Oct 2008 pg2

Archive – October 20080 commentsWhat did we learn tonight?
Posted Oct-19-08 19:42:43 PDT Updated Oct-19-08 22:52:21 PDTWell tonight the house is quiet. Everyone is sorted out in their life here at 12 dogs. I was just sitting here looking through youTube when I found a bunch of past vids from The LateLateShow with Craig Ferguson.

Now the regular viewer of The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson will be familiar with the little monologue that Mr. Ferguson does at the very end of the show. This is one of them. There is even a “blue light special” at the end of this segment. Ah the good old days.

But you know what Moppits, after watching a whole bunch of the “What did we learn on the show tonight Craig?” videos, well, I’m thinking. We had fun with the “cow of time” and then we moved on. Next there was fun with kitties as we all explored what the Craig viewer learned on that particular nights show. That was fun too.

But now?

Isn’t it time for something new?

I’m not sure what but something.

In the mean time?

In politics and love…
Hope you have a great day or night depending where in the world you are.

LOL note. Remember the God’s receptionist video? The one we posted here? We removed it. To much passive agressive anger in the world. I really don’t have time for such. Well and it didn’t make it through the 12 dogs editorial board meeting. That’s the great thing about this blog. I am the editorial board. Take care! Auntie Slacker.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsFred Figglehorn 4 President.
Posted Oct-19-08 14:36:50 PDT

We lurve Fred !!!

YouTube Fred runs for president

Comment|Report this post
10 commentsA Zen Garden for kind hearts
Posted Oct-19-08 12:55:07 PDT Updated Oct-29-08 15:15:14 PDTDuring the course of writing 12 dogs I had the great fortune to meet a fellow writer for whom I created a Zen Garden. It was a quiet place for them to write regardless of how dark the night or how rough the storm. I didn’t know at the time how much I would need a Zen Garden of my own.

This is my Zen Writing Garden.

I started 12 dogs as a writer’s journal. A place to write everyday. A promise to show that I was serious about learning how to write. As time progressed, 12 dogs has come to be the place where I come when the “Stars Go Blue”. Some place for me “to be” in the world. Everyone needs a place “to be”. That “hurricaine hole” in life where there is something familiar. A place to belong. I want that my family and friends to be this but as a writer I also have a writer’s place “to be”. This little blog in the middle of a virtual ocean is my writer’s place “to be” until I can find another place. It exists in the virtual and the real world.

My first project is to finish a tandem story that I began with the writer I mentioned above. They had writer’s block and in an effort to help I began a tandem story. It doesn’t really have a title. We refered to it as “the man and the woman story”. We said that we’d each finish a version then send our version to the other. I’m going to do that. I took such a liking to the characters.

After that story is finished, I will do what I’ve done here at 12 dogs since last January. Basically? Write. Each day I’ll post something here. The previous day’s writing I’ll put in comments. If you see the comment section number increase it means that I am still writing. If the number goes dormant? Depends on how long. A day or two isn’t so bad. But a month? That is a long time for me to go without writing.

This blog is my piece of “Heaven on Earth”. Regardless of the turmoils out in the world, here is my place “to be”. The kind place when the wind howls.

My “family” now and in the future. The “traveling companion” I hope to have. Here in this blog we love and laugh. We fuss. We love. We speak with our voice and our hearts.

It’s good to know that. Regardless of how the election turns out. I will still have a home of this kind both in the real and the virtual world.

Home not house. Husband not spouse.

I hope that “husband of my heart” will come soon.

Until then…

Remember. A friend is someone who likes you and you like them back.

Even on the internet.

I am glad to have this Zen Garden.

I need my home too. My traveling companion.

Playlist?

Sara Evans

Sparks Fly in the Dark…

I’m glad to be American and I vote. 😀

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThanks.
Posted Oct-18-08 20:35:23 PDT Updated Oct-19-08 21:06:14 PDTJust a kind thank you for the bloggers who’ve posted information about the upcoming presidential election and the financial crisis. It takes a good deal of time to research and post. Thank you. Agree or not, I always learn something from what I’ve read.

I’d also like to say hello to bama mom. A bunch of us had a great time in her Bama party supporting the University of Alabama’s foot ball team (who won their game (24-20).

Roll Tide!

Ann

The next blog is a humorous one. If you haven’t seen the Fred blogs on YouTube here’s your chance.

It would seem that Fred is running for President too.

YouTube Fred runs for president Liked it so much I posted it twice…

Note I’m going to take tomorrow off. No new posts on Sunday and maybe Monday.

