May 2009 pg2

Sonya Sotomayor, nominee for justice of the US Supreme Court
Posted May-26-09 10:40:33 PDTSonia Sotomayor.

Not the easiest name to spell or pronounce. IF you’re into politics and the US Supreme Court you might already be familiar with this nominee. But soon, when the confirmation hearings begin in the US Senate, we’ll hear more about her in the mainstream press. So far she sounds like one of the most interesting choices.

I know that both conservative and liberal type folks will begin the spin process to either get her confirmed or see it defeated. It’s part of the process. But at our house we’re looking at it differently. I can’t say that I didn’t smile when I found out that a woman had been nominated. I can’t say I didn’t smile when I learned of her heritage. Nope, I can’t I say I didn’t smile.

I’m worried that she is another justice who is very young. The justices are on the US Supreme Court until they quit or die. This isn’t so much about age and experience as it is about the time served on the court. I know that there will be some who will worry about her health She is a diabetic. People will worry. Politicos will spin.

Me? I’m going to enjoy learning about this nominee. I’m going to read it like a I read a really interesting biography. Like most folks I’m going to try to figure out her political biases. Second guess how she’ll react. Look through her previous decissions and wonder how she’ll rule on the issues of abortion, immigration, and same sex marriages. I’m going to look to see what her background is in business. Health care. Emminent domain. Torture. I’m going to look to see if she believes that the US Constitution and the US Bill of Rights is flexible like a reed or fixed in stone.

I’ll have alot of questions about this judge and how she sees her role on the US Supreme Court.

But when I do? I’m going to have a smile on my face because what I don’t have to ask is this,

“Why is it that the nominee isn’t a woman or a Latina.

Happy Memorial Day 2009

My comments are on but in hidden mode. I’m not trying to stifle conversation or opinion on this matter. Far from it. The thing is that I’ve got to go take a shower. I know that sometimes political issues can get a bit rowdy. I’m glad to have a spirited discussion. I”m glad to here both the liberal and the conservative side of things. Please feel free to comment. If you’d like to know more about Judge Sotomayor, there’s alot of background info coming out on the Internet.

I just want to be here incase the convo got thorny. Don’t want anyone to get stomped on because of their opinion about this judge. The choice is too important.

There’s time to talk about it. And honestly, while I got really tired of talking politics, I find this choice interesting. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to write about it. From the process to this views of this particular nominee, it looks like the stuff of a great story.

I hope that you’ll come back Gentle Reader.

I’d really like to hear what you have to say.

Playlist?

And from the past because having a female nominee wasn’t always thought of as possible? I remember.

Hugs Saenz.. Hugs Madcat. Hugs Mom. Hugs MawMaw. Hugs Writing Buddy, WB, and Pup. Hugs Granny Fanny too.

A nod to you SteveO .

Hugs to the women of Blogland and their families,

Kind regards,

Author Ann.

We’re doing The Dance of the Free

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsSonia Sotomayor, Chief Justice nominee
Posted May-26-09 10:22:32 PDT Updated May-26-09 11:07:23 PDTSonia Sotomayor.

Not the easiest name to spell or pronounce. IF you’re into politics and the US Supreme Court you might already be familiar with this nominee. But soon, when the confirmation hearings begin in the US Senate, we’ll hear more about her in the mainstream press. So far she sounds like one of the most interesting choices.

I know that both conservative and liberal type folks will begin the spin process to either get her confirmed or see it defeated. It’s part of the process. But at our house we’re looking at it differently. I can’t say that I didn’t smile when I found out that a woman had been nominated. I can’t say I didn’t smile when I learned of her heritage. Nope, I can’t I say I didn’t smile.

I’m worried that she is another justice who is very young. The justices are on the US Supreme Court until they quit or die. This isn’t so much about age and experience as it is about the time served on the court. I know that there will be some who will worry about her health She is a diabetic. People will worry. Politicos will spin.

Me? I’m going to enjoy learning about this nominee. I’m going to read it like a I read a really interesting biography. Like most folks I’m going to try to figure out her political biases. Second guess how she’ll react. Look through her previous decissions and wonder how she’ll rule on the issues of abortion, immigration, and same sex marriages. I’m going to look to see what her background is in business. Health care. Emminent domain. Torture. I’m going to look to see if she believes that the US Constitution and the US Bill of Rights is flexible like a reed or fixed in stone.

I’ll have alot of questions about this judge and how she sees her role on the US Supreme Court.

But when I do? I’m going to have a smile on my face because what I don’t have to ask is this,

“Why is it that the nominee isn’t a woman or a Latina.

Happy Memorial Day 2009

My comments are on but in hidden mode. I’m not trying to stifle conversation or opinion on this matter. Far from it. The thing is that I’ve got to go take a shower. I know that sometimes political issues can get a bit rowdy. I’m glad to have a spirited discussion. I”m glad to here both the liberal and the conservative side of things. Please feel free to comment. If you’d like to know more about Judge Sotomayor, there’s alot of background info coming out on the Internet.

I just want to be here incase the convo got thorny. Don’t want anyone to get stomped on because of their opinion about this judge. The choice is too important.

There’s time to talk about it. And honestly, while I got really tired of talking politics, I find this choice interesting. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to write about it. From the process to this views of this particular nominee, it looks like the stuff of a great story.

I hope that you’ll come back Gentle Reader.

I’d really like to hear what you have to say.

Playlist?

And from the past because having a female nominee wasn’t always thought of as possible? I remember.

Hugs Saenz.. Hugs Madcat. Hugs Mom. Hugs MawMaw. Hugs Writing Buddy, WB, and Pup. Hugs Granny Fanny too.

