sept 2008 pge 4

Archive – September 200821 commentsSinging for My Supper Hurricane Ike, Palin, Obama, McCain and Clinton. OH MY
Posted Sep-16-08 00:27:48 PDT Updated Sep-16-08 16:49:54 PDT”He stood there a long time, hands on the railing staring into the darkness. He smiled to himself and turned and in that moment he knew he would never again compromise his dreams for a tedious and boring safety. All was right in his world now and in his soul. He whistled softly to himself and smiled and nodded at the poeple passing by and his eyes shone with a light that moments before had been extinguished. ”

by newt loves rock

from Hey.

I miss Newt.

My prayers are with the folks along the Gulf Coast and with folks who lost money and possibly jobs due to the Wall Street mess. It may seem as if we don’t care but nothing could be further from the truth. The aftermath is so difficult to see. Just didn’t want you to think that I didn’t care.

What did I learn last night?

I’m not the only person who needs to get their tail feathers ruffled.

I need some attention. How about you?

You can read the next part if you want. The gist of it is that I told my father that I wanted to write and he very calmly said that he thought that it was an excellent idea.

I nearly passed out from a mixture of joy and surprise.

So now I take my camera and my laptop and go see the world.

But first I need to nearly pass out from a mixture of joy and surprise and –well–ruffled tail feathers.

I know exactly who I’d like to do the ruffling.

Hopefully, this weekend.

I hope Fate will be kind this weekend. I really do.

Next?

Click Me !!!

!!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!!

I give you Storm Watch 2008 * The General Election.

Hi de Ho Storm Chasers!!!
Or

Dear Reader

Your choice. I’m going to get some sleep or go for a walk.

Playlist and video?

The TingTings

That’s Not My Name

*********************

You can read the next bit if you want. It’s up to you.

I like The TingTings.

My father loves me.

I’m a writer.

It’s not living forever that’s difficult. It’s living forever alone with yourself.

I’m not the best cook. When it comes to being domestically inclined, I’m a klutz. But I’m entertaining when I want to be. Being celibate for so long has taught me to appreciate sex. I’m a good traveling companion.

And, I’m a writer.

Now? I’d like some company. I’m asking Fate’s help in the matter. Looks like that might be a possibility too. The stars are like ducks all in a row. Now even my father is happy. Fate just has to give it all a nudge.

I feel like Fate is smiling at the moment.

You see–

Tonight I told my father about this writing thing.

Again.

I don’t think he actually heard me the first three times I told him. Maybe I didn’t really say it out loud. More like a whispered, “Uhmm. Oh hey, by the way dad I have a webpage and I like want to write.”

But tonight I just said, “Dad. I write.”

I was kind of expecting him to say, “Yeah, okay, another failed attempt in the making.” But he didn’t. When I said, “Dad. I write.” He said simply, “I know.” It was a shock.

But when I said, “Dad, I’m pretty good at it.” I couldn’t believe his response. He said, “Of course you are.” I told him how someone told me I should write a book. I told him that I didn’t have the attention span to see it through. Maybe I could write short stories.

He told me I’d do fine.

I nearly fell outta my chair.

This is the man who told me to stop playing in the mud (ceramic sculpture) and start making real art (oils).

The funny thing is that this is the first time in my life that I wasn’t asking his permision nor his blessing. I just wanted to share. Whatever his opinion, it wouldn’t have kept me from writing.

Now, I feel so free that I’m dizzy. For the first time my father and I actually agreed on something.

There is another reason why this is such a good moment.

My father taught me how to read. It was a long hard slog for him. He’s good at what he does at life so not being able to teach me to read must have been flustrating. I’m not backwards nor did I have a learning disability. I was just shy and I thought that my dad hung the moon and stars. That just made me dumb around him. Flummoxed. My dad doesn’t do failure. He was determined not to fail with me. Unfortunately, his teaching style was like an exfootball playing, drill sargent. He didn’t give up. He softened is teaching style. By the next year I read way above grade level.

So I guess it must have been pretty cool to hear his daughter say, “Dad, I’m a writer. Maybe I might write a book.”

He was the reason why I can read a book in the first place.