We’re fine I’m going to visit with family.

Also have a short story that I’m going to work on.

Just taking alittle time to enjoy the weather and the day with Pup.

Will check and return emails even if I don’t post.

In the mean time? You’re in the happy hands of The Auntie Slacker.

Hugs, Ann

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsYouTube Fred runs for president Liked it so much I posted it twice…
Posted Oct-18-08 18:32:20 PDT Updated Oct-19-08 12:57:29 PDT
One. More. Time. arrrrrrrrgggghh.

Just another day in political paradise.

Another opportunity to hear the candidates.

I’m just watching now to see if they mess up.

Sorry. Not very nice ‘eh.

Yeah. I know. Another day another chance to watch paint dry in the middle of a Class 5 financial huricane?

No!

Never Gentle Reader.

This is 12 dogs.

We gotcha covered in year of the turkey in politics

Move over Dale (Kook’s dog) there’s a new guy in town

Ebay? Meet Fred.

He is running for president. LOL

Lawdy, lawdy, lawdy and woohoo.

(something about Fred reminds me of the Minnesota state bird)

Well good luck on that campaign Fred!

Next?

Kind words for kind hearts to hear

And now a new feature here at 12 dogs.

To improve our cultural literacy and to patriotically salute our country in this political year and let’s face it to fill space. We’d like to introduct a new segment.

Get to know your United States funfacts.

First state?

Rhode Island.

Yes we love Rhode Island.

They eat their state bird.

It’s a chicken.

The Rhode Island Red.

Very tasty with roasted with carrots and potatoes.

Mmmm mmm mmm

That’s some gooood eattin’

Well I hope you enjoyed Get to Know Your State: fun facts.

Tomorrow we will look at Deleware…

Well got to go. The SMC infomercial is on. I just love that Tom Bosley.

Cya’–

In politics and love? More Than Words …

Comment|Report this post
3 commentsIn politics and love…
Posted Oct-18-08 14:24:23 PDT Updated Oct-18-08 15:41:04 PDT

Just like the economy there’s no good in a quick fix.

But there is a solution.

Hmm friendships, politics, the economy and husbands, reminds Auntie of a song-

(Hey Lisa. The Sailor Moon Version was pretty interesting. Hugs)

for kind souls…

Hang in there.

—————–

This is a really good song. Lovely easy melody. And the lyrics have quite alot to say to folks who are quick to say they love you. In politics, friendship, love, and the economy?

A quick fix doesn’t always make things new.

Ah so what’s McCain and Obama’s pet names for their education platform. President Clinton’s was Goals2000 and President Bush’s was No Child Left Behind. Hang on a second lemmie make some popcorn and go to the loo. I have a feeling this is going to be a long explaination.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsellipsis wiki quote
Posted Oct-18-08 14:22:49 PDT Updated Oct-18-08 14:55:07 PDTI use this punctuation, “…” alot when I write.

For example in the first post here on 12 dogs and a blog

Bog under construction. Wait a minute…. that’s not right.

This is an “ice breaker” post. The whole idea of the post was to introduce you, the reader, to us, the writer et al. I chose the ellipse format so to form a word slide show. Each ellipse would “advance” you to the next word picture with it’s description. To show the highlights of a life. The milestones.

But an ellipse is much more than an absense of words.

From wiki.

Ellipsis or “…”

“…The use of ellipses can either mislead or clarify, and the reader must rely on the good intentions of the writer who uses it. An example of this ambiguity is ‘She went to… school.’ In this sentence, ‘…’ might represent the word ‘elementary’. Omission of part of a quoted sentence without indication by an ellipsis (or bracketed text) (e.g. ‘She went to school.’ as opposed to ‘She went to Broadmoor Elementary school.’) would mislead the readers.

An ellipsis at the end of the sentence that ends with a period (or such a period followed by an ellipsis) appears as four dots….

An ellipsis may also imply an unstated alternative indicated by context. For example, when Count Dracula “I never drink … wine”, the implication is that he does drink something else, which in the context would be blood. In such usage the ellipsis is stronger than a mere dash, where for example “I never drink — wine” might only indicate that the Count, not a native English speaker, was pausing to get the correct word.

In writing the speech of a character in fiction or nonfiction, the ellipsis is sometimes used to represent an intentional silence of a character…”

Hey

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsfor a kind soul
Posted Oct-17-08 15:37:20 PDT Updated Oct-20-08 05:40:30 PDTI’m at 6’s and 7’s she said. The world sounds so unhappy at my door. Even the ocean is in turmoil. But there is a a place to which I crawl, drag , fight to get to with every fiber of my heart. Home.

