Very hard work.

I’m about to head back outside to work in the yard. It’s summer and very hot here. It’s very hard work. But as difficult as it is, the work is nothing like the hard work of becoming a writer.

For a long time I wrote everyday. There was no real goal other than to write in the moment of that day. I didn’t write it with the intention of becoming famous. I didn’t write with the intention of getting rich. I was just trying to get into words the thoughts and ideas as clear as possible. Didn’t even realize anyone was reading what I wrote until much later. Slowly after alot of work, I began to find my “voice”. It’s still difficult to write some days but I can alway count on that “voice” to pull me through.

I’m going to post something here about “writer’s voice”. It’s that ability to communicate in a style unique to the person. I’m doing it for a reason. I’m very keen on writer’s having ownership of their words. If they’re writing from their heart the words will ring true and so will their unique “voice”. True, there is a kind of collective subconscious that can have writer’s sound similar. As much as we like to think what we are traveling is “virgin territory” when we write a sentence, it’s possible that someone we don’t know may have had the same idea. This similarity in thought and idea is a consensus but it’s not the same as copying another writer’s style.

I have had problems in the past with someone copying my style and quoting without credit. This was sad. I was writing about people who were friends and relatives in some of my posts. Not only was copying my words putting this copycat in danger of taking credit for other’s lives but worse it was robbing them of the chance to form their own writer’s style. It might have been more difficult but I think that they’d been an excellent writer if they had done the work. It’s a shame that they didn’t.

It’s not easy to write. It’s much more difficult than weeding the flower beds in the middle of a hot July day. Sure I could get someone else to weed my garden or write my stories for me but it wouldn’t be the same out come. You can get someone else to do the work and then call it your own but when you do this you are robbing yourself of your “voice”. You will be denied that feeling you get when you read the a poem or a story and know that those are your words. They didn’t exist in just that way before you wrote them. There is a thrill when someone reads what you write and tells you, “I get it.” Whether you clear the flower bed or you are writing a short story, after all that hard work comes the feeling of a job well done.

If you are truly going to become a writer? You have to do the work.

Hugs,
Author Ann

Writer of the original 12 dogs and a blog ebay.

Note. Unless cited The words for this blog and the ebay blog are original to this writer. Among characters created? Intern Jack, Auntie Slacker, Hannah Murphy, …
The Hannah Murphy character was a turning point. I needed a character to quote but not run into copyright violations. So I made up Hannah Murphy and her quotes.

LOL Please do the work and don’t “poach”. Let me know if you quote what I write. I’ll cite your blog on my blogs. Just don’t quote my hard work as your own.

Regards

Ann

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