Tonight, I got to tell him thank you for alot of the things he’d done right in my life. It was good to do. We haven’t seen eye to eye in the last 15 or so years. It felt like I’d never be able to talk to him again. I swore that I’d never speak to him again. Then tonight because of the market swing. I couldn’t get hold of him on the phone all day. I thought that the worst had happened. So tonight I called him. I wanted to make sure he was okay.

So I called.

I was glad to hear his voice. Glad he was okay. Grateful for the things that he’d done right in my life. All of a sudden, everything was okay. We talked. For the first time in my life he told me I’d be fine. Yes, I was a writer.

I was so glad that he was my dad.

Someday, I hope that my son will be this glad that I am his mom.

After all, like my father, I taught him to read too.

And he doesn’t know it yet, but he is an excellent writer.

So what do I write about next?

I have no idea.

I’ll take a day or two to think about it. You see it feels like I’ve been awake for so long. I’m very tired. Wars or economic black holes, it doesn’t matter, we’ll be okay. Now I can finally get a good nights sleep.

In the mean time, please go read the Storm Watch 2008 posts if you haven’t already. I wrote them not only to poke gentle fun, but to also give us a much needed laugh after today and this past weekend. I’m not slacking off now. I just have to get my bearings. All this new found freedom and support. Frankly, I’m not sure what to do with it.

Here are the links to the rest of the blog.

I’ll restart Magic Realism soon.

Comment|Report this post
2 commentsHi de Ho Storm Chasers!!! Hurricane Ike, Palin, Obama, McCain and Clinton. OH MY
Posted Sep-15-08 20:00:58 PDT Updated Sep-15-08 20:02:32 PDTSee President Bill Clinton and his sex- I mean-sax a phone.

Hurricane President Bill – Now this is how you vet a President…
Let’s face it the General Election and hurricane season just suxs this year. What with mega storms and lack luster Vp candidates, my tv watching eyes are twitchin’. That’s why we here at 12 dogs think that a little comic relief is in order. Yeppers. Fueled on coffee, adrenalin, and bordom (uh oh bordom) we’ve come up with a friendly diverson to get you through the tedium of this really stupid time of year.

Yes, we think it would be nifty neat to name the next five Atlantic/Gulf Coast hurricanes after this years presidential and vice presidential candidates…

So without further adieu,

We bring you The 2008 hurricane season: The General Election…

First up :

Hurricane President Bill – Now this is how you vet a President…

———

Note: for those here @ 12 dogs for the first time.

First, We do very much care about the hurricane victims. I’m a survivor of a Class 5 hurricane. Thing is if you don’t laugh? You cry.

This is my original post:

Ah Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008

Comments ON

But if your comment disappears I have Comments on But Hidden works like a blogland answering machine. Leave a comment. It will disappear but I’ll see it on my side of the computer. I try to answer all ebay emails and comments.

Also works in blue are hyper links they can change the story so try ’em all out.

Thanks,

AuthorAnn, writer

12 dogs and a blog.

If you’ve read enough about hurricanes and Storm Watch 2008? You can go through the door way of 12 dogs and a blog :

We were talking about Magic Realism, the political area, & time

Gentle reader. There’s a lot to read here at 12 dogs. I’m going to leave things be. Not write anymore until maybe tomorrow. Check out the links. Explore.

Happy reading,

Author Ann.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsDear Reader
Posted Sep-15-08 14:46:27 PDT Updated Sep-16-08 00:58:10 PDTWhat did I learn tonight?
It’s not living forever, Jack. It’s being able to live with yourself forever.
Actually it’s saying good bye through forever that would be difficult. We have to live with ourselves no matter how old we are. We have no choice.
Living with another is a choice.

If I’m choosing? I’m choosing not to live alone anymore.

Remember 12 dogs and a blog is a writer’s journal. Fact and fiction live here. If you don’t know which is fact and which is fiction? No worries. Just ask.

The first poem
The Meadow Lark’s Messenger

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThe Meadow Lark’s Messenger
Posted Sep-15-08 14:45:29 PDTThe Meadow Lark’s Messenger

I once sat under the kumquat tree
And listened to the rain as it fell
In each rain drop a mystery to see
Another story to tell

Now when it rains?
I don’t just see blue
I see red, orange, yellow, purple, and green
As I sit with myself and my singing bowl too
With new eyes I survey they scene.