A nod to you SteveO .

Hugs.

Comment|Report this post
5 commentsAre you ready for the summer?
Posted May-26-09 00:49:32 PDT Updated May-26-09 09:35:24 PDTHey ya. Yep I know that Summer isn’t officiall here but school is out, out, out. And the sun is too.

Are you ready?

Happy Memorial Day 2009
Comment|Report this post
4 commentsHappy Memorial Day 2009
Posted May-24-09 23:56:34 PDT Updated May-25-09 00:00:01 PDT

Not just a three day weekend and an excuse to party.

Hugs to the folks who’ve gone before us.

The ones who went to war.

To go into the unknown.

Children some.

The only thing they knew was the world outside their front door.

Not the horrors of war.

But the horrors of not going and not defending seemed worse.

So they went away

Some not to come home.

Hugs to the folks who’ve go before us.

The ones who’ve gone to war.

AuthorAnn 5/25/2009 all rights reserved by the author

Poem for all the “kids” who’ve served their country and to the people who love them so.

Next? I’m trying to tell you …

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsI’m trying to tell you …
Posted May-22-09 10:09:32 PDT Updated May-25-09 00:02:40 PDT

“Honey it’s not that I don’t understand what you’re sayin’.

It’s that I don’t agree with it.”

Hannah Murphy

Look, What I’m saying here is that there’s more than just one dog in this race.

There’s more than two in this race. More than five even.

There really is.

First fact? Nightline (ABC) has been doing as well or even better than Late Night (CBS).

And Conan isn’t Jay Leno. But Jimmy Kimmel, IMO, well he is.

Okay. I said this before. This isn’t about lead in shows. You know “spill over” from the lead in show or “viewer inertia”. This is about the show itself. If ABC will kick it with Jimmy Kimmel? There’s enough happening in the tv late night world for him to take late night by storm. He’s more like Leno than any of the other shows. Conan isn’t Leno. Neither is David Letterman. If they figure over at Jimmy Kimmel Live that their show being on 1/2 hour after Leno/Conan and David Letterman would let them scoop those pre taped late nights? If they had the ballz to happily comment on the other shows “lacking’ because of it? They could kick some seious butt. Remember that they’re in Cali and have the time difference advantage. They can broadcast live with delay. Plus Kimmel does have a way of saying stuff that doesn’t come out sounding mean but instead sounds like, “Ah come on guys. Are you kidding me?”

Jimmy Kimmel sounds like the rest of us saying, “Get real.” to this crazy world.

This isn’t about being a fan of Jimmy Kimmel or his show. This is about the characteristics of the shows, their time slots, demos, and time zone when they could record vs timeslot. Matter of fact , they could record the musical acts and interviews ahead and broadcast the monologues live (with 5 to 10 minute delay.

LOL Jimmy Kimmel (Really) Live.

I’d go see that.

If Jimmy and ABC ever had a notion to taking late night?

Now is the time.

And they’ve got the show and the host to do it.

Intern Jack

Next?

Well heck

You know it’s getting kind of hard to keep a secret.

Harleys and a fun time. I’m curious to see the magazine article.

This is not fair.

Hmm…If I could just figure out how to talk about it without really talking about it.

Well heck.

Hurry up June.

While we’re on the subject of late night television shows?

10 things that are funny… Please note that this linked post is possibly inappropriate and contains language that may not be suitable. Inother words? It talks about the “f” word.

And shows a video clip from South Park.

But that’s not why I thought it was funny.

Nope, Gentle Reader, the thing that I found funny had more to do with the image of Just For Men and Cialias commercials, 40 plus year old guys who date 22 year olds, and a monologue from a late night guy who was pizzed at some older guy who was wearing a punk rock tshirt and not acting his age?!?. And a song that I can’t find the video for yet but reminds me of large numbers of zombies walking and chanting in unison.

Lemmie think on it and I’ll get back to you.

Meanwhile I got a movie to watch.

Princess Diaries.

Comments ON/ Email working.

I’d love to hear from you.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsWell heck
Posted May-20-09 14:13:05 PDT Updated May-20-09 14:20:07 PDTSo here’s the deal.

I’ve just been talking to lots of nice folks today and well–

It’s been too nice a day for a harsh post.

So I’ve replaced the last post with this one.

Just because some late night talk show host is a poop head doesn’t mean I have to be. 😀

So I wish you a happy day, Gentle Reader, and hope that if it’s raining that it’s because you need it and that it’s not too much.

Then I wish for all the rest of us here in the US sunshine for the holiday weekend.

And I say a kind hello and thank you to the folks @ ebay and the help line.

Thank you very much for your kind help.

Hugs and happy day.

Author Ann

Next?

The Dance of the Free

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThe Dance of the Free
Posted May-19-09 06:35:39 PDT Updated May-19-09 08:25:58 PDT
When I take my walks in the morning, if I’m lucky. I get to say hello to another neighbor who also walks in our area. I’m always glad for the chance to say hello to him. He walks fast and he doesn’t talk much. I got to say hello to him this past weekend. I told him how at one part of my walk, I do a symbolic “jump for joy”. Because there was a time that I didn’t think I could go that far. When I said that, he looked me right in the eye and said more than any philosopher could.

He said, “You can go further than that if you want to”

That’s what this poem is about.

I’m sorry that I don’t know you Gentle Reader. If I did, I’d invite you to go for a walk with me. Maybe we’d get a chance to see my neighbor.

Interesting person. I’d bet you’d like him.

AuthorAnn

Life is a bowl of ice cream with cherries

At the end of the road.

Two steps past the Budweiser can.