It’ shouldn’t be so hard to get to should it.

“…Romantic? Of course you are. How could you find the words to describe my perfect traveling companion. You can’t do that without knowing how to be romantic.

What is that thing called Love?

It is getting her a cactus, when everyone else would get her roses, because you paid attention and knew that she’d like a cactus. So you took her to the cactus store and together you bought the very best cactus.

And when you found out she loved cactus, unlike the other folks who said “that’s weird”, you said instead,

“that’s so you and I love you for it…”

I’m so glad that you are “here”.

Romance is paying attention to the little things because they’re really big things to the someone you love. It’s the long road you take to get “home”.

To get here boy sometimes it’s just not easy. That’s why there’re wild angels. We know how to find the way on the long and thorny roads “home”.

Please don’t leave.

Will you keep watch while I sleep?

Please.

Note:

I would love the above true but there are folks who would hope it was not. Still others would use trickery. The meanin of this post is entirely up to me. Ann.

I wrote this a while back
or

Kind words for kind hearts to hear

Or

Whohoo Presidential Debate. A woman’s work is never done…

Sigh. Okay. If a man wanted to, he might buy a farm. Become fcukin’ Old MacDonald. Maybe. If it’s for sale. And the price is right. And it included a sweet 32 foot sail boat. A boat with the name “heart’s home”. With blue sail covers and a berth in Boston, Ma and another on the Gulf of Mexico. and another in Santa Monica, Ca and one on the east coast of Florida and one — well a boat’s no good if it don’t go places. And Boston? During baseball seasson? Sounds a right nice place to go.

So eye eye ohhhhhhh. Wait. Does he know what hard work a farm is? I spent time on a farm and I don’t think so. He might want to think about it. They have to be tended to. By someone. Just sayin.

LOL. Where we live? A man’s face is his own to grow or not facial hair as he sees fit.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsWhohoo Presidential Debate. A woman’s work is
Posted Oct-17-08 02:04:19 PDT Updated Oct-17-08 06:17:38 PDTOne. More. Time. arrrrrrrrgggghh.

Just another day in political paradise.

Another opportunity to hear the candidates.

I’m just watching now to see if they mess up.

Sorry. Not very nice ‘eh.

Yeah. I know. Another day another chance to watch paint dry in the middle of a Class 5 financial huricane?

No!

Never Gentle Reader.

This is 12 dogs.

We gotcha covered in year of the turkey in politics

Move over Dale (Kook’s dog) there’s a new guy in town

Ebay? Meet Fred.

He is running for president. LOL

Lawdy, lawdy, lawdy and woohoo.

(something about Fred reminds me of the Minnesota state bird)

Well good luck on that campaign Fred!

Next?

Kind words for kind hearts to hear

And now a new feature here at 12 dogs.

To improve our cultural literacy and to patriotically salute our country in this political year and let’s face it to fill space. We’d like to introduct a new segment.

Get to know your United States funfacts.

First state?

Rhode Island.

Yes we love Rhode Island.

They eat their state bird.

It’s a chicken.

The Rhode Island Red.

Very tasty with roasted with carrots and potatoes.

Mmmm mmm mmm

That’s some gooood eattin’

Well I hope you enjoyed Get to Know Your State: fun facts.

Tomorrow we will look at Deleware…

Well got to go. The SMC infomercial is on. I just love that Tom Bosley.

Cya’–

Update

Good mornng Gentle Reades.

I’m going to be in and out this weekend. I might not blog for a bit . Im so tired. Need a mental break. Will still happily read and reply to emails. Happily. Just will let the “weekend folks” catch up on their reading this weekend while catch up on my sleeping and writing.

Best regards,

Ann

PS (there is always a PS)

I actually felt kind of flirty yesterday.

WB thought it was stupid. He’s very busy.

Need distraction. Will go write.

Author\Ann

Comments on but hidden. I need the rest but I will happily reply to all emails.

Ann

I am beginning to see the advantage of having sex at least once a day.

If this drought breaks I’ll be seeing the advantage of having it all day long.

All week long.

For months.

Years.

Can one have sex all day long for decades? Doesn’t one have to stop to eat or sleep or I dunno – fart.

LOL Sorry that was crude.

But then I was mightily distracted of this notion of actually having sex more than once in 8 years.

Grumble. Grumble Grumble.

This is beginning to affect my Late Late Show watching.

Difficult to watch that Scot and not wonder about what’s under his kilt.