Alone in this world on the side of the road
That was the way it felt
Alone in this world on the side of the road
That was the card I was dealt

Now when it rains?
I don’t just see blue
I see red, orange, yellow, purple, and green
As I sit with myself and my singing bowl too
With new eyes I survey they scene.

One day a stranger he sat by my side
And looked at the bowl and did say
Why do you sit at the side of the stream?
Why not swim in life’s waters this day?

I looked in those eyes as blue as the sky
Or the blue in a glacer’s heart
And I asked those eyes if they’d ever lived
In a world that seemed so apart

Those eyes looked at me
Said come out and play
I’ve seen the darkness in that gloom
Then one day I heard the Meadow Lark’s song
And laughter filled the room

That’s when I met you so long ago
Though your eyes I’d not yet seen
That’s when I met you
When I heard your heart
And my heart began to sing…

Now when it rains?
I don’t just see blue
I see red, orange yellow, purple and green
As I walk with you now
Along this life’s road
With new eyes I survey the scene.

To my favorite traveling companion

by Hannah Murphy
Sep-15-08 14:16:26 PDT

Next? Hang On or Hang On

Welcome to 12 dogs and a blog

Now when it rains I don’t just see blue
I see red, orange, yellow, and green
I sit with myself and my singing bowl too
With new eyes I survey the scene

Thought it might be time to go rummaging through 12 dogs and pull out the poetry. Sorry, folks. It’s just that kind of day.
Comment|Report this post
1 commentHang On
Posted Sep-15-08 09:25:59 PDT

All this “stormy” weather.

I love music. It keeps me company on long trips. I perks me up when I’m feeling blue. It gives voice to feelings when words fail.

Where I live people hunt and fish. They still have folks who put up tomatoes and corn. When a hurricane hit a couple of years ago, it wasn’t the county that cleared our road. It was a 20 something with a chain saw and a wench on the front bumper of his truck. In 100 mph gusts of wind, he and his family needed to check on the livestock and make sure that they were okay.

That’s the world that I’ve lived in.

You can never be sure what they are worth in the bank, but you know for sure their true worth.

Can you survive the storm?

It brought to mind a song from a fella “country boy” and “RedNeck”. It’s strange to read the lyrics of this song today. With all the things going on in the world I’m not afraid. The “stormy seas of fortune” are with us as much as the “calm seas of fortune”. Why?

Hank Williams Jr. said it best.

It’s why today I’m not afraid.

It’s what I learned is important in life.

My family and a man’s true worth.

The preacher man says it’s the end of time
And the Mississippi River she’s a goin’ dry
The interest is up and the Stock Markets down
And you only get mugged
If you go down town

I live back in the woods, you see
A woman and the kids, and the dogs and me
I got a shotgun rifle and a 4-wheel drive
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

I can plow a field all day long
I can catch catfish from dusk till dawn
We make our own whiskey and our own smoke too
Ain’t too many things these ole boys can’t do
We grow good ole tomatoes and homemade wine
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

Because you can’t starve us out
And you cant makes us run
Cause one-of- ‘em old boys raisin ole shotgun
And we say grace and we say Ma’am
And if you ain’t into that we don’t give a damn

We came from the West Virginia coalmines
And the Rocky Mountains and the and the western skies
And we can skin a buck; we can run a trot-line
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

I had a good friend in New York City
He never called me by my name, just hillbilly
My grandpa taught me how to live off the land
And his taught him to be a businessman
He used to send me pictures of the Broadway nights
And I’d send him some homemade wine

But he was killed by a man with a switchblade knife
For 43 dollars my friend lost his life
Id love to spit some beechnut in that dudes eyes
And shoot him with my old 45
Cause a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

Cause you can’t starve us out and you can’t make us run
Cause one-of- ‘em old boys raisin ole shotgun
And we say grace and we say Ma’am
And if you ain’t into that we don’t give a damn

We’re from North California and south Alabam
And little towns all around this land
And we can skin a buck; we can run a trot-line
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

There are people who live here, who remember what it was like before power lines came. Nice folks who, yes Virginia, live in trailers. When a new governor came in and said our state finances were in a mess and we should give him control of how to fix it? Our state citizens told the newly minted governor that we would not be giving him a blank check to redesign our state. You don’t give blank checks to politicians. He’d have to do the same thing the citizen’s of this state were doing. Sitting at the table and figuring out where the money was being spent. There was alot of fussin’ and alot of threaten’ to leave. It was difficult time for the state employees and teachers, They were pretty much in the middle of the economic fight. You might say our state had a “Clark Howard/Dave Ramsey” experience.