She does the Dance of the Free

Behind the Deadend road sign.

And next to that patch of Shasta Daisies going to seed

The one with the beginnings of those new yellow flowers that look like Coreopsis next to it

Just two steps further

Freedom

_____________

3 years, 11 months, 2 weeks, 6 days, 8 hours, 45 minutes, and assorted seconds ago.

When two steps past the door seemed like miles?

She had no idea what two steps past that dead end sign looked like

Now she does.

On short walks.

Then longer walks

Then hikes

In the sun, the heat and the rain,

Just so she could find out what was two steps farther.

________________

He told her she could go further than that if she wanted.

It took a while for her to believe him

Then one day she did

Believe him

So she did.

Walk two steps more

Then two more after

To the end of the other road.

And then back pretty quick because the ligtht there was so bright.

And the freedom was so much.

It kind of scared her.

Like the Mockingbird she saw flying out of the nest one morning

The baby one that was fledging

The first flight where intuition took that bird futher than it’s mind had gone.

Faith.

Flying higher and higher,

Then nearly falling when it realized where it’d gone to.

A bumblebee who’d just been told that by all the laws in science?

It shouldn’t fly

So it makes a beeline back to the nest

To sort it all out

——————-

He was right.

Just two steps further.

Just two steps further than what the map said was a dead end?

Wasn’t a dead end at all.

It was a beginning.

___________

Life is a bowl of ice cream with cherries

Pretty good.

AuthorAnn

May 16th, 2009, AuthorAnn all rights reserved by the author.

Just a thought.

“Before you can find peace you have to know what that looks like. Otherwise you will always be at war.”\

That’s a “Hannah” quote. 19 May, 2009

I’m not sure what all the fuss is for some folks.

When I’m unhappy about something? I like to try to solve the problem. But it’s not a life style I chose to live forever.

You’d be amazed.

I once invited a very wealthy woman to a fundraiser. I doubted seriously if she’d show up but it was worth a the stamp and the cost of the invite if she did. After they were sent, her social secretary called to say that Ms. Whozits wouldn’t be coming to the event. I told her it was fine but if she changed her mind? We’d be glad to see her. LOL Then she said that Ms. Whozits would NOT be coming to this event. I cheerfully told her again, that while I was sorry that she wouldn’t show up? If she she changed her mind we’d be glad to see her. By that time I was kind of glad that she wasn’t going to show up. If she was a grippy as here social secretary it might be best that she didn’t. Instead of saying good bye, the social secretary said a third time that Ms. Whozits wouldn’t be coming to the event. By that time I was having to work hard not to laugh. It was just so stupid. She was expecting the world to stop because her boss Ms. Whozits wasn’t going to show up at this function.

Kind of stupid waste of time if you ask me.

After she said it the third time, again in a cheerful voice ( delighted that she wouldn’t be coming) told Ms Whozit’s social secretary that I was sorry that she wasn’t going to be there and if she changed her mind she was welcome. Then I said good bye because unlike Ms. Whozit’s social secretary? I had a really busy day and didn’t have time for the nonsense.

And I don’t.

I recently had the experience where someone once again wanted to “pull a Ms Whozits will not be attending.” I think I’m supposed to lay down in my bed for a week and moan about how she or he doesn’t like me and my life is over. It’s not. And unlike the “Ms. Whozit’s ” in this world I really don’t have the time to suffer the fools. Neither do you Gentle Reader.

We all have them in our lives.

And I have to admit that I’ve been hurt before when it happens. We’d all like to be the life of the party but honestly what kind of fun can you have with a “Ms.Whozits” of this world? When it happened again? Pup and I both broke out laughing.

Thanks for giving me something to write about today.

And here I thought I’d have nothing to write about this morning.

LOL This is going to give me something to write about for weeks…

I’m going to have a clear conscious when I do. *~*

Oh happy days.

And listen, really. Those folks who don’t like me? Well I’ll try to muster up some sad. Try to feel all depressed about how you’ve gone out of your way to let us all know that I’m lacking.

I’ll try.\

That is if I’ve got the time. I’m pretty busy these days.

Hugs to you Gentle Reader. You and I know that there’s alot better things we could do with our time than worry with the Azzholes of the world.

Cya.

Author Ann

From a favorite singer. Bonnie Raitt

The song Something to Talk About from Road Tested.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThe Dance of the Free (in keeping with the pas de deux theme)
Posted May-18-09 09:51:56 PDT Updated May-18-09 10:41:36 PDTI’m playing with the following poem. Have another shorter version in rough drafts. This one I’m pretty sure will change over the coming days. Yup, it’s different.

Life is a bowl of ice cream with cherries

At the end of the road.

Two steps past the Budweiser can.

She does the Dance of the Free

Behind the Deadend road sign.

And next to that patch of Shasta Daisies going to seed

The one with the beginnings of those new yellow flowers that look like Coreopsis next to it

Just two steps further

Freedom

_____________

3 years, 11 months, 2 weeks, 6 days, 8 hours, 45 minutes, and assorted seconds ago.

When two steps past the door seemed like miles.

She had no idea what two steps past that dead end sign looked like

Now she does.

On short walks.

Then longer walks

Then hikes

In the sun, the heat and the rain,

Just so she could find out what was two steps farther.

________________

He told her she could go further than that if she wanted.

It took a while for her to believe him

Then one day she did

Believe him

So she did.

Walk two steps more

Then two more after

To the end of the other road.

And then back pretty quick because the ligtht there was so bright.

And the freedom was so much.

It kind of scared her.

Like the Mockingbird she saw flying out of the nest one morning

The baby one that was fledging

The first flight where intuition took that bird futher than it’s mind had gone.