Which is, I know wrong, but really I am not made of stone. And hey have you seen him? Hes’ a fox. Yeah okay. Not good.

Going to take a cold shower.

Grumble grumble.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsKind words for kind hearts to hear
Posted Oct-16-08 19:59:14 PDT Updated Oct-17-08 23:42:00 PDT

Kind words for kind hearts to hear.

Not to worry friends of mine.

The Constant Heart

Weathers all storms.

If hearts be kind?

Then hear me now

Your love I honor.

But if hearts be foul?

On love’s rocky road?

Your love may sour.

Think well this path.

Think well his hour.

Both hearts of gold

An hearts that are foul.

Have tried this road.

Heard Jaguar’s howl.

Many have tried

And many have failed.

A heart of gold will serve you well.

So what’s this path

That you seek here?

The path that true love holds so dear?

Tis’ path of love you wish to take?

Your path be clear

And love you’ll make.

But once again

I do plead now.

That this fair journey

Can sometimes be foul.

So bring a love, a watch and a compass.

And bring truth and reason

Be ready for love’s rumpus

;D

Tis’ love’s season.

Ask for a guide

Inquire within

But first no question guards this path.

Just love’s heart.

BUT

Is it “I love you friend” or “I love you love” ?

A question once asked in light hearted mirth?

Now seems asked anew.

With more serious intent.

Before sleep?
Enjoy the evening

Said gently in a whispered voice,

” Comments Off, Sweet dreams. Let’s get some sleep.”

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsHey
Posted Oct-16-08 14:57:19 PDTHey. My email is out to lunch for the day. If I haven’t returned your email it’s not personal. I’m just not able to return emails at the moment. Hugs. I’m trying to sort it out.

In the mean time? Thanks,

Ann

Make new friends…
Comment|Report this post
6 commentsMake new friends…
Posted Oct-16-08 08:52:47 PDT Updated Oct-16-08 14:49:37 PDT…but keep the old.

It’s a Girl Scout song. Remember I wrote about it earlier.

The song goes like this:

Make new friends

But keep the old

One is silver

And the other gold.

I think they’re all gold but well I didn’t write the song, but I like the idea of it.

Just not good at it would seem.

Let’s see. Have I made a new friend?

Yes, I have.

A most extraordinary experience.

A grateful heart meets a creative force.

and illogically finds her female voice.

A logical mind meets another and finds strength.

A strong brave heart meets a fellow traveler.

All welcome and unexpected.

“Help will come” she said, ” Have faith.”

Have I kept the old?

Oh mercy. I’m trying.

My friend.

The one that started here on the internet.

Not so good.

I know that they read my blog.

So here’s what I’m going to say to you.

What are you doing?

Seriously.

What?

Did you think that I thought your life was perfect?

No.

I didn’t.

Did I mess up some way?

I don’t know because you decided, on your own I might add, to terminate our friendship.

Like I was an employee who no longer had a job.

Listen up. Friends aren’t employees. They are friends.

Now. You have gone and made me like you.

And then said goodbye.

Why?

Your friend (as far as I’m concerned)

Ann

Please?

Oh and to answer your question.

Would the world be better if we both went back to school? Yes.

There would be too strong women in the world who don’t just empathize with the world’s troubles. Between us we have the life experience to more than understand the difficulties of the world.

We understand the heart of it.

A doctor.

A lawyer.

You betcha.

But first? Gotta take the tests. Tests that lead to scholarships. Scholarships that pay for school. School that will lead to a job that you will be fantastic at. That pays well. That really will take you to the places in your imagination. For real.

I will if you will.

As for being a coed?

LOL Uhnoooooo.

I don’t think that I have ever in my life done a “pinky swear”.

Nope. Grown up thing here.

Grown women advancing in the world.

Actually helping.

Outloud.

Sounds good.

I’m worried here.

Which way next…
Comment|Report this post
2 commentsWhich way next…
Posted Oct-15-08 21:11:00 PDT Updated Oct-16-08 09:13:18 PDTNote to friend who has decided to not talk to me anymore. Write this down. You are supposed to be a part of what is next. Now, I know that your email finger isn’t broke. So knock it off. Email what I did wrong. The good Lord knows I mess up but I also know how to fix up too. Come on and tell me what’s up. Ann
Now to the rest of this blog post.

Hey.
Well I practiced, practiced, practiced.
I wrote, wrote, wrote.
And now I’m going to enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

Like rest.

Well my version of rest.

Will I write? Yes

Will I write everyday? I dunno’

Will I cook?