Guess what?

Like the song said, we survived. Turned out there was alot of earmarked money out there. Well we weren’t near as broke as the new governor said we were. We all decided about how the money would and wouldn’t be spent. That’s why I know my state will weather any storm. The citizens. They have good sense. Personally, I hope that our Governor decides to run for president someday. He’s young enough. And he’s had the best teachers you could ask for. The citizens of his state who are strong and have good sense.

We maybe RedNeck hicks to folks in elite salons of the world. But those people have a strange way of deciding a man or woman’ worth. Here we are realistic. There they are not. They’d have never survived our stormy weather. I like to think it’s our heritage. Scots.

I’ll tell you how I personally feel about it. I wrote poem after reading a political blog. Everyone was oh so correct. They were busy calling folks like us inferior. Guess they missed that part that said, “all men (and women) are created equal. They are endowed by their creator with certain inalienable rights. Among those rights are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. That day they were showing their intellectual superiority or so they thought. I just thought they were showin’ their “butt”. That’s how it’s said here. As a writer, I have no problem with the phrase. It says what I mean and and I mean it.

The poem? I’ve posted here before, but I’ll post again incase you missed it.

INSULT IN 5 LANGUAGES

Ode to the values of polite political discourse

By IC 5/12/2008

He can insult in 5 languages

Such a skill is sure to impress

To belittle and make feel small

Is certainly a skill to possess

At least in salons and cafe society

He’s thought of as quite urbane

No matter which language he insults in

To me?

He’s a jerk all the same

With all the fussing going on in the internet political world about politics? I’m going to be quoting this poem alot.

Life isn’t alway easy is it. The difference here is that we’ve already seen hard times that would bring a weaker man or woman to their knees. When we have “bad weather”? It’s just another challenge. But in this case, folks here have been like the ants not the grasshoppers. We will be warm and snug this winter.

And while we firmly believe here in my household in the “separation of church and state”, we personally will be thanking God for his kindness, for the faith of the citizens of this state who said “NO” to ammendment One’s “blank check”, and our state’s “DaveRamsey/ClarkHoward” moment.

Mom and Dad?

I thank you for not letting me become a “trust fund baby”.

We’re going to be okay.

No,

Better.

My family and my “state” are gonna’ do great.

Hugs,

AuthorAnn

Hang On

PS. There are other folks out in Blogland who may think what I write is boring. But out here we like it just fine…

Comment|Report this post
10 commentsHang On
Posted Sep-14-08 14:30:44 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 19:49:37 PDT

“…Oh, what you thought was a hurricane
Was just the rustling of the wind
Why you think we need amazing grace
Just to tell it like it is?
Oh, I don’t need no doctor
To tear me all apart
I just need you
To mend my heart

I need you to mend my heart…”

from Hang On

sung by Dr. Dog

Today is a really good day to hug a friend.

Hi de Ho Storm Chasers!!!…

Comments On but Hidden works like an ebay answering machine. Leave a comment, it will disappear but I’ll see it. Will answer back soon. Also use ebay email. Thanks, Author Ann

Comment|Report this post
21 commentsHi de Ho Storm Chasers!!! Hurricane Ike, Palin, Obama, McCain and Clinton. OH MY(continued)
Posted Sep-14-08 10:17:43 PDT Updated Sep-15-08 15:06:03 PDT
Let’s face it the General Election and hurricane season just suxs this year. What with mega storms and lack luster Vp candidates, my tv watching eyes are twitchin’. That’s why we here at 12 dogs think that a little comic relief is in order. Yeppers. Fueled on coffee, adrenalin, and bordom (uh oh bordom) we’ve come up with a friendly diverson to get you through the tedium of this really stupid time of year.

