july 2009 pg2

Archive – July 20090 commentsTime passages…
Posted Jul-11-09 18:04:38 PDTSo Gentle Reader, here’s a thought in the form of a question.

If you could go back in time??

And you met yourself coming?

Where would you be telling yourself to be going?

Hannah Murphy

Pup and I like to talk about the possibility and ramifications of time travel.

For me it’s a chance to keep the mind active and for Pup it’s an exercise in brain storming and imagination. It’s an abstract conversation for us. But there are times here in the blog, Gentle Reader. Times when I make a link to a past post that it seems more than random It seems more like an actual fated occurance. If you read back in the archives here you’ll see the notations where I’ve linked the present to the past. It’s an elegant accident at times. Something that I’ll write in the present will jog my memory of the past and they intersect.

But then?

With clarity, the past and present join together to tell another story.

Always though the past me and the present me are different. The path between the two seems often times to have been needed. But not always.

I’m sorry I haven’t written in a while. When I look back at the archives and realize how much I have written. How much time has passed? It gives a kind of vertigo. I feel alittle like RipVan Winkle. It’s just that I have so much to do in the present. Things to learn about the boat. I have to take a test! It’s important that I know this. I hope that you will forgive me.

That’s why I linked to the past. Something for you to reread while I was very busy. Then I found out that there was another story. A gentle story of love and friendships lost and found. I found it in the past. While looking to my future.

My little boat is taking me places I never dreamed of.

All good.

But while you are reading this next story I want you to think about something.

Where I’m from? It can get very hot in the Summer. So hot that some folks will get alittle sun silly and play Christmas carols in the middle of July. That coupled with WB’s love of Christmas music (he collects it year round) can have us doing some pretty sunsilly things ourselves.

For instance one year?

When the weather turned intollerable?…

We sang Christmas carols in the middle of August.

And thought about time passages…

I know. Song’s a bit on the whinny side.

What about James Taylor’s song. The Secret of Life. I’ve been trying to find it to post but not having much luck.

Maybe you can find it. “the secret of life is enjoying the passage of time…” I think that those are the lyrics. It’s a gentle song. You might think it smug.

Hmmm

Maybe you have a better choice.

Comments ON but hidden.

This is just the first post in a kind of interactive story where the past and the present and maybe the future intersect. From the next group of posts you can travel in time. To this morning, yesterday, last week, and even six months ago.

If you read just this post?

If you don’t take the blue links?

You’re going to miss alot.

Hope you enjoy the ride — I mean — the read.

I’m late and got to go.

Hugs,

AuthorAnn

Comment|Report this post
1 commentSo when the weather turned intollerable? Too hot? We sang Christmas carols.
Posted Jul-11-09 16:41:40 PDTFreebirds and the sound of Angel’s Wings are what I hear.

After all It’s 5 pm Friday. Somewhere

Might be a bit before I write again. We’re all okay. Just busy.

If you’re a fan of poetry? Take a look at Tryork5ifp’s blog (What’s your favorite poem.). Poetry is a funny business. So much said in so few words.

Well, I’ll see you when I see you.

Hugs,

AuthorAnn

I went to visit with my parents this week. It always gets me to thinking about the choices that I’ve made in my life. Some good. Some? Not so good. Some I made. Some made for me.

The next two poems might seem the same with different titles attached. But for three words they are worlds different. (Poems my AuthorAnn 11July,09. all rights reserved by author)

Twilight at the Gate

Sunset

The dogs barked.

And there he stood at the gate

Like magic

Grey hair and older

His eyes still the same colour

When he laughed

Or told a story

I could see him there inside

Like yesterday

Younger and full of it

When I could stand close and hear his breathing in the dark

But for six feet I could be there again

His heart next to mine

Such a long way six feet

Decades in the measure

Common sense standing at the gate

Saying,

“This way is folly.

The wind sings wicked here

The sound of songs should sound of breaking glass and hearts to you.

Go home to your responsibilities and leave this place.”

And yet I measure the distance between the here and there

Consider the possibilities looking for any purchase.

Measuring the joy with the peril.

Distance measured in years of loss and regret

Refugees in our on skin

No home till the moment

You once again stand at my gate singing …

“We’re on our way home.”

Who could after all this time

After all those years of being true and honorable to our responsibilities?

Deny us the last rays of this sunset. *

Hugs.

I saw him standing by my gate in the Moonlight

But for Three Words

Sunset

The dogs barked.