Faith.

Flying higher and higher,

Then nearly falling when it realized where it’d gone to.

A bumblebee who’d just been told that by all the laws in science?

It shouldn’t fly

So it makes a beeline back to the nest

To sort it all out

——————-

He was right.

Just two steps further.

Just two steps further than what the map said was a dead end?

Wasn’t a dead end at all.

It was a beginning.

___________

Life is a bowl of ice cream with cherries

Pretty good.

AuthorAnn

May 16th, 2009, AuthorAnn all rights reserved by the author.

Postcards from the Middle of Nowhere. From Author Ann

Dear Gentle Reader,

Hey, Well I went for a long walk today. Past the beer can and the Shasta Daisies going to seed and the Coreopsis-like flowers and the wild Verbena at the end of the road. The sky was blue and it’s actually kind of chilly. I’m not complaining at all. It was good weather to walk in. I’m walking by myself today. Have had WB back walking. Told him that we didn’t fuss when we walked. And he talked more like when we were alot younger. More fun.

If you read yesterday’/s post you already know about the July 4th doings. At least I hope it will be. It sounds like good fun for the families here. A place to go and have a picnic. Listen to music and just have a great time of it. The people who have the place are nice people.

I sure hope that the day will be beautiful and that everyone will have a great time of it.

(I know this is a bit early but I’m told that you have to plan this kind of thing waaay in advance. But mark your calenders. So will I.)

What I wrote above is about a real person by the way. No character. Well they are a “character”. I just didn’t make them up.

Got to go move the chicks to their new home. It’s a temporary place until they get big enough to go to the chicken yard.

Back later.

Playlist?.

Don Williams Lord I hope this day is Good

So far? Well this weekend was so good. Usually the next day something really bad happens. I told WB that if it does we should just close our eyes and remember how much fun we had yesterday. Then pray that God will remember too and let today be good as well. So far it’s pretty good here. I’m crossing my fingers for WB and Pup too.

I’m alittle worried. So I’m praying alot. God’s always been with me (like he is for us all) when things were not so good. I’m not by myself. None of us are.

Okay, enough religion.

Hugs and happy to Gentle Reader,

AuthorAnn

In other news? There’s a new Sex in the City sequel in the works. Set to open next May. 😀

Please. Please. Please. MPK. No Carrie and Big “drahmas” There was enough with the wedding and the movie!

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsLife is a bowl of ice cream with cherries
Posted May-17-09 20:05:53 PDT Updated May-17-09 20:08:47 PDT

Postcards from the road of life. Intern Jack

From tvland to the land of the fun with of all people –Author Ann.

I’m not kidding folks Author Ann. Out and about with WB. Visiting folks. Walking in the rain and hanging with one of the most interesting fellas. Someone who if he has his way?

Is gonna rock the world of music and motorcycles.

You know it couldn’t happen to nicer folks..

It all started with a little walk in the country Friday morning with WB.

Well it was a long walk, a ride to the Dollar store, then a ride with WB to go find out, a bag of E peas, and then a ride over to this couple’s cow pasture.

And motorcycles.

And fun.

And an Elvis impersonator.

Seriously…

Postcard from Author Ann…

And there came from across the hills and through the valley? Rock n roll and the sound of Elvis …

And it was good.

Hey Gentle Reader.

This is about a party and a half out in the middle of cow pasture. Move over Woodstock. Move over Altamont. Seriously. Did I get to go? Nope. Not yet. But I did get to meet the host and a heads up on the next one in a couple of months. “Wha?” you’re probably saying to your self. ” What kind of fun is that?” Well I did miss the slip n slide, the motorcycles, the streakers, and… But the music was rockin the country side and it did sound great. There’s another one coming up soon. And we’ve got an invite and know how to get there.

Stay tuned here.

Gentle Reader, the adventure of finding out about the whole thing showed me a side of WB that I just had no idea existed. Still waters. Gentle Reader, still waters. This is Walking Buddy I’m talking about. Walking Buddy !?!?!? The original Sphinx.? The guy in the suit and tie 5 days a week. Untill today. Got ot admit that I really did have a great time tooling around with him today. Kind of like a date actually. The good kind where you’re in jeans and tshirts and just hanging out with each other. But don’t tell anyone. I’ve got a reputation as a celibate, straight arrow, responsible, mom type person to uphold.

And then there’s my mom. (hey mom!)

Just good clean fun out in the country Mom. And hey I’m with WB. No worries. ;D

But now about the party.

It sounded amazing. I’m keeping mum about it until June. Rumor has it that the whole thing will be between the covers of a magazine at at bookstore near you. I’m keeping it a secret untill then. Oh who am I kidding. I’m giving hints and clues and spilling the beans about this one because the folks responsible are just amazing … Keep it here as the details come in. Will post all I can and also a headsup for the next party.

I hear there’s a concert July 4th too.

Then another in September.

Ya’ll come.

As for WB? I can’t wait until next weekend to see where we go next. He does seem to have the most unusual outtings. Great fun.

I mean who knew?

To be continued

And now a dedication to Marcus, George, what has to be the coolest couple of folks in the middle of “know” where. And the folks who rocked out this weekend on motorcycles from all over. It won’t be the last time. Next time? I’m bringing the camera and you along with me. Going to go looking for the music acts on Youtube. Here’s something that seems to fit the mood. of the party.

From that cow pasture in central Alabama to a Juke Joint in the middle of a Mississippi cotton field? The place was jumpin.

I’m telling ya’ you just would never believe it.