Yes, we think it would be nifty neat to name the next five Atlantic/Gulf Coast hurricanes after this years presidential and vice presidential candidates…

So without further adieu,

We bring you The 2008 hurricane season: The General Election…

First up :

Hurricane President Bill – Now this is how you vet a President…

———

Note: for those here @ 12 dogs for the first time.

First, We do very much care about the hurricane victims. I’m a survivor of a Class 5 hurricane. Thing is if you don’t laugh? You cry.

This is my original post:

Ah Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008

Comments ON

But if your comment disappears I have Comments on But Hidden works like a blogland answering machine. Leave a comment. It will disappear but I’ll see it on my side of the computer. I try to answer all ebay emails and comments.

Also works in blue are hyper links they can change the story so try ’em all out.

Thanks,

AuthorAnn, writer

12 dogs and a blog.

If you’ve read enough about hurricanes and Storm Watch 2008? You can go through the door way of 12 dogs and a blog :

We were talking about Magic Realism, the political area, & time

Gentle reader. There’s a lot to read here at 12 dogs. I’m going to leave things be. Not write anymore until maybe tomorrow. Check out the links. Explore.

Happy reading,

Author Ann.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsStorm watch 2008 Hurricane Ralph (Nadar)
Posted Sep-14-08 09:31:41 PDT Updated Sep-16-08 03:53:43 PDT
Ah Sunday morning…Hurricane Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason..

Uhmm. This is a real video for Ralph Nadar for President.

I hear the panda’s have filed a restraining order…

.

He’s for the Green Party. They’re for Green Peace.

Green Party…Green Peace…Green Party…Green Peace

Oh just watch the video okay…

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane …

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsStorm watch 2008 Hurricane Bob: Who???
Posted Sep-14-08 09:29:49 PDT Updated Sep-15-08 19:49:47 PDT
Ah Sunday morning…Hurricane Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason…

Okay we were just stumped on this one so there’s not a YouTube clip for Hurricane BobBarr. Who the heck even knows Who Hurricane BobBarr is. He’s more like a tropical storm than a hurricane.

If you can help us out for a funny for this candidate will you let me know. Only reason why I’m even including him is because I’ve got politiical type family members who said to be fair? I should have a Hurricane BobBarr.

Until then???

Well we did find this video of Rosanne Barr…Wouldn’t it be cool if Bob Barr chose Roseanne Barr as his VP running mate! It could be the BarrBarr08 ticket!!

Wheeeee, isn’t politics fun!!!!

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up …

And seriously if anybody has suggestions??? Can you let us know pretty quick. We have this kind of funny felling that Hurricane BobBarr wouldn’t approve this message…

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHurricane Ron Paul: Rules? Rules! We don’t need no stinking rules…
Posted Sep-14-08 09:14:10 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 12:14:03 PDTOkay so we don’t know much about Ron Paul either. But we’ve got this family member who assures us that he is

1) a Libertarian.

and

2) Libertarians, unlike naughty librarians, do not like rules at all. Not only can you talk outloud in the library, but heck you can even do the Yes dance.

Come on everybody. Kiki has done the “Yes” dance to exhaustion. Maybe if we all dance Kiki will be okay??? Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!…….Yeeessss!!!!!

God bless the Libertarians KiKi is revived!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let’s dance!!!

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up …Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHurricane President Bill – Now this is how you vet a President…
Posted Sep-14-08 09:13:16 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 12:45:47 PDT

Ah Sunday morning…Hurricane Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason..

Experience to run a country? Now this is how you vet a President.

America’s Got Talent the Presidential Edition.

Sigh. Those were the days…

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane …Comment|Report this post
0 commentsHurricane McCain America’s Got Talent Presidential Edition
Posted Sep-14-08 09:12:12 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 12:32:26 PDT

Ah Sunday morning…Hurricanes Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason..

Okay people, I just couldn’t chose. It’s either the Elmer Fudd musical extravaganza or Sky King. Now since this is an election year and it is all about the vote. You choose. The video that gets the most votes gets to stay.

And now a bit about the videos.

SkyKing.

Now this vid is pretty cool. John McCain was a pilot SkyKing was a pilot. I know that the connection is abit thin but heck in this election is it really going to matter. The only thing I really worried about was that funky Nabisco symbol. We’re scared that Rev. Falwell is gonna make an appearance from the great beyond and tell us that symbol is evil. Kind of like the purple purse. Oh. We’ll chance it.

