the eye and said, "Free speech and young trees both grow stronger when they are challeged. Daily." With that Mr. Jones went back to swatting the young tree with his rolled up editorial section. But he did say one other thing, " I use the editorial section of the newspaper because it has the most important words ever written on the product of a tree.

"… the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances…"

Mr. Jones, free speech gets stronger if it is used daily."

And I agree.

Every day I write in this blog something of interest to me and hopefully to you too. Sometimes it is critical of the President. I don't hate the President. I really don't. He seems like a pretty nice guy. I don't in anyway wish him harm. But like Mr. Jones, I happen to think that our country and the office of the President grows stronger when we speak freely about the job that he or she is currently doing. I talk about the good but also the not good. I do it because I respect the president and the office. It makes our republic strong when we as citizens feel that we can speak our minds and ironically, I think, it makes our country peaceful. It's good to know that if we don't agree with what is being done we can say so. As long as we are telling the truth, not shouting "fire", speaking our opinions peacefully, and not trying to over throw the government?

It's okay.

It's not just okay. It's our first ammendment right and it makes our country stronger.

I'm sorry if there are folks who don't like for 12 dogs to be critical of the current administration. We don't do it lightly nor do we do it just to hear ourselves whine. We do it with the knowledge that unlike much of the world we are lucky. When we complain wheither in our blog or on that editorial page, we can do it with the knowledge that we are free to do so.

That is such a priviledge.

I think that President Obama would understand and agree.

Now, President Obama, about this economic stimulas plan…

This post is dedicated to CVR and SteveO and a post on CVR's blog.

http://blogs.ebay.com/cvr069/entry/SOMETHING-DONE-IS-BETTER-THAN/_W0QQcommentsyncidZ899374017QQidZ899244017

No, it's not always better to do something than nothing. The oath that physicians take, says to first do no harm. Heck even President Clinton said that if you're digging yourself into a hole? The first thing you to to rectify the situation is to stop digging.

Funny. I kind of think that President Obama would be happy to know that we all feel that we can speak our mind about what is going on in our country and in the world. That we are free to do so. At least I hope so.

We are very lucky to be Americans all.

"I think I like that…slapping young sapplings with the editorial section daily…."

I think I like that too.

It really does make sapplings and free speech stronger.

😀 Somewhere, Molly Ivins, Rush Limbaugh, and John Stewart are smiling right about now.

Ann

Next

Help wanted. Inquire inside.

Or there is the dark stormy thorny road less taken otherwise known as The Very informative tutorial allert

Don't go here unless you've got a note from your mamma

tee hee

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHelp wanted. Inquire inside.
Posted Jan-28-09 14:36:58 PSTWriting partner.

Should also be a writer.

Wanted writing partner to swap story ideas with. Fiction or Non-fiction writer okay. Must have sense of humor. Smart mouth and kind heart a must. Also, please, must have first and foremost a keen grasp of reality or if you are a guy? Your balls.

There's no pay for this job but I am expert at jumpstarting writers with writer's block.

No. That doesn't mean a bj if you are a male. It does mean that you are just a smart mouth with no heart if that's what you thought. Please be kind of NOT to inquire. I'd hold tight to those balls until you are safely out of my blog.

Don't worry if you can't spell (that's what spell check is for).

Must produce writing samples to prove that you are indeed a writer.

I had to do it so should you.

Email Author Ann here at ebay.

And you MUST have access to ebay email otherwise.. buh bye…

Or leave a comment if you can find my comments on.

Thanks.

Author Ann

Oh one other thing.

You must get on well with fictional characters. In particular Auntie Slacker and Intern Jack. And of course you should like my writing too as I am real and a bit of an arteest. Which means you should be familiar enough with 12 dogs to know I created said characters and would expect writing partners to like at least some of them.

To read examples of Author Ann's writing please click the following link:

The art of the deal.

This is also link to today's posts. (There are two posts by the way so don't just stop with this link. The posts are long but there is humor if you look for it. Ann)

Comment|Report this post
Page 1 of 5 Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