Now I have to draw the line somewhere and I drew it at the ” Will I clean house?” so I guess I might want to cook. Besides the weather is turning colder. I understand cold weather food. Now cooking on the grill? No. I don’t understand that.

Will I read?

I hope so.

Will I travel?

If I choose to do so. I like to travel. Just not by myself.

This looks like 20 questions. Should I ask if it’s bigger than a bread box?

Will I what?

Will I finally find the perfect traveling companion and loose my celibate status?

Gosh. That, let’s see adjusted for inflation, that is the very big, “ginormous”, fantastically big, really, really, reeeeally big question.

What do you think?

Second thought the big question is what do I think.

I think …

Oh say!

Did I ever tell you …12 dogs and a blog and the value of friendship

Will I have a happy life? Yeppers.

So will WB and Pup.

Happy people.

You know there is a benefit to gazing at one’s belly button.

There’s a benefit to having one’s own opinion too.

Will I sculpt? You know it’s been a while. Why not.

A positive, creative force of nature we are and will be for a long, long, time.

You know, I hear tango music coming from the other room. I think I’d like to take dancing lessons.

That might just be a great way to keep in touch with my feminine, sexual side.

I hope traveling companion loves to dance and is good at it.

Curious about 12 dogs and a blog?

12 dogs

Comment|Report this post
0 comments12 dogs and the value of their friendship.
Posted Oct-15-08 11:40:13 PDT Updated Oct-15-08 20:03:51 PDTThrough out the blog I’ve written the words “this is 12 dogs and a blog, a writer’s journal, fact and fiction reside here. If you are worried or don’t know which is fact and which is fiction? Ask.”

I mean it.

A blogger once told me that the word, “assume”, has the word “ass” within it. Best not to “assume” because you might be very wrong in your assumptions.

Once more.

This is 12 dogs and a blog. This is a writer’s journal. Fact and fiction reside here. If you don’t know?

Ask.

For me the reason for me writing here is to learn how to become an excellent writer.

To practice the craft of writing.

I write everyday to execise this skill in the same way that runners run or folks do sit ups.

To exercise my writing muscles.

Practice, practice, practice as the teacher tells us.

So I do in this blog.

Thank you for reading this blog.

Welcome.

Now for the rest of 12 dogs and a blog

click here >12 dogs and a blog and the value of friendship

Comment|Report this post
5 comments12 dogs and a blog and the value of friendship
Posted Oct-15-08 11:34:14 PDTAh love and friendship.

They both have the same qualities.

In both love and friendship?

A friend or love is someone who likes you AND

you like them back.

I had a great example of that last night.

Tonight a person who folks would least

expect it, from a deep slumber, without hesitation,

said he would trust me with all his wealth and his

most precious gift, his son.

This is a man who has seen my worst.

This is a man who forgave my anger even as the

words came out of my mouth.

This is a man who, had he given in to his base

self would have clobbered me.

I know.

He’s been around me during more troubles

than anyone except my parents.

Tonight he gave me the honor of his trust.

That’s quite a recomendation.

I’m lucky and I probably don’t deserve it.

But I sure am glad he said it.

Also tonight another person,

who I would gladly call friend

wouldn’t.

I’m hopeful that she’ll change her mind.

I come highly recomended

I can still show you my writing

Heck 12 dogs is a writer’s journal

I can introduce you to a man who

would give me all he had.

That’s all I can do.

The rest is up to you.

You have to want to try.

That’s my thought for today.

For the rest of 12 dogs?

and trust me there is alot to read.

man I write alot.

Anyhow click > Why this dog don’t drink…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsIt all started with a letter
Posted Oct-15-08 01:29:05 PDT Updated Oct-15-08 09:31:31 PDTDear Tv’s Craig Ferguson,

No.

No you don’t have to hate yourself inorder to become

a good writer. You have to understand yourself.

Then you have to understand how other people hate themselves and love themselves. and well know how folks want to get along or don’t and then write it down to become a good writer.

A writer is the one who has the imagination and observational skills to see the night sky and the sunny day. Past the obvious of faraway suns and celestial lights. Past the dusty books into the light.

Life.