Well it’s a week of learning and phone calls. Got to call a lady about school and practice my knot knowledge. Then next week? Well hopefully it’s on the water. Not sure if that’s on the river, the beach, or the kiddy pool out back but load up the cooler and fire up the grill.

You are definately invited.

Hugs and happys to you always, Gentle Reader.

I’m happy that you are here.

Author Ann.

PS. There is always a PS…

Looks like there are more folks reading here at 12 dogs. Welcome! I’m happy to have you here. Hugs, Ann

For more of 12 dogs?

Livin’ the “life” in a glass bubble

aka?

The 3 o’clock Show…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsPostcards from the road of life. Intern Jack
Posted May-15-09 14:45:10 PDT Updated May-15-09 15:13:14 PDT

Greetings from tv land.

Howdy ho tv fans! I’ve been out and about on the internet.

From over at tv by the numbers….

This just in.

After having his new shows come in second to Jimmy Fallon’s reruns the week before, The Flying Scott (tv’s Craig Ferguson) is actually in a tie with NBC’s Mr. Fallon. Unfortunately this was just for the week of May 4-8. I would have called this a big deal but last week I was told in this forum that it was the “Season to date numbers” that were important. There Mr. Ferguson’s 1.9 million is out distanced by Mr. Fallon’s 2.1 million viewers by 0.2 million. I think that a review of Mr. Ferguson’s race with the last contestant, Conan to his friends, was about the same.

Question? Does this mean that Mr. Fallon’s numbers have finally found equilibrium?

While I should think that the fans over at TWoP’s LLS forum would be “cockahoop” at the news? There is a bit O’Grumbling amongst the troops. Among the complaints? The repetition of the “bits” on the LLS and the fact that interviews may have been videotaped over six weeks in advance is a complaint. Not timely. And well once again I’m sent scrambling for the dictionary to find the correct spelling of the word “nepotism”. Bummer. Like last night’s author interview which was actually taped April 1st and was in fact Mr. Ferguson’s best buddy. There is also a complaint of “Ferguson Fatigue”.

Definition and symptoms of this condition can be found here.

http://forums.televisionwithoutpity.com/index.php?showtopic=3010717&pid=11760717&st=5505&#entry11760717

Please note if you are a fan of the “television overflow” theory.

The theory that if the lead in show does good so will the following show isn’t holding true.

While Nightline did better than The Late Show with David Letterman? Jimmy Kimmel did not do better than Mr. Ferguson so the theory didn’t hold. And if you’re going to compare Leno/Fallon to Letterman/Ferguson?
I dunno.
Fallon and Ferguson tied for the week with 1.9 million viewers each.

I mean who wins in a tie? While Leno did much much better than Mr. Letterman. I guess if you are a FOF (Fan Of Ferguson) you’ll likely point out that Mr. Ferguson’s numbers improved while Mr. Fallon’s decreased for the week. So I guess the theory that if the lead in show does good so does the following show? It’s not holding true.

Yes, even with a tie.
And a very nice tie it was. Matched the suit lining and everything…

Weekend’s here. I smell BBQ, sunscreen, and fresh “Brazillian waxing” in the air.

Mmmm. Smells good.

Gotta heed the call.

InternJack.

Meanwhile back @ 12 dogs?

Livin’ the “life” in a glass bubble?

Author Ann talks about friendship and summer camp.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsLivin’ the “life” in a glass bubble
Posted May-14-09 08:18:51 PDT Updated May-14-09 11:57:58 PDT

Every once in a while, I write a story for a friend…

n., pl. pas de deux.

A dance for two, especially a dance in ballet consisting of an entrée and adagio, a variation for each dancer, and a coda.
A close relationship between two people or things, as during an activity.
[French : pas, step + de, of, for + deux, two.]

Dear Writing Buddy,

Thank the heavens that the “lollipop of mediocrity” isn’t a terminal condition.

Like coming out of a coma. Life’s a bit of a dazzle.

But thank the Lord, the quote by Brian Wilson,

“Beware the lollipop of mediocrity; lick it once and you’ll suck forever.”

isn’t writ in stone.

I’m grateful to you WB. For being here so that “licking that lolly of mediocrity” didn’t become a terminal condition for either of us.

There’s an invitation to Thanksgiving for you two. Here at the real 12 dogs. And a place to sleep as well. Until then? Well there’s a lake to sail. If I’m a good student? There’ll soon be the Gulf and more to sail as well. I’ve heard that there’s a scholarship for me for college (BS in Fine Arts, Sculpture), there is this book to get finished, and a surprise too. A trip of a life time come August and maybe an old friend comes back.

Busy summer.

But come Thanksgiving there’ll be a fire in the fire place, food on the table, and stories to tell of our travels. Not the coda though. We’ll have yet to have “danced ” the entree by end of summer.

Follow your heart. You’ll find me and the real 12 dogs. No worries.

There really is a 12 Dogs Farm.

Hugs and hugs again,

Ann, WB, Pup, the pups, the chickens, the future goats, and fish and the finches too and sometimes Bess where ever she is now.

Dear Gentle Reader,

Gotta go do the dance of the free.

Remember, I told you that it was time for a road trip. No worries. Like all good “road trips” there’ll be post cards. This is after all my writing journal so there might be a story or two. Remember there’s the story I told you about. The “Puzzle Story” that will take you from one “world” to another. Hints in post cards and being a careful reader who doesn’t take life so seriously will help.

And so will having us on your rss reader.

AuthorAnn

Next?

One true thing in a story where the real and unreal do a pas de deux fantastico …

For MomMe, WB, Pup, and my Dad. And for IrishDavid, Billy, and my Great Auntie.

And Writing Buddy and Christo and for some odd reason Tim too. …

Life is just to good to waste doing things that make you so unhappy.