And there he stood at the gate

Grey hair and older

His eyes still the same colour

When he laughed

Or told a story

I could see him there inside

Like yesterday

Younger and full of it

When I could stand close and hear his breathing in the dark

But for 12 inches I could be there again

His heart next to mine

Such a long way 12 inches

Decades in the measure

Common sense standing at the gate

Saying,

“This way is folly.

The wind sings wicked here

The sound of songs should sound of breaking glass and hearts to you.

Go home to your responsibilities and leave this place.”

And yet we measure the distance between the here and there

Consider the possibilities looking for any purchase.

Measuring the joy with the peril.

Distance measured in years of loss and regret

Refugees in our on skin

No home till the moment

You once again stand at my gate singing …

“Were on our way home.”

Who could after all this time

After all those years of being true and honorable to our responsibilities?

Deny us the last rays of this sunset. *

But for three words.

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsIt’s 5 pm Friday. Somewhere
Posted Jul-10-09 13:17:27 PDT Updated Jul-10-09 13:28:40 PDT
So it’s been a weird day in Mr. Blogger’s Neighborhood,

Let’s start with

Dear Bot, Letter’s to Auntie Slacker

Unless of course

You are the writer that I met in the WalMart last Sunday… <If so, skip the letters and just go to this post.. I wrote a poem instead of a short story. You are correct. The world can use more poetry that talks about love and the optimistic side of life. That's why I wrote the poem and why I'm asking you to skip the post.

As for me?

I'm going to the boat.

For the next two days? I am not here.

In four days I'm going to see SB.

We'll see if he's going to still be SB or if he's decided he likes his days Ann free.

If so?

I dunno.

This had been one LOOOONNNNGGGGGG boring day.

I'm hiding out at the boat until it's over.

So why has it been a long day?

Eight years 7 months 10 days acouple of hours minutes and seconds is why.

Even this guy looks good

Argggghhhh

The guy driving the car not the kid.

Sheesh…

I'm truly sorry if I've been a pill or a jerk to anyone. I have an excuse.

Ann

Why is it…

Comments On but in hidden mode.

Insult to injury? It would seem that smark alecky WB (Walking Buddy not Writing Buddy) can "drive" my boat before I can. That's right. WB who took the test like you throw stuff against the wall untill you get it to stick. The jerk who didn't give a crup about the boat and didn't lift a finger to clean the boat or even find the boat has the okay to sail it before I do.

Eight years, 7 months, 11 hours, assorted minutes and seconds. And now he comes struting in to show me his certificate.

Oh no he doesn't.

Comment|Report this post
11 commentsWhy is it…
Posted Jul-10-09 05:09:33 PDT Updated Jul-10-09 12:51:58 PDT

This post IS NOT TYPICAL of my writing.

Today's post isn't it optimistic. Not at all.

Why is it…?

that men can have a "sex life" way into their 70's or 80's but women are supposed to put their's on the shelf at 50?

(Note to Tru and Sugaree. Thank you for the conversation. Enjoyed it. Hugs to you both. I have to go study for a test.

Tru I'm glad that your little one is okay. Same for your Doc. You too. Hugs.

Sugaree. I really did like the story that you posted today. Write your troubles in the sand. Write your good fortune in stone. Nice.

Will take your advice to heart.

Ann/IronChassis)

Below the fold.

Sexuality for women is complicated.

There are still men who think that "sex" is for the mistress and not for the wife. The "madonna wife". No not the Madonna wife. I'm talking here the "virgin" or "virtuous" wife. If you saw the comments, I mentioned a talk show host who wondered if it was okay for a wife to be "slutty" to their husband. They used the word "slutty" not me. I wondered if they thought that sex was "dirty" too. Don't know. Don't have the ability to ask them. If I did I would ask them just to understand how they meant the term "slutty" to begin with.

I guess this post is to ask why it's okay for a 70 year old to be overtly sexual and yet his female contemporary would be thought gross. Wondered if it was a general way of looking at women's sexuality compared to men.

Some one ( a guy) told me that they stopped counting sexual partners when they reached the number 40 and realized they still had more to go. Somehow they'd reached, in their opinion, the "slutty" number. I should ask them what they thought the "slutty number" is for women they date and why? Was surprised that they thought of the number as having a "slutty factor" for men.