Kind regards,

Ironchassis

PS

I didn’t write the next song lyrics but I like the words and the songs

All sung by country artists Travis Tritt

Drift off to Dream

(Travis Tritt/Stewart Harris)

I sit here surrounded by people and lights
Alone with my drink at the bar
You’ve been here forever, so clear in my mind
I just don’t know where you are
I know I’ll find you but girl ’til I do
This is my love song for you

Let’s hold hands on the porch swing, under the moon
While the wind through the willows plays us a tune
We can lie on a blanket, out back in the yard
And wish for our future on a faraway star
You’ll feel the passion as time after time
I press your sweet lips to mine
Then we’ll dance to the radio, right up ’til dawn
‘Til you drift off to dream in my arms

You might be hundreds or more miles away
Or you might be just down the street
But there’ll be a hunger deep in your eyes
That I’ll recognize when we meet
It might take hours or it might take years
But this is the song you will hear

Let’s hold hands on the porch swing, under the moon
While the wind through the willows plays us a tune
We can lie on a blanket, out back in the yard
And wish for our future on a faraway star
You’ll feel the passion as time after time
I press your sweet lips to mine
Then we’ll dance to the radio, right up ’til dawn
‘Til you drift off to dream in my arms

Can I trust you with my heart

(Travis Tritt/Stewart Harris)

When you meet that certain someone you been searchin’ hard to find
It’s a new love full of passion that can sometimes make you blind
I don’t mind bein’ swept away if I know right from the start
So before we go much further can I trust you with my heart

In the time we’ve spent together I have learned to trust in you
So many things you’ve given before I even asked you to
But reality and romance are sometimes far apart
So what I really need to know is can I trust you with my heart

Can I cast my cares upon you, can you stand a heavy load
Can I count on you to walk me down that long and winding road
If you promise me these simple things I can guaranty
You can always count on me

Can I cast my cares upon you, can you stand a heavy load
Can I count on you to walk me down that long and winding road

When two hearts solely surrender and are sworn to understand
It completes a perfect union between a woman and a man
So please don’t misunderstand me I don’t want to go too far
Without knowing just one answer can I trust you with my heart

Please girl give me just one answer can I trust you with my heart

Roger Murrah/Mark Alan Springer)

As we sat on the front porch
Of that old grey house where I was born and raised
Starin’ at the dusty fields
Where my daddy worked hard every day
I think it kinda hurt him when I said Daddy
There’s a lot that I don’t know
But don’t you ever dream about a life
Where corn don’t grow

He just sat there silent
Staring at his favorite coffee cup
I saw a storm of mixed emotion in his eyes
When he looked up
He said Son I know at your age
Seems like this ol’ world is turning slow
And you think you’ll find the answer to it all
Where corn don’t grow

Hard times are real
There’s dusty fields
No matter where you go
You may change your mind
‘Cause the weeds are high
Where corn don’t grow

I remember feeling guilty
When Daddy turned and walked back in the house
I was only seventeen back then
But I thought that I knew more than I know now
I can’t say he didn’t warn me
This city life’s a hard row to hoe
Ain’t it funny how a dream can turn around
Where corn don’t grow

Hard times are real
There’s dusty fields
No matter where you go
And you may change your mind
‘Cause the weeds are high
Where corn don’t grow

You may change your mind
Oh the weeds are high
Where corn don’t grow

above Where Corn Don’t Grow

sung by Travis Tritt

great day to be alive

(Darrell Scott)

I got rice cooking in the microwave
Got a three day beard I don’t plan to shave
And it’s a goofy thing but I just gotta say
Hey I’m doing alright

Yeah I think I’ll make me some homemade soup
Feelin pretty good and that’s the truth
It’s neither drink nor drug induced
No I’m just doin alright

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shinin when I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neigborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good?

It’s been fifteen years since I left home
Said good luck to every seed I’d sown
Give it my best and then I left it alone
Oh…I hope their doin alright

Now I look in the mirror and what do I see?
A lone wolf there starin back at me
Long in the tooth but harmless as can be
Lord I guess he’s doin alright

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shinin when I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neigborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good?

Sometimes it’s lonely
Sometimes it’s only me
And the shadows that fill this room
Sometimes I’m fallin
Desperately callin
Howlin at the moon…
Ahwoo!
Ahwoo!

Well I might go get me a new tattoo
Or take my old Harley for a three day cruise
Might even grow me a Fu Man Chu…
Oh Aww!

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shinin when I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neigborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good?