Yep, unedited and with typos, misspelled words, grammar errors.

But it’s still filled with happy and true things. It’s good.

Hugs.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsEvery once in a while, I write a story for a friend…
Posted May-13-09 11:47:13 PDTPut it inside a bottle, and hope that someday they’ll return.

My mother recently asked me what I would do should I get pregnant again.

First for me to become pregnanat, I’d have to be exposed. It’s been a long 8 years so I’m pretty sure I’d have known if that happened. But it got me to thinking. I’m older so my chances an opportunities dwindle with each year. She asked me what I’d do if I had a little girl. I’d never thought that was possible. All of the grand children are male on my side of the family. Good for heirs if you’re in a malecentric society. Not so good if you hope for a girl.

I don’t usually allow myself to think about it. This time I did. You see I’ve met someone on the internet who I would be proud to call daughter. She is fierce. Tallented. True to herself. What I know of her so far would be the daughter I would fashion should I be allowed this gift. She writes and climbs mountains. I’m not sure how her life has been though. I’m thinking that there must have been a time so difficult that it’s left scars deep inside her heart. There was a time that I thought that she would never find anyone. She told me that she has. The fierceness in her heart isn’t as jagged as it was. Now it seems to burn with the kind light. Still so bright.

She’s not here at the moment. She’s off being fierce and finding adventures. I’m a bit lonely for this person so I’ve written a story for her. It’s how we met and the language that we speak to talk to each other. I hope that she will be back soon so that she can read it for herself. This year I will ask her and her friend to come eat with us at Thanksgiving. With her mother’s permision, I hope that she will take the seat that I would have for my own daughter should I have had one. To her right, there will be a place for the person who gentled this so fierce of a heart. The will be part of my family. As much a part as WB, Pup, the pups, the birds, the chickens, and all the living things that live with us here at 12 dogs.

A story…

“…In the middle of a dark dream–a light.

Just a small pin prick of a light at first. Like a distant star. Then slowly the light grew. Just a couple of degrees at first. Then to the size of a coin so that she could see that it had colors. Like white light through the glass prism she’d hung in her window. When she was a little girl and the sunlight would shine gently and like a most skilled choreographer it would cause the sunlight to dance in a dazzling array of colors.
She sailed closer and closer but when the light grew to the size of a coconut it stopped growing. That’s when she realized that it was floating like an orb. No not an orb this was an eye. It blinked. Then floated over the bow of her boat. It dodged the sails, the mast and finally hovered in front of her. She wasn’t afraid. It wasn’t hot nor cold to the touch. The light blinked again and so did she. When it began to glow so that it hurt her eyes she blinked again and that’s when she saw through to the otherside…”

Next? Kiss Me I’m Irish
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsKiss Me I’m Irish
Posted May-12-09 13:14:02 PDT Updated May-13-09 11:31:27 PDTLOL From my favorite “character” Hannah Murphy.

“Honey, it’s not that I don’t understand what you’re saying. In this case? It’s that I also agree with it.”

Had to happen sooner or later.

Irish-student-hoaxes-world-

And then?

King of the dogs

In other news. Hi de ho Gentle Reader from Camp 12 dogs.

I’ve just been all tied up in knots… Gosh I love Summer here at Camp 12 dogs.

Knots

Because you really have to appreciate a man named Slutty who can tie a “flying half hitch . Here’s Slutty and his magic, flying half hitch.

Wonder if he can still do it after a couple of beers?

Playlist? Michael Franti and Spearhead * The Rude Boy’s Back in Town * from Rebel Rockers

Go Slutty.

And if that weren’t enough value for your reading time?

Because, like a good scout, we like to be prepared and because the music inspires us all here at Camp 12 Dogs to do great things?

Here’s the seven knots all good Scouts should know.

Happy vacation!

Happy day.

And remember that here @ Camp 12 dogs?

We are keepin’ it real.

Hope you have a great day, Gentle Reader. Real busy here learning how to do all this stuff but will be back soon at the camp sing-a-long with another story.

Swing-a-ling-ding and hugs,

All together now —

“We are the CITs so pity us.

The kids are bad.

The food is hideous.

We like to smoke and drink and fool around.

We’re “nookie” bound.

We’re NorthStar CITs”

Song from an Ivan Reitman film staring Bill Murray.

No I don’t know the title of the film.

That’s what IMDb is for anyway.

As your teacher or your Mama says,

“Look it up.”

Seriously.

I’m out here with the bugs and the uncomfortableness.

I’m too busy learning how to tie all these knot.

I’m having fun.

It’s out doors and I’m getting a tan.

I just don’t have time to look this stuff up.

Go Wiki it.

On second thought?

Maybe not.

Swing-a-ding-ding!

(Got to go feed the dogs.)

Author Ann

PSYou know Writing Buddy. All this out of doors stuff is all your fault.

Thank you.

The Boat Home

I’ve heard the sound of home ringing in my ears again.

Felt the winds of the sea on my face.

Smelled the air fresh and felt my heart beat again.

Standing there in my kitchen. Heart thought broken beyound repair

With only a wildness and blind eye I jumped on intuition

Off a cliff with only faith and a long distance call

Falling.

Thinking,

“Well this is it. I’ve done it now.”

Then the wind, always my friend, caught me.

My sails filled.

And the woman who was falling to her sure ending?

Heard the beginning notes of a voice long ago.

“Hello.”

The voice mourned as long gone? Fresh again.

“Welcome.”

I heard the words loud and clear,

My heart booming. Rattling the ribcage walls.

Demanding it’s freedom.

And again the sound as if to reassure me that there was no mistake.

