Some days are just good…

 

And some days? Aren’t.

“…One day at a time is the best way to deal with this. And trust me there are going to be good days as well as bad ones. I still remember the first time I really laughed after my family member died. First I laughed out loud and then I stopped in a kind of shocked silence. It felt so good to be happy after being sad for so long. After that I began to look out side of my grief at the world. Still had the bad days but there were good ones too. Now more good than bad…”

Author Ann

22 Feb 2010

(Not sure that it’s good form to quote yourself but technically I have too. This is from something I wrote in another part of cyberspace. When I went back and read it,  I realized that it kind of summed up the weekend. Why it was important to spend that quality time with WB and the sailboat. It’s how I got here. Hugs, Ann :D)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Some days are just good…

  1. Hey Gentle Reader, You know what? I had a really good weekend. WB and I got to spend some quality time together. Nothing fancy. We went looking for gravel and trucks. LOL Not exactly a date at the spa. The wine tasting was at the local grocery store. Got to go to a great nursery owned by folks who are a joy to talk to. Went to see Valentine’s Day which I just knew that WB would hate. It’s kind of a “chick flick”. He’s a old movie/action movie/ Three Stooges and WC Fields kind of guy. Richard Gere? He doesn’t know but John Wayne? He’s happy. There he was laughing and enjoying the movie. We did go out to eat at the bar of a really nice restaurant. I’d always thought it was a bit tony for me but it was great. Got to meet some of the regulars. Nice place. Again WB was happy. We haven’t been able to spend much time together as grown ups. Mostly seems like something is more important. After this weekend I’m thinking that some of that important stuff wasn’t so important after all.

    Yesterday a friend reminded me of just how important my time with WB really is. They’d lost a family member. This has been really hard and the loss is a fresh and terrible wound to their “heart”. You can say, “Ah well, they’d lived a long life.” or ” Now they won’t hurt any more.” but we all know that it’s just trying to make the living not hurt so much. Like when your kid is sick and you’ve done everything in your power to make them better but nothing works, when someone you love dies, it’s just the most helpless of feelings.

    LOL, I’m sorry if this is sad. It’s not meant to be. If you could see me right now I’ve got my blue jeans and my Hawaiian flowery shirt on. Gonna grill out tonight. Don’t care if it’s raining, snowing, sleeting, hailing, or there are thunderstorms and tornadoes. I don’t care. I’m gonna be grilling something tonight. There’s just been way too much sad and busy. Gonna take the advice a friend gave me many years ago. He lived in the apartment next to mine and used to grill on this tiny little hibachi grill.

    His advice?

    “It’s not the size. It’s the quality. Here’s a beer. How was your day?”

  2. For my Uncle whose life was hard.
    For his kids who made it worse.

    I know he believed in God no matter how his life went. Here’s hoping that God took him in and gave him the home he lost so many, many years ago.

  3. Pingback: Thank you, Wordpress… « 12dogs and a blog

  4. This is very true. U2 even wrote a song about how some days are better than others. Although I imagine when you’re U2 most days are pretty good.

  5. LOL Ah now just because Bono and his band mates are over flowing in the money department doesn’t mean his days roll easy.

    Hey Dennis’s alter ego.

    How goes it? I’m loving reading your blog. Hope that it’s all fiction and life is fun.

Leave a Reply