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shinin when I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neigborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good?

best of intentions

I had big plans for our future
Said I’d give you the whole world somehow
I tried makin’ good on that promise
Thought I’d be so much further by now
Never could build you a castle
Even though you’re the queen of my heart
But I’ve had the best of intentions from the start

Now some people think I’m a loser
‘Cause I seldom get things right
But you make me feel like a winner
When you wrap me in your arms so tight
Please tell me you will remember
No matter how much I do wrong
That I had the best of intentions all along

I gave you a ring
And I promised you things
I always thought we’d do
But my best-laid plans
Slipped right through my hands
To show my love for you
And if you could read my heart
Then you’d know without exception
It was all with the best of intentions

I gave you a ring
And I promised you things
I always thought we’d do
But my best-laid plans
Slipped right through my hands
To show my love for you
And if you could read my heart
Then you’d know without exception
It was all with the best of intentions

So here I am asking forgiveness
And praying that you’ll understand
Don’t think I take you for granted
Girl, I know just how lucky I am
Though you deserve so much better
You won’t find devotion more true
‘Cause I’ve had the best of intentions
Girl, I’ve had the best of intentions
Yes, I’ve had the best of intentions loving you

One more

I love you more than you’ll ever know

also sung by Travis Tritt

I know living with me ain’t always easy
I dam up emotions some men just let flow
But girl when you’re not by my side I feel a part of me has died
‘Cause I love you more than you’ll ever know

More than life more than I’ve ever loved before
It’s absurd and beyond words
I couldn’t want you more
And when I try to pour my hear out to you
I’m not sure it shows
That I love you more than you’ll ever know

I’m sure you’ve heard it said hearts have windows
But mine has doors a painful past has closed
Unless someday they open wide revealing feelings locked inside
I’ll love you more than you’ll ever know

More than life more than I’ve ever loved before
It’s absurd and beyond words
I couldn’t want you more
And when I try to pour my hear out to you
I’m not sure it shows
That I love you more than you’ll ever know

Even when I pour my heart out to you
I’m not sure it shows
That I love you more than you’ll ever know
Yes I love you more than you’ll ever know

One of the posters who calls me friend said that folks were be unually hard on one of the candidates. I’ve seen this myself. I’ve seen bitterness and anger and a real unloading of personal bitterness onto the candidate in question.

Thank you.

Noted and factored into the equation and my vote. Have been watching this election for a very longtime. Also a mother I’ve heard what a determined 16 year old can say inorder to get what they want. Seems like the same in politics.

Better to have just spoke their peace.

True story.

My sibiling and I would fuss. My mom, a teacher, would be in the other room. One or the other of us would come into the room where she was crying of the ill treatment of the other.

I know how she deal with us. I’m a mom too with my own experiences but I remember my mom’s solutions and mine too.

Not that long in the life of Earth since these folks were kiddies.

Thank you for you council and your advice.

Also thank you Wise Prince whereever you are.

For your fair advice.

I wrote this a while backComment|Report this post
5 commentsI wrote this a while back
Posted Oct-15-08 01:05:52 PDT Updated Oct-20-08 05:10:15 PDTI was trying to figure out this thing called love and marriages. So I wrote about it. Figured if I could put it into words that I would have a better understanding. I’m putting it into a letter for Pup. Although in his case he understands much better than I do.

Dear Pup,

There are two kinds of love.

There is agape.

Agape is the love of the angels. It is the gentle kiss of a mother. Or the kind hug of a stranger at the darkest point of life. It is the pure love that remains when we leave this earth and fly up to live in the heavens.

There is eros.

Eros is the love on this Earth. Eros is the love one lover feels for the other. Sexual. Where agape has wings that fly, Eros has feet that walk the earth. Eros is a hormonal condition that keeps the worlds populations in perpetual motion.

In a word? Sex.

Used in a sentence?

You can feel “agape” for your dear old granny. But “eros”, you save for your lover.

Together Agape and Eros love combine to form what we traditionally call the love of husband and wife.

We feel these two loves in varying degrees throughout the course of a relationship. First Eros in a mating dance that resembles Animal Planet. As the waves of hormones begin to find some balance, Agape comes. This is the love that survives after hormonal Eros has run it’s course or Cialas and Viagra no longer hold interest. Finally, when it is our time to go home, only Agape remains.

You should have both for a rich, true love.

Love of husband and wife is born in the heavens but it’s home is on this Earth. It’s is necessary. So that both can survive the “if’s” in life.

I wanted you to know this.

So many times we set Love up on a pedestal or we drag it across the ground, because we don’t nurture both the Agape and Eros of Love.

I guess that’s why date night is so important.

“Agape is for yer’ granny but, Eros is for yer’ lover.”

Hugs and good will,

MomMe

And now for the rest of 12 dogs. This next section is a kind of Nuevo Magic Realism. A playing of words and ideas. There is a theme.

Time.