“Going home.

Home. Home.”

With family and “family” all safe and sound.

With new and old all gathered round.

But no funeral durge will play this song

It’s happy faces all around

A joyful home coming.”

Once again my feet will touch the ground

New and old.

“Going home.

Home. Home.

Home Home.”

13 May, 2009

Author Ann all rights reserved by the author.

Home.

LOL I thought about it.

I like WB and Pup too.

After all they’re part of my family.

Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsKing of the dogs??
Posted May-12-09 12:25:58 PDTSigh. So okay. It’s IggyPop, dogs, and interactive…

Dear Wanna be King of the Dogs,

Let me get this straight. Your goal in life is to be the one dog in the pack who can smell all the other dogs butt?

Oh mercy. Look I’ve got a life. Me and the dogs and the chickens and — well — I can tell you from experience that being “king” of the dogs is not all it’s cracked up to be. As matter of fact here’s a few things that the “dog Kings” doesn’t get to do. Sail. Swim, Have private life. And why any living thing wants to sniff dog butt?

Go have fun, young Pup. Enjoy this time of being unknown.

King of the Dogs is a crap job. You don’t have friends. You just have people who want something from you. Or they want your job.

Go have fun young Pup. Enjoy this time of being unknown. Swim and laugh with your friends. The friends that have you title or not.

Hugs.

Next

Running with the big dogs…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHope you have a great weekend.
Posted May-08-09 14:43:24 PDTI know, I know it’s early but —

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms and mom’s to be.

Next?

Running with the big dogs…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsRunning with the big dogs…
Posted May-06-09 16:40:25 PDT Updated May-06-09 16:53:58 PDTMy son just walked in and asked to be made the “Grand Poohbah of All Time Space and Dimension”. I told him that if he wanted to be this most mystical of “Grand Poohbahs?”

He’d have to be able to get his dirty underwear to levitate off the floor and then land directly into the clothes hamper. “Right now you might think that you have this mysterious power.” I told him. “Because when you throw them on the floor they miraculously end up in the dirty clothes hamper without you lifting a finger. This son might make you feel as if you are magical and all powerful. One might even say you feel all knowing. But.” here a pause for dramatic effect,” you are not. If, however, you can before witnesses do this thing. You will indeed be mystical Grand Poohbah material.”

I’ll let you know when it happens. 😀

Ann

Speaking of Senator Spector and other mysteries… Has somebody got pictures of that man “nekkid” with a sheep or something because — dang people — have you heard what happened to this guy???

You wonder if Thomas Wolfe was right?

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsYou wonder if Thomas Wolfe was right?
Posted May-06-09 12:26:52 PDTYou can’t go home again? Senator Spector quits the Republican party because he said that the Republicans were becoming so conservative that he wouldn’t be able to get elected. He joins the Democrats.What happens?The Democrats in the Senate, along with their big buddies the Republican senators strip Senator Spector of all his rank. Meanwhile Kirsty A and Lindsey L tell People Magazine about their respective body images. They are telling this to a magazine who helps promote the very body images that they both talk about. Oh and then there’s Megan Fox who tells Esquire that she doesn’t like the way her agent treats her like “chum” for the “sharks” guys who circle her at Hollywood parties. They just want her for her body? Then she poses in photos that would make any “shark” come running? What is wrong with people? Honestly. What did you think would happen? My heart doesn’t go out to Senator Spector because surely after decades in the US Senate and rising to power like he has (and trust me he was pretty durn powerful) he didn’t think that the Democrats would be sweet and let him keep his rank when he joined their side. This man is old enough he could have happily retired and now? He’s stripped of everything and that won’t change until after the 2010 elections. It’s almost funny were it not stupidly tragic. My heart doesn’t go out to Kirsty, Lindsey, or Megan either. It really doesn’t. When she starred in Fat Actress, Kirsty had a chance to make an impact on the stupidity and shallow nature of body image in Hollywood. She really did. So does Lohan if she’s pointing out that being thin doesn’t automatically mean you are anorexic. Some folks are naturally thin like some folks aren’t. It takes all kinds of actresses to portray life. That in the current environment Glen Close, Kathy Bates, Jody Foster, well any actress over 12, wouldn’t even get a part because they are now too old. That the notion that an audience didn’t want to see old folks or ugly folks or fat folks on their television or movie screens was stupidly wrong. They could say, “Hey people. Love the body you’ve got” But nope. Instead Kirsty’s going for the “OMG I gained weight! I’m such a freak! Please forgive me for being such a freak!” and Lohan is giving the tired old “Please don’t hate me because I’m beautiful thin and you aren’t. ;P” interview. And Megan Fox? If it bothers you that guys ogle? Then, darlin’, put on some clothes and quit advertising. This isn’t the same as expressing your sexuality. If you don’t intend to “pony up” the way you’re doing? It’s false advertising. Because trust me, you let it hang out like you are doing and continue to let your agent pimp “it”. Your’ gonna have the “sharks” who want to buy what they think you are selling. What the heck were you thinking? I don’t think that they did. Maybe tv’s Craig Ferguson will give us all “heartfelt monologue” about being true to yourself and the beauty of an older woman. No wait. He can’t now. What would his 26 year old wife think? Especially after the comment that he made about going younger for a yonger woman because older women were bitter and mean. I’m not bitter or angry. I am a veteran of the body image war. I don’t buy that this behavior is a cruel reality and to accept it. Cruel reality is when a lion kills a gazzelle and then leaves the left overs to be eatten my hiennas. Or when a penquin mom or is it the dad choses one penquin baby and lets the other die. That is truly a cruel reality. It really is. Those creatures don’t do it out of choice. The can’t say, “You know Hubert, killing that gazelle is wrong. Let’s eat vegetarian.” Nope. The best they could do is eat a vegetarian. And there is no DHS for that abandoned penguin baby. No other adoptive parents are going to swoop in and take over. It truly is cruel reality that can’t be changed. Humans on the other hand can and have made those choices. There are options here. There is change. If we will change is the question not can we change. And until we do make that change, I have plenty of sympathy for the women and men who’ve been the victims of this “bully world” but none for the idiots like Kirsty, Lindsey, Megan, and Senator “Arleen”. Look around Arlen those Democrats up on Capital Hill are meaner than snakes. Same for the folks in Hollywood, Kirsty Thing is snakes have an excuse. They really can’t help it. But you can. I say throw the bums out or boycot the film. Tell People Magazine that everytime they say, “Hey we don’t make the news. We just print the stories” that they are liars. And then tell them to grow a pair and print stories about movies or politcos that aren’t posers but actually do something helpful for the world.. Or better yet, read the magazine at the library, the grocery check out, or your favorite magazine stand. Then put it back instead of buying. If anyone asks make sure to tell them, “You know , from what I read it’s not worth the money.” As for tv’s Craig? I frankly don’t care what he has to say. As a matter of fact? A review from on his upcoming book, American On Purpose, by his boss David Letterman says it best. ” Craig Ferguson is so much more than a talkshow host . Craig Ferguson is so much more than an author. Craig Ferguson is so much more than god-like creature. Craig Ferguson is so much more than a mysterious force controlling tides and seasons. Craig Ferguson is so much more than an all powerful, all knowing, cosmic, intergalactic time traveler for the ages. Craig Ferguson is so much more than a harmonic vibration of the stars, the universe, the heavens and eternity. Craig Ferguson is full of sh#t. Enjoy the book.” Thanks Dave. Well said. Next? Hey ya’ll Note: You know what? I think that instead of a parody of a rant? I’m going to be serious here. These folks are just “nuts”. I watched the comfirmation hearing for the US Supreme Court justices. The ones with Senator Spector as a “big dog” and wondered, “What the heck?” Now I just don’t have the time to worry with them. To quote someone I know who has infinately more sense, “Those folks are seriously stupid.” Have a nice day. Ann Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHey ya’ll
Posted May-05-09 16:55:13 PDT Updated May-05-09 22:29:41 PDTHappy Day After Cinco de Mayo.