For the record, I'm not ambivalent about my sexuality. I like sex very much. I think of it as a non verbal way to communicate with another person. I don't think of "sex" as "dirty". Private? Yes. Something to be hidden and be ashamed of? No. Nor do I think that "erotic" with ones spouse or significant other is the same as "slutty".

What does that word mean anyway?

Next?

Dear Bot, Letter's to Auntie Slacker

And then?

I met this writer in the WalMart last Sunday…

Tah

AuthorAnn

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsDear Bot, Letter's to Auntie Slacker
Posted Jul-09-09 15:51:51 PDT Updated Jul-10-09 09:34:24 PDTYou know we haven't heard from Auntie Slacker in a while. Let's see what's in the old mail bag today.

First two letters from BCH,

Dear Auntie Slacker,

There's nothing I like better to do on a hot summer day than run through airport security yelling, "Frisk me!!" at the top of my lungs.

How about you?

Love,

BCH

Dear BCH,

While running through airport security yelling, "Frisk me!!" can indeed be good fun on a hot summer afternoon?

Running through airport security screaming "Frisk me" while wearing an iron chasity belt.

Oh and leaving the key at home.

Can be fun too.

Only perhaps wearing the stainless might be better as Depends have been known to leak.

Hugs and kisses,

Auntie Slacker

Dear Auntie Slacker,

Why doesn't anyone talk to me on my blog?

Wondering,

BCH

Dear BCH,

Do you ever turn on your comments?
Somehow I get the feeling your a good conversation on a fast day.

Welcome to Blogland.

AuntieSlacker

And a letter from

cc2003

Dear Auntie Slacker,

I'm new on ebay. Love to photograph people. Interested?

The newly single,

cc2003

Dear cc2003,

Why thank you. I like the feel of peanut butter on my bunions and I'm 102. Would love to be photographed in my birthday suit. Just bring yer camera and the 'Skippy Smooth and creamy on over to my house.

Ehm. By the way.
For some reason that I'm still sorting out, I have to ask,

"Have you met Tryork5ifp yet?"

I'm not asking for a nefarious reason. It's just that I'm a bit at "sixes and sevens" today and my mind could use the entertai– the intellectual stimulation.

I take photos too. Digital. But not of fetishes mild or otherwise and well my subjects keep their pants or pantaloons on. Do like portrait work. At the moment I'm taking photos of the backs of people's heads. Not as a fetish but to prick the curiousity of the viewer.

Welcome to eBay Blogland.

Auntie Slacker

PS Please let me know as soon as you've met Try. Popcorn takes at least 5 minutes to pop and put in the bowl…

Next?

I met this writer in the WalMart last Sunday…

Comments on until WB shows up.

WB showed up.

Hugs, Gotta go

AuntieSlacker

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI met this writer in the WalMart last Sunday…
Posted Jul-09-09 15:20:23 PDTI really did.

Told her about Blogland and about how she could get a free blog here…

She told me about her poetry and alittle about her life.

I told her that I liked my privacy but if she could find my blog?

I would write her something.

Maybe make her a character in a short story.

So what did I do?

I wrote her a poem.

I did it because she's not just a poet but she's also a dreamer too.

Writes poetry about love.

Thought about it and how sad the world is right now.

How we could use alittle more sweet dreams in our lives.

I hope she finds this blog and her Writing Buddy.

This poem is for her.

and my WritingBuddy too.

July.

Morning on the River Jordan

Arms and legs tanned.

Hair bleaching silver like driftwood in the sun

Barefoot and drowsy

We sit.

Watching for daylight.

Like eating a peach

Sweet…

Our day unfolds.

Author Ann 8 July, 2009

all rights reserved by the author.

Hugs…

AuthorAnn

Now then,

What did I learn last night?

Comment|Report this post
3 commentsWhat did I learn last night?
Posted Jul-09-09 13:13:42 PDT Updated Jul-09-09 15:05:57 PDTSo okay. I haven't been watching the Late Late Show in a while. I have to get up very early (try 4:30 and 5 AM) to go see about boat things. It takes two hours to get there from my house. I have things to do before hand soooo. No late night tv for me.

But this week SB (Sailing Buddy) has been busy with his life so I have been able to peek in at the LLS. Have been keeping up using the internet but well it's not the same as sitting in the dark on the couch watching Tv's Craig Ferguson. As it was, I had to negociate with Pup as he was already watching something else.

Had a bit of catching up.