And that is how Hannah got her groove back…

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsAnd that is how Hannah…
Posted Oct-15-08 01:00:46 PDT Updated Oct-15-08 01:02:35 PDT

figured out how to work the compass and find her way home.

Home

In the end it always comes to this:

To my traveling companions?

Randy Newman’s song says it best.

It was then that Hannah discovered:

8888888888888888888888888[Multiple Infinities Sideways]

Also known as MIS. (Kind of like the “Coma Sutra” version of multiple orgasms mixed up with multiple infinities meets La Petite Mort. With Cyndi Lauper in the back ground singing “Time After Time” as elevator music.)

She wrote about her experience in ” MIS: revolving sideways.”

“…I was revolving.

Then evolving,

And again revolving

Through my life.

Then revolving simultaneous evolving.

Spiraling upward.

Such was life.

Then you left me

Spinning silent

as spinning in a vacume is.

Now still revolving

while evolving.

Still a spiral.

Only which way?

Is?…”

Hannah Murphy, 5/29/2008 “Hannah in Blogland”

Which way? New way? Old way?

Yes.

If the path needed such.

He said to the writer. I guess you have to have self loathing to write. Or maybe want to get rid of it?

No she said. What you have to have to be a good writer is an imagination and the power of observation. And you have to know how to ask questions and what to ask.

Are you a writer he asked her…

Am I a Writer? Why yes I am…

Comment|Report this post
15 commentsAm I a Writer? Why yes I am…
Posted Oct-14-08 22:18:15 PDT Updated Oct-15-08 12:20:08 PDT

A friend is someone who likes you…

and you like them back.

Simple as that…

Like the old Girl Scout song

Make new friends

But keep the old

One is silver and the other gold.

Tonight a person who folks would least

expect it, from a deep slumber, without hesitation,

said he would trust me with all his wealth and his

most precious gift, his son.

This is a man who has seen my worst.

This is a man who forgave my anger even as the

words came out of my mouth.

This is a man who, had he given in to his base

self would have clobbered me.

I know.

He’s been around me during more troubles

than anyone except my parents.

Tonight he gave me the honor of his trust.

That’s quite a recomendation.

I’m lucky and I probably don’t deserve it.

But I sure am glad he said it.

Also tonight another person,

who I would gladly call friend

wouldn’t.

I’m hopeful that she’ll change her mind.

I come highly recomended

I can still show you my writing

Heck 12 dogs is a writer’s journal

I can introduce you to a man who

would give me all he had.

That’s all I can do.

The rest is up to you.

You have to want to try.

And yes, I am a writer.

A very good writer.

And I didn’t sell my soul for it.

And I didn’t give up a family member for it.

And I didn’t have to give up husband or home for it.

Wow you are corecto Taloolah

Great song.

but that’s not the sunshine

after the rain that I was talking about

That’s angry sunshined filled with resentment.

I like my family and friends

And I made peace with God along time ago

I didn’t have to tell anyone

I just had to believe.

What a relief.

No drama’s

No big productions

I just believe and that enough

John 3:16

Oh and no anger and hate either.

Love.

Hugs darlin.

Hugs to you and people who find their home.

But

This brother will never find his home until his sibling helps

If he finds peace with his mom now?

She offers him peace.

Home.

Tell me madam.

If talking to your brother together with his mom would bring him that peace would you see to that?

That is in your world to change.

As for me.

For a long time for some reason

I still don’t know why

my brother would barely talk to me

Nor does he really even now

Told me he didn’t want to see me again

Even though I know that I’d not harmed him

I still have hope every new day

He can’t or won’t forgive me.

I will be glad to see that day and finally find out what the burr under the saddle is.

He can’t seem to forgive his sister.

Can you forgive you brother?

It’s yours to give him

Forgiveness

He is waiting.

Worth more than power to give someone peace.

Home

In the end it always comes to this:

To my traveling companions?

Randy Newman’s song says it best.

For a long ago friend..

Comment|Report this post
13 commentsFor a long ago friend..
Posted Oct-14-08 14:03:52 PDT Updated Oct-14-08 14:19:29 PDTOnce upon a time…

Not good to look back is it…

I just loved the song and the imagery

spacemen and angels

You would think they’d have so much in common.

… this “Juliet” …
alas, the heart does what the mind doesn’t always understand
what does one do if not honor love’s song

Angels align with knights
feet firmly on the ground
…and yet…
They still swim amongst Love’s stars
like astronauts
not all are starcrossed

Now

…Once upon a time…

A woman’s work is…?

Comment|Report this post
Page 2 of 5 Previous 1 | 2 | 3

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