Besides we love FigNewtons and with this product placement, maybe Nabisco will send us a case of freebies.

We can only hope.

And now Skkkkkkyyyyyyy Kinnnnnnggg. With product placement.

Or

McCain’s got talent:

Inspired by President Bill’s performance that some say won him the election, Sen. John McCain gives his own musical performance. Again we were worried about a second coming Rev. Falwell. What in heck is Elmer doing with his hands…

Oh and one other thing. We’d hate to influence your vote, but this one doesn’t have cookies. We like cookies. At least we like Fig Newtons. Those other computer cookie? We don’t like so much.

And now America’s Got Talent. Hurricane McCain.

Remember to dial in you vote!!

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane …Comment|Report this post
5 commentsStorm watch 2008 Hurricane Obama: ChaChaChanges
Posted Sep-14-08 09:04:28 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 19:06:24 PDT
Ah Sunday morning…Hurricane Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason..

Cha Cha Cha ….I am the Hurricane for Change?
Here’s an idea. How about the audacity of issues.

Now that would be a welcome cha-cha-cha-change…LOL

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane …Comment|Report this post
6 commentsHi de ho, Storm Chasers!
Posted Sep-14-08 07:53:51 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 08:44:09 PDTLet’s face it the General Election and hurricane season just suxs this year. That’s why we here at 12 dogs thing that a little comic relief is in order. Yeppers. Fueled on coffee, adrenalin, and bordom (uh oh bordom) we’ve come up with a friendly diverson to get you through the tedium of this really stupid time of year.

Yes, we think it would be nifty neat to name the next five Atlantic/Gulf Coast hurricanes after this years presidential and vice presidential candidates…

So without further adieu,

We bring you The 2008 hurricane season: The General Election…

First up :

Hurricane Palin aka The Twilight Zone

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsNobody does it better …The Twilight Zone aka Hurricane Palin
Posted Sep-14-08 07:26:43 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 08:03:36 PDT

Ah Sunday morning…Hurricane Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton, and What’s His Face : Stormy Weather 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason..

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane Clinton…

Comment|Report this post
3 commentsAh Sunday morning…
Posted Sep-14-08 04:02:28 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 23:10:03 PDT

Your choices with yer coffee this morning:

Storm Watch 2008 The General Election

Tracking maps:

Hurricane McCain America’s Got Talent Presidential Edition

Or

Storm watch 2008 Hurricane Obama:ChaChaChanges

Or

Storm watch 2008 Hurricane Obama: Yes, you are. No, you’re not.From RedState Update

Or

Hurricane Senator What’s His Face for VP… The photo op.

Or
Nobody does it better …The Twilight Zone aka Hurricane Palin

Or

Storm watch 2008 Hurricane Bob: Who???

Or

Storm watch 2008 Hurricane Ralph (Nadar)

OR

Hurricane Ron Paul: Rules? Rules! We don’t need no stinking rules…

Or

Hurricane Hillary …The issues

oh oh kiki….Still feeling abit blue??

Let’s dance!!!

Ah Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008

No matter which reality you choose,

In the end?

All roads lead to Blogland…
Comment|Report this post
0 commentsNobody does it better …The issues.
Posted Sep-14-08 03:55:44 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 08:47:29 PDT

Ah Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason…

WTF? I thought they were Republican trolls, NOW they’re the darlings of the Democratic Party??

Oh wait–
you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…
Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.
Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.
AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up Hurricane What’s His Face: The Photo op

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsNobody does it better than
Posted Sep-14-08 03:01:49 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 11:51:17 PDT

Ah Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008

But in the midst of the storm there is a voice of reason…

Vice Presidential Joe Wanna be What’s His Face sighted in Hurricane Ike photo op trying in vain to bring attention to the issues.

Poor Vice Presidential Joe Wanna Be What’s His Face. He can’t get anyone’s attention. Heck even the polar bear in Hurricane Ralph(Nader) could get attention.

Extra credit if you can find Waldo and the news story…(tee hee)

Oh wait–

you thought that this was going to be some satirical clip from SNL…

Nope. They haven’t done biting political satire in like–forever. Sorry.