First the favorite puppet vote…

Our favorite puppet vote is a secret here but if you go to the LLS part on CBS's website you can email the show and vote for your favorite puppet or send in an email question for Craig Ferguson to answer.

Next?

Julie Chen and Big Brother spot.

Last year Julie Chen from Big Brother and the Early Show would make an appearance on the LLS and talk about the latest thing on Big Brother. She's back on the LLS again this year. I like her. It was nice to see her and hear about not only Big Brother but also hear about the baby to be. I'm hoping that the LLS will do a Big Brother/LLS Puppet edition for Big Brother. There's enough puppets and well they've got attitude to spare. Might be a fun skit.

Guest: Michael Ian Black.

I think he was one of the folks who were in consideration to host the LLS after Craig Kilborn left. I think he's funny but I'm glad that Craig was chosen as host.

Seriously.

Finally

WDWLOTSTC

If you're a fan you know what that means.

My original vote went to another puppet but in the spirit of Mayor Daily of Chicago who is supposed to have said, "… vote early and often…" Well I can vote for the camel too.

I mean come on what's a Late Late Show puppet troupe without a camel.

Now the question is? Is that a Dromedary camel?

Ah well Only two more late nights and it's back to early mornings. It's been nice to see the LLS with Craig but well I do miss Sailing Buddy and I'm curious to find out how his visit with the new baby went.

And I haven't told you yet but…we (SB and I ) took the boat out for a bit of a sail last week..

Quite an adventure.

😀

Author Ann

"She grappled him with her tongue….

No, not me.

That would be the blonde terminator babe …

The one with the metal teeth and the "tale" coming out of her "but"…

(I wanted to post a song here. Something that would somehow twist the post and make you think. But sometimes Gentle Reader, things and days in life just are. No twist here. I did find a song that might make you go, "ah". And I found another that might make you have a chill and say, "ehhh".

Then I thought about today. I thought about sailing on the boat. .

And well like I said. Some things and days in life just are.

No 12 dogs fact and fiction.

No 12 dogs disclaimer.

Enjoyed the show even if it wasn't all that an a bag of chips.

So no song.

Some days are just that way.)

Comment|Report this post
2 comments"She grappled him with her tongue…
Posted Jul-07-09 17:21:58 PDTand she had a tail that came out of her butt. It was an extendable tail…"

"…just when you think it's okay to go watch a movie…"

"…and she beats the snot out of the blonde terminator gal…"

"…and they have two twin Autobots for comic relief that sound like Hollywood stereotypes…"

"…she violated his brain with her tongue. yuk yuk…"

Yup

Welcome to movie night at our house. Where we take the wonder known as the English language and use it to describe — ah well— "

Three guesses what movie we're talking about.

Well I'm off to see the television version of Legally Blonde.

Ciao

Author Ann

Feed me LOL The Food Network just sent me an offer to buy a cooking magazine. LOL Now that's an optimist.

PS SB (Sailing Buddy) is off doing stuff in his personal life this week. I celebrated by sleeping in and then taking a nap.

Actually I miss SB.

His conversations do not include the following:

"…The Decepticon that spoke in a fake Scottish accent who farted a parachutte out of his butt. He's falling apart. He walks with a cane. Oh yeah it's called Jet Fire. And he played a big part of the plot…"

Oh and Walking Buddy just belched.

Don't get me wrong. I like like WB and Pup very much but well..

I don't think that Sailing Buddy and our conversations can come back quick enough.
Comment|Report this post
1 commentFeed me
Posted Jul-05-09 11:58:14 PDTNot.

For some reason all folks have wanted to do over the last 72 hours is feed me.

If you don't eat it? They get cranky.

Honestly.

Biscuits, barbeque, chocolate granola, ice cream, meat loaf. Argh

Add to it the heat?

All I want to do now is find a cool corner of the house and sleep.

Don't even want to read or watch television.

Or write.

So hugs to the folks who've been stuffed with hotdogs, watermellon, beer, chips, barbeque, or potato salad.

Monday's rocket race will be here soon enough.

Author Ann

Happy Day

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHappy Day
Posted Jul-04-09 09:11:33 PDTGentle Reader, you are probably busy with your July 4th plans! Hope that you have a great holiday weekend. Good food and lots of fun. Safe one too.

Life should be back to normal soon. Have been cleaning on my boat. Should have it all ship shape by Labor Day.

Hugs,

Ann

Rolling On the River of Love

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