Road trip\

Explaining the concept of franchising a show or a persona using Tv’s Craig Ferguson.

“You see it’s like this. Craig Ferguson is like — is like–uh– I know Craig Ferguson is like a Kentucky Fried chicken restaurant and his up coming book, American on Purpose, is like an order of PopCornChicken. Only it’s not “finger licking good”. It’s just a book.”

Well heck, Gentle Reader, I thought it was funny.

And that’s half the battle. Har har.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsRoad trip
Posted May-03-09 17:46:09 PDT Updated May-03-09 20:47:11 PDT”You should never, ever apologize for spending money.”

A very wise man.

He’s right.

I’m not going to apologize.

Thanks for the advice.

It’s not that I’m going to go out and spend tons of money on just stuff. It will make sense. And just for the record. It’s a nice thing. I might even have a fairy god mother or two.

Will see.

***************

Speaking of which. Writing buddy. If you could come back for a bit? Boy do I have things to tell you. I’m so excited! And I’m looking forward to hearing what you’ve been doing too.

****************

Yesterday and today have been memorable.

I may have finally after years and years found myself back on the water. I hope. Will see.

I may have come steps closer to our aquaponic experiment. (Nope we aren’t growing pot.)

I may have come steps closer to moving the chicks to their new home.

I hope.

This afternoon was a rain storm so there were things we weren’t able to do. 😦

The road trip was good. I did have a good time. Met some nice folks. Learned alot. Will let you know what happens next.

Okay, so…The weather. It was beautiful yesterday and this AM but this afternoon? Yikes!

Got to get some rest.

Ann

PS I know that my writing style will change abit. It’s still me. I’m tired by the time I get to write so what you may read as lack of energy is just tired at the end of the day. I hope you’ll hang in here with me, Gentle Reader.

I’m happy to share what I learn and hopefully it’ll be of interest and help.

And Writing Buddy. You are a friend and I truly do miss hearing from you.

Well I’m on my way out the virtual door. My whole yard is full of daisies and clovers. Happens this time of year. Every year I say I’ll take pictures. This year I did. Quite a sight. A beautiful late Spring day. Sunny. This woman knee deep in daisies and clovers taking pictures. Took photo after photo all afternoon.

So to you I wish that you should spend this week knee deep in daisies and clovers.

You know. That sounds like the title of a book. Soon as I saw the photo. I knew what the cover art and title of my book would be.

Knee Deep in Daisies

A year in the country.

by Author Ann

Stay tuned…

*********

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsOkay, so…
Posted May-02-09 06:00:03 PDTThe weather is crup.

The dogs are pizzed.

I’m in avoidance mode.

This is a day to hibernate.

Instead?

Road trip.

Because today?

Is going to be a good day for me and the folks here.

One way or the other I’m having fun.

Back later to tell you how it went.

As for the rest of the week?

Huzzy!!
Oh, and I’ve got photos. Of here! Now if I can just figure out how to get Photo bucket to work?

You”ll get to see alittle bit of here.

Just in case a miracle happens and Writing Buddy show’s up?

Hey ya. Yep, I kept busy but you were missed.

Ann

Ann

Comment|Report this post
Page 2 of 2 Previous 1 | 2 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