Prayers to the folks along the Gulf Coast.

AuthorAnn

Ah Sunday morning… Next Up ?
Comment|Report this post
3 commentsAh Sunday morning…Ike, Obama, McCain, Palin, Clinton and what’s his face…Stormy weather in 2008
Posted Sep-14-08 02:08:38 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 13:35:54 PDTwhen the talk turns to political spin…So…

I think that I’ll spend my time this morning saying prayers for the folks along the Gulf of Mexico. While the rest of us slept they had another mighty difficult night…

What 100mph wind and surge looks like…

Prayers and hugs for a speedy recovery,

AuthorAnn

About last night?

How do I phrase this for polite company?

I could explain it using The Lucy Principle

Or

maybe

Aretha said it best when she sang about ” R E S P E C T”.

Or

I could just skip it all together and get with the reality of the situation.

The fact is someone else said it better than either My Lucy or Aretha rant:

About the Vote?

They said this:

And this,

LOL What he said…

Now I can talk about Magic Realism in the political area

But when I see videos like this?

I think this morning there are more important things than politics to worry about.

We aren’t being mean here. I’m a survivor of a Class 5 storm (Hurricane Camile). Have family members who lost all in Katrina. I’m not a fan of hurricanes at all.

I learned to laugh cause if you don’t you’ll just sit down and cry.

“Looking up into a hurricane is like looking into the eyes of God. You just have to look God right square in the eye and say, “Give me back my home.

Please.””

Hannah Murphy, September 14, 2008

Hugs,

Ann

back to the 2008 Hurricane Season The General Election edition

Hi de Ho Storm Chasers!!! (continued)

Attention 12 dog readers

This is the doorway

into the rest of 12 dogs and a blog.

Magic Realism in the political area ?

Just so you’ll know.

Comment|Report this post
0 commentsThe Lucy Principle
Posted Sep-14-08 01:52:22 PDT Updated Sep-14-08 02:10:14 PDT

Last night, as I watched that political rally known as Saturday Night Live, I could only think one thing:

“Thank you God that Sen. Obama didn’t appear on this show tonight.”

My word, can you be more obviously partisan. It’s clear that any glimmer of political independence was not there. Instead it was if Saturday Night Live had turned into one great big “hooker” stating her price. They were bent over and ready to please. But like all hookers, potential Johns and Obama’s beware because there be “diseases”.

Sen. Obama is better than than I would think.

Better than a cynical bid to own a politician that General Electic was offering on Saturday night.

Sheesh, at least Oprah had the dignity to say she was partisan and couldn’t as a journalist say different. My respect to Ms Winfrey for saying so. That’s a journalist folks. That is the action of a grown up.

But tonight? Not a grown thought on that show.

A good parody show doesn’t take sides.

They go after all the foibles that present themselves regardless the political party or GE’s gold digger ploy. They have the guts and integrity to go after everyone.

And you know, the next time I hear about how much of a feminist Tina Fey is? I’m just going to laugh. Not at her jokes. I’m going to be laughing at the notion she is in any way a feminist. A pandering hack writer? Yes. But a feminist? Naw. She’s just playing mean girl and collecting a pay check.

Maybe she’d be better in her element over on the fictional/nonfiction show 3rd Rock. She seems to understand the characters there so well. It’s almost autobiographical.

As for Gov Palin?

I understand Gov. Palin.

I’m from a RedState were girls, no women, hunt.

Folks like Tina Fey don’t get that type of feminism.

Where I live women actually have more of choice than she does. They can bait a hook. raise 5 kids, and run a state or country. They truly are liberated because they choose. That really is feminism, Ms Fay. Not that uber elite stuff ya’ll spout. Being able to chose you path in life wheither that means work boots or Louis L’s. People outside of your office Ms Fay. Take a look.

You see while we all could survive in your small, small fish pond Ms Fey, you could never begin to survive in ours.

That’s all I’m gonna say tonight about this. Besides, I think that CBS said it better.

There are folks in the world who are in a pickle. They need real help.

It’s better to think about them

or maybe take a romp through time with the folks here at

12 dogs.

How about a story through time?

Once upon a time

Comment|Report this post
Page 4 of 6 Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

